We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy House

Ivy House
917 E Silver Springs Blvd #1 Ocala, Ocala, FL
+1 352-622-5550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 377 Restaurants in Ocala
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Ocala
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The ivy house is a great reataurant to get a down home good southern meal.
The best is the Krispy Chicken with ohh sooo good Mac n Cheese. Comes with real fresh roll and salad.
Fried shrimp is good. Desserts are awesome.
Very southern menu- great service- and a small boutique to shop in as well! Who could go wrong!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BeccaSmith_79
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I popped in for lunch with my 2 year old and a friend. It took a little bit to get seated, but they were busy. They also took really long to bring a booster seat. Other than that, it was great. The raspberry tea is delish, and the portions are more than fair. I had the lunch special - chicken crusted with pecans, white acre peas, salad, mashed potatoes and gravy, corn bread, yeast roll...soooo good. My daughter had the kids meal that was incredible! $6 for a plate - a big piece of oven baked crispy chicken that was amazingly good and home made mac and cheese. Our friend had the turkey chef salad, which was a little better than above average, but still a very good portion size and fresh. It was really refreshing to see kids plates that were real home made food instead of tyson chicken nuggets and kraft mac and cheese (the type of stuff we would rather not feed our child.) I think we will have to make a return visit :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi H, Owner at Ivy House, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Fl.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience !!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

While shopping in Ocala, my cousin and I decided to have lunch at The Ivy House. What a smart move that was. The appetizer and entrée were delicious, but the dessert was absolutely to die for. It was literally the best dessert I have ever had. Can't remember the name, but it had the word "Tulip" in it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi H, Owner at Ivy House, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. You had our famous "pecan tulip"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Quaint place for a relaxing and interesting meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

A group of us went Sunday after church. All of us ordered different items from the menu. The food arrived quickly with unusual twists on normal fare. I had the BLT with fried green tomatoes. It was excellent. Service was very good with periodic table checks by the owner. We all enjoyed our meals, but did not have room for the beautiful and creative desserts. We will try them another time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi H, Owner at Ivy House, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. Come back soon to try our homemade desserts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A pleasant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I met old friends that we had not seen for 39 years at the Ivy House at their suggestion. The house intrigued me when we drove up and I was not disappointed when we got inside to see the lovely interior. There were plenty of delicious sounding choices for entrees. The wine list was not very extensive, but with everything else being so perfect, the skimpy wine list could be forgiven. Our meal did not disappoint and then we were not hustled as we sat and caught up on 39 years of history with our friends. We almost felt as though we were sitting around the dining room table in the home of an old friend as we had a relaxing evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivy House also viewed

 
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to Ivy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivy House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.