We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look close or you'll miss it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wok 'n Roll

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wok 'n Roll
303 SE 17th St, Ste 103, Ocala, FL 34471
352-622-5995
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #245 of 353 Restaurants in Ocala
Restaurant details
Ocala, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
471 reviews 471 reviews
370 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Look close or you'll miss it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

lunch today was different to say the least. Dashed into Wok 'N Roll having a "Honey Chicken" Lencheon special, along with the "Hot N Sour," Soup. Both were very good, surprising for such a little place. Take out of Eat in - but the place only seats about 30 total. Regardless, the meal was fast, Hot, and very tasty.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    6
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The food is good but the kitchen is disgusting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have to admit I've lost count of how many times I've ordered food from Wok N' Roll.
They are literally a 5 minute drive from my house and I used to shop at the Publix next to them so it was a frequent stop. The food there is good, I tend to get their General Tsao's Chicken and a couple shrimp rolls. The shrimp and lobster sauce is pretty yummy but I find they usually don't include more than 3 shrimp so it's mostly (imitation of course) lobster sauce which is still very good just by itself. The Moo Goo Gai Pan is great too. The Crab Rangoons need work as they're mostly onions which don't belong with crab and cream cheese in the first place. The Chinese Donuts are amazing but honestly (and I've seen the chef cook them) they're Pillsbury Biscuits deep fried and coated in sugar.

Here's the big negative.
The kitchen is disgusting.

I got the shock of my life once when I accidentally saw inside the kitchen from the back. I almost threw up when I spotted not one, not two but six roaches crawling on the walls. On top of that there was an open box full of egg rolls just sitting on the floor defrosting.
I also stopped by the bathroom and saw the same sort of box the eggrolls were in lying on the floor in the bathroom, don't ask me why but it's the truth.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good Chinese takeout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The food is good and has a good variety. Hard to find a good Chinese takeout in Ocala, but Wok n Roll is better than the other local places

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Chinese take out or eat in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Small restaurant in Ocala area on route 200 near Top of the World community. Reasonable prices and good selection of food. Very pleasant management with good service.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very friendly and consistent service. Fast food Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Lovely wonton soup. They remember their customers. Regular customers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wok 'n Roll also viewed

Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to Wok 'n Roll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wok 'n Roll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.