We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Florida friendliness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Springs Motel

Silver Springs Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Springs Motel
Save
You added Silver Springs Motel to your Saves list
4121 E. Silver Springs Blvd., Ocala, FL 34470   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Ocala
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Old Florida friendliness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We were looking for a budget clean room and comfortable bed near Silver Springs Park--we found it here. This spacious efficiency wasn't fancy but it served our purposes and we were able to prepare our own meals, saving us even more. Great service, pretty plants, a handsome parrot named Vinny. We would stay there again.
Thanks!
Robert & Lynn, Tallahassee

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I saw the Silver Springs Motel the last time I was in Ocala. It has a name that sticks so I remembered it this time. It is a family owned and run. I was checked in by a very nice woman named Mollie. She said she had something for my "scrapbook" and I was given a postcard of the motel from 1974 that was in an unopened box they had just found! Her son, Robert also runs it. There are very nice and welcoming. The rates are very reasonable and it is loaded with Old Florida charm and character. There is decorative wrought iron on the outside. There are chairs and tables in front of the rooms and a few guests sat out and in the evening. My room had cool retro furniture and a beautiful terrazzo floor. It even had a retro fridge! It reminded me of places my family would stay on vacation in Florida during my childhood. It was updated where it counts like WIFI and a newer TV. It was also very clean. It's less than 2 miles from Silver Springs Park and there are plenty of restaurants, stores and anything you need within walking distance. If you don't like chain hotels or just want something with a homey atmosphere run by very nice people, it's your place. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

OK, I will admit I'm a bit of a hotel snob, travelling a ton for business and usually staying in predictable, up scale chain hotels. So when we arrived at the Silver Springs I had some misgivings. Hotel guests were actually sitting outside their rooms enjoying the night air! We actually had to interact with other guests while schlepping our luggage up the stairs to get to one of the remodeled rooms - oh my! But it also made me realize what we've been missing. The SS Inn is really an amazing place. 1) A family owned business going back to the 50's. 2) Real poured terrazzo floors - beautiful! 3) Little bright-colored-tile 50's bathrooms! 4) Close to the historic Silver Springs and an amazing number of other parks, springs, rivers, lakes, forests

Robert came back from California to take over running the place when his mother couldn't anymore. He has updated some of the rooms and you just want to see him succeed! We'll definitely be back. Next time in Ocala, please give it a try!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

smells a little funny (farm like), nice old lady at the desk. doorlock needs some practice before you can open or close it. little notice; ocala has nothing much to offer, so why go there...
Gail was very nice and helpfull

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Springs Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Motel

Address: 4121 E. Silver Springs Blvd., Ocala, FL 34470
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated family-owned historic Florida motel. New management as of Feb. 2013. Original all-tile bathrooms with Italian terrazzo floors. Large clean rooms with refrigerator and microwave. Large refreshing swimming pool. Minutes from World Famous Silver Springs with glass-bottom boats. A variety of restaurants, shopping, and museum within walking distance. Brief vacations or long stays. All are welcome. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Springs Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.