We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beachfront hotel but average rooms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach to your Saves list
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   17120 Gulf Blvd, North Redington Beach, FL 33708-1443   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Property Credit
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago,IL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great beachfront hotel but average rooms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Great to be right on the beach, but as other reviewers have said - there isn't much around. You have to drive a ways to get to any good restaurants or even to a grocery store. There aren't even any fast food places on the strip the hotel is on. (There is a Subway about 2 miles away which was clean and had good service).

The hotel is clean, but the rooms are dated and on the small size (reminds me of a Hampton Inn type room). Definitely upgrade for the gulf view, or you will be looking at the parking lot. The Gulf view was fabulous! Stay here for the Gulf, but not the pool. There is no hot tub, and the pool is small. It holds a maximum of 19 people and the pool deck is tiny too. Recommend you bring your own beach towels (or buy them at the Beach Access store across the street). The hotel has them, but they are paper thin and very scratchy.

Tiki bar prices are good, but there is no service for the beach. You have to get your own beverages. Hotel is definitely more crowded on the weekends (On Wed - Thursday of our stay, the beach was practically empty). Hotel restaurant (Mango's) is good, but menu is limited. Recommend springing for the beach chairs at least one day. Makes a difference vs. just towels on the beach. Price for the day is $25 but they take the cushions at 5 PM. Another reviewer recommended Frog Pond for breakfast - but we found it to be below average. Eggs were swimming in butter and potatoes tasted like a pound of salt was on them. Also, as mentioned in another review - housekeeping is slow to clean during your stay - average time for the room to be cleaned was 3-4 PM each day. However, we were able to check in early (2 PM) on our arrival, so I can't complain.

Overall stay here if you just want to kick back on the beach for a few days and relax.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    384
    94
    41
    22
See reviews for
396
645
65
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MP, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

My husband and I just spent 3 days at the Doubletree in Redington Beach. The hotel was great. Friendly staff from check -in to check -out. Yes, it rained, okay poured the evenings while we were there, but it was vacation and you make the best of it. Recommended for dinner would be the Salt Rock Grill and to get you there, ask the hotel to arrange for "KC" to take you. Very nice gentleman .

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

This was my second stay at the Doubletree. Our room was nice, the end room, 2 queen beds, room was clean with no odors. The room had a fridge and coffeemaker, nice bathroom, soft towels, softer bedding. The only complaint I have is there were no 'movies on demand'. The tiki bar for the most part was always crowded after around 3 PM. The main floor restaurant had inside and outside seating which not only served breakfast and lunch, but also dinner. You could also use room service or eat at the tiki bar. There was also an inside bar. The front desk was pleasant and helpful, parking was adequate. The hotel appeared full or at least close to full, the pool was on the small side, but when you are beachfront, who needs a pool. Beach service is readily available. I would definitely stay here again. Beach is very close to the hotel and other buildings are close also. Beach was noisy both day and night. When sitting on the balconey at different times, I could tell the people were coming from other areas of the beach to this property, but if you get out there early, there is no reason why you could not get a chair/umbrealla ( for a fee of course).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed 2 nights here for memorial weekend getaway. We wanted a hotel located on the beach and what we could found were pretty pricey. It's not really close to the clearwater beaches but the beach is still nice. The Mango restaurant had a really good breakfast, the drinks were cheap and service was great!

The bed and pillows were really comfortable but the carpet in our room was a bit dirty. We saw some stains around the hallway and to the bathroom area. One night my husband tried to look for his shirts in the luggage and was surprised to have a cockroach jumping out of the luggage. We've opened the balcony door all day and that's probably how it got in there..

We also went to John Pass area, it was a lot of fun.. I would come back to this hotel but if we had more money to spend we would probably look for a hotel closer to clearwater beach..

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We've stayed here a couple of times after a 10 hour flight from the UK. My youngest son doesn't want to stay anywhere else on our first night. Rooms are clean, beds comfortable and the pillows really soft. It's worth paying for the view of the beach and gulf.
All the staff are extra- helpful and pleasant - exactly waht you need when you're tired and want a smooth start to the vacation. Breakfast we good but we didn't eat in the hotel....
There's a good restuarant nearby - The Conch Club, which I would recommend 100%

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our beach vacation at this Doubletree. We had a gulf view room which gave a beautiful view of the beach and overlooked the Tiki Bar (which one night had very loud music but only until 11:00 p.m.). We reserved the beach bonanza special which included a daily cabana rental and breakfast for two in their restaurant, Mango's. The room and beds were comfortable and as others have said nothing out of the ordinary (the air conditioning was loud). All of the staff were friendly and helpful. We were lucky with beautiful weather (in the upper 80s and low 90s) and I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

My husband went to the area for business and booked at this hotel, so I tagged along. Boy was I glad I did! The hotel was fabulous and the location is perfect. During the week there were many business people so things were quiet. By the weekend the place was packed (a wedding was held on saturday right on the beach!) so things got alot more lively. The staff seemed to do a great job accomodating the needs of everyone.

The pool area was pretty crowded and there were alot of families with older and younger children, but we never had a problem finding a place to sit. There were also plenty of places to sit on the beach but as a previous person mentioned, those lounge chairs are not free. The ocean water was warm and inviting, no rough surf to worry about.
We walked every morning on the beach and checked out the area. Yeah some of the other hotels tend to be a bit more dated but I honestly thought that lended a feeling of nostalgia to the area, and I liked it. It was by no means run down, just felt as though the major hotel chains hadnt yet staked their claim on the area.

I highly recommend dining at the Madeira Beach boardwalk. (few miles down the road, heading towards Treausure Island). There were many places there to choose from, we loved Bubba Gump Shrimp. And if you walk on the boardwalk, you'll be pleasantly surprised to see all of the dolphin playing in the water!

Loved the free, warm chocolate chip cookies from the front desk. And the hostess in the hotel dining area was great, as was the rest of the wait staff. Breakfast overlooking the ocean each morning, what could be better?

Our room was standard, nothing spectacular but no complaints either. I was worried that things would be really loud with all of the drinking going on with the wedding crowd. We never heard a peep. Our room overlooked the parking lot but there was still a water view from the inlet a few streets over. With the balcony we were able to be outside in the afternoon but get out of the hot sun for a bit. I suggest bringing LOTS of sunscreen, the sun was very strong even for April.

Overall a great place. I cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach

Address: 17120 Gulf Blvd, North Redington Beach, FL 33708-1443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > North Redington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in North Redington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Beach Resort by Hilton is a true combination of Florida and the Tropics! Experience our tropical sun, gentle breezes, powder white sand and the sparkling blue green waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Centrally located between Clearwater & St. Pete Beaches, directly on the Gulf of Mexico. 125 tropically appointed guest rooms, each with a private furnished balcony, 40" flat panel TV with 66 channels including 24 HD channels, mini refrigerator, wireless high-speed internet access, ergonomic desk chair, iron/ironing board, USA Today delivered each weekday morning, two telephones, and CITRON Honey & Coriander by Crabtree & Evelyn Bath Products. Private beach and beachfront swimming pool, 24 hour business center and gift/sundry shop, Mangos Restaurant with indoor/outdoor seating, beachside Tiki Bar featuring live entertainment, and onsite cabana and water sport rentals. Come see us! We'll always have a warm chocolate chip cookie with your name on it ready and waiting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Beach Resort By Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach Hotel
Doubletree North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort Tampa Bay
Doubletree Beach Resort By Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.