We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and greasy..tasted good though” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jack's Old Fashion Hamburger

Jack's Old Fashion Hamburger
4201 N Federal Hwy, Oakland Park, FL 33308-5532
(954) 565-9960
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 90 Restaurants in Oakland Park
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Average and greasy..tasted good though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is a better than average hamburger joint, but I havta say, I had a greasy film in my palate in the morning. If you're a hamburger lover, you would probably enjoy Jack's.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fresh made, cooked to order”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

For sure this was freshly cooked. Got the giant half pounder, with fries. Plenty to eat, but the fries were overcooked and cold.
Glad I went, but not sure I would again

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cant mess with the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Enough of the would be burger joints, this classic is the best burger and best priced in south florida, fast service and throw back decor adds to the taste no doubt, hint if you get a soda get the medium, small soda in paper cup is mostly ice my only ding

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort laude
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pure delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is THE place !
The meat is always excellent ( I am not a meat eater but this is the only place I make an exception for ). The portions are generous, the prices low, the fries are not greasy. Everyone there is helpful and happy, no wonder the place is packed at lunch time. You see the same faces coming back time and after time.
The most fun and pleasant Hamburger joint in the neighborhood!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“A Damn Good Burger!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Jack's is one of those places that you forget about, but it's always there. They do one thing well, and that's make burgers. You want beer and TVs? Don't go to Jack's. Nothing fancy here - most people come to get a good burger, then go about their business. When the grandkids have lunch with us, and want a burger, this is where they want to go. They also like the vanilla shakes. French fries are pretty much what you get anywhere else. the procedure at Jack's is: read the menu board on the wall, get it line, order and pay. When your number is called, you pick up your stuff and sit anywhere. Want mustard or something else, they have self-service dispensers. Get extra napkins, these burgs are juicy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Old Fashion Hamburger also viewed

 

Been to Jack's Old Fashion Hamburger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack's Old Fashion Hamburger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.