We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Calzone in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abios Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria - CLOSED

Abios Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria
2377 SW College Road, Ocala, FL 34474
352.629.4886
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Sandwiches, Pizza & Pasta
Restaurant details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Calzone in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I always enjoy my experience going to Abio's. the restaurant is quaint with personable service. Al, the owner is always happy to see his customers, sharing a laugh and a joke with many who come in. We ordered a large supreme calzone and were not disappointed. My husband and I both ate to the point of being full and even brought home leftovers. The calzone was huge. We look forward to being back to enjoy the delicious food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    9
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Abio's is a small restaurant on state road 200 in Ocala, FL. I have been coming here to eat since I was a little kid. Now married with six children later, I enjoy brining my family here to eat. "Big AL" the owner cooks all the food himself and uses an oven to bake the pizza, not a conveyor belt. He makes the best calzone I've ever had and his pizza is awesome, not greasy like all the chain pizza places around. :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stopped here on our drive home - well worth the short drive from I-75. We had pizza, calzones and spaghetti - SO good! It was my son's birthday and they even put "13" in cheese on his pizza! We highly recommend this quaint, old fashion pizzeria.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Old faithful!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Been going here since I was a kid(don't ask!!) Always good....always!! You're not going to bring a first date here, but you're going to love the food!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place for everyone.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by on our way to Tampa and glad we did! Our group consisted of a party of 6 with an age range of 7 to 70. No complaints whatsoever. The kids loved watching the the pizza dough being tossed, and I enjoyed looking at the owner's 1980's running pics. Did we really wear those short silky shorts in public ? Geez ! We had pizza, spaghetti, and one member if our group had the ham sub. Everyone was very pleased with their meal. Btw, check the online coupons on their website. Buy one/get one half-price speghetti is a great deal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abios Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria also viewed

 
Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abios Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.