We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good with Just a Few Minor Issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   17120 Gulf Blvd, North Redington Beach, FL 33708-1443   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Leisure Escapes
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Good with Just a Few Minor Issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I'll keep it as short as possible.
Good:
Cookie: As soon as you get your room key, they give you a fresh, warm, moist chocolate chip cookie. I honestly believe that this was the best cookie that I've ever had.
Staff: They work very hard to make your stay awesome. They're helpful and friendly. Staff are always there and every time we had a question, they had an answer.

Atmosphere: It is a very relaxing and beautiful resort. Whether you're lounging by the pool, enjoying a drink at the Tiki Bar, going for a walk on the beautiful beach (which is about to be restored and will look even better) or resting in your room, you feel comfortable and like you beling there.

View: White sand, palm trees, the Gulf, different kinds of birds.It is beautilful.

Fitness centre: The DoubleTree has an arrangement with a gym that's not even a 5 minute walk. It's a great gym, They have lots of machines, weights, etc. I've never been to a fitness centre in a hotel that had a good fitness centre (at the hotel). Plus, if you actually plan on working out, a 5 minute walk, is nothing. Don't be lazy

Bad
Shower temperature: It would fluctuate from hot to cold and back and there was nothing that we could do to fix it. Maybe it depended on if other guests were showering or something.

Hotel food/drink quality and prices: Compared to the restaurants in the area and the fact that DoubleTree is a hotel, of course their drinks and food will be priced higher and for hotel food, it is pretty good but I would recommend going to the other restaurants (Frog Pond, Sweet Sage Cafe and Conch Republic Grill) in the aread, they're AWESOME.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    716
    332
    83
    34
    20
See reviews for
342
556
53
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 weeks, during that time we must have loss a day of our holiday WAITING for the hotel lift. Yes it is the worst lift in USA? If you stay here ask for a room as away from the very noise bar particularly at night.
The staff were pretty good and very helpful.
The surrounding area is beautiful.
Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We live about 1 1/2 north of this location. Awesome setting. Tiki bar, hotel located a the beautiful beach, huge rooms We loved our stay. Everything was right there on site. Awesome breakfast buffet, dining overseeing the beach and water, beautiful sunsets. Fun location. Great resort. Very comfortable

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here twice in the last year or so and we have loved it every time. It is very quiet and relaxing and right on the beach. The rooms are spacious and updated and the beds are super comfortable.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the only way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The smell of the fresh ocean breeze along with the beautiful scenery just made our stay a memorable one. They had the best breakfast buffet ever! We would come back just to eat there. Rooms were very clean, most comfortable bed ever. I almost took the mattress & pillows home with me but couldn't get past the front desk, lol. Great customer service. I'LL BE BACK!
Sebio/Angel

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room on the 6th floor, best Scenery and you can walk around naked and not worry a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Let me start off with the only poor thing. The guy at check in wouldn't have given me a cookie if I didn't ask for it:). I have stayed at Doubletrees before and he was embarrassed and I was only joking with him. The hotel is arguably the best hotel I've ever stayed at. The room was very clean and nicely furnished. Plenty of ample parking is available at no charge. We only had one meal out by the tiki bar so I can't really comment on the restaurant at all. The sandwiches we did have were very good though. Ed and Darla at the tiki bar were awesome hosts and the hotel should be proud to have them. The pool is great and the overall set up outside is very nice. We spent many hours sunbathing while sippin on an Eddie Rum Runner. The beach is very clean and nice and steps from the pool and tiki bar. The area is very sleepy. A car would be a must if you wanted to see some of the nearby sights such as Johns Pass and Clearwater or take the public transportation. We would definitely stay here again and I do highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great hotel - nearly didn't book due to some of the negative reviews - yes it's not a 5 star hotel but the location is great and the staff very helpful.

Our room was on the 4th floor with a gulf view and balcony - well worth the money and very presentable.

The guy who checked us in was originally from East London and gave us loads of local info which was great.

We didn't eat in the hotel so if you are looking for a nice place to eat try the Conch Grill (Dinner) or Dockside Dave's (lunch) - the latter has fantastic Grouper Taco's and MASSIVE onion rings - just don't order the large portion - it will kill you!

We really enjoyed our stay at the Doubletree and the kids loved the hot cookies and made several trips back for more!

We would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: If you are going for a gulf view try to get one of the higher floors so you can see over the palm tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach

Address: 17120 Gulf Blvd, North Redington Beach, FL 33708-1443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > North Redington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in North Redington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Beach Resort by Hilton is a true combination of Florida and the Tropics! Experience our tropical sun, gentle breezes, powder white sand and the sparkling blue green waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Centrally located between Clearwater & St. Pete Beaches, directly on the Gulf of Mexico. 125 tropically appointed guest rooms, each with a private furnished balcony, 40" flat panel TV with 66 channels including 24 HD channels, mini refrigerator, wireless high-speed internet access, ergonomic desk chair, iron/ironing board, USA Today delivered each weekday morning, two telephones, and CITRON Honey & Coriander by Crabtree & Evelyn Bath Products. Private beach and beachfront swimming pool, 24 hour business center and gift/sundry shop, Mangos Restaurant with indoor/outdoor seating, beachside Tiki Bar featuring live entertainment, and onsite cabana and water sport rentals. Come see us! We'll always have a warm chocolate chip cookie with your name on it ready and waiting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Amex, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Beach Resort By Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach Hotel
Doubletree North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort Tampa Bay
Doubletree Beach Resort By Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.