We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horse and Hounds Restaurant & Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Horse and Hounds Restaurant & Pub
4620 East Silver Springs Boulevard, Ocala, FL 34470
352-690-6100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 377 Restaurants in Ocala
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fun evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Food was excellent. They have nightly specials. Added fun was a 20 question trivia game going on throughout the place. Great ambiance.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    12
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great affordable restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Received an ad for this restaurant in our mail. Had to go to Ocala for an appt. and decided to try it. So glad we did. The building and decor are very nice. We had lunch and the choices were all tempting. I had tenderloin medallions and my husband had fish. Both were excellent and came with a choice of soup or salad, one side, rolls and dessert. Tomato basil soup was homemade and very good. And for dessert we had homemade peach and apple cobblers. Very affordable. We will go there the next time we're in Ocala.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We went here because it was close to the Civic Theater. A nice surprise. Drinks were excellent and it was happy hour (2 for 1). With six people we all had great food except for one steak that was overcooked. They compensated with no charge and a gift card for a free meal the next visit. Great service.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

One of my favorite regular stops. Wish the prices were a bit more reasonable, but they are good!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Usually really good, just had a bad meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

I've eaten here many times since it opened and had great service and meals. Last week, I ordered a burger that had corned beef and slaw on it. It sounded so good. The first time, the bun tasted like it had freezer burn...almost like chlorine. They brought me another, this time, my medium hamburger was well done, the bun was really rubbery, again like it had been microwaved, but not as bad as the first. The server never came back to ask how things were. I normally complain, but was just so hungry!

I generally get the steak caesar salad and it's awesome. They also have 2 for one happy hour until 8 PM! every night, and $3 any martini on Mondays. It's a great locally owned place, and I hope this was a one-of-a-kind occurrence.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horse and Hounds Restaurant & Pub also viewed

Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to Horse and Hounds Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horse and Hounds Restaurant & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.