We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ram Sea Great Condo with a Great Location! Unit 506 in need of some updates.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ram Sea Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Redington Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ram Sea Condominiums
Save
You added Ram Sea Condominiums to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   17200 Gulf Boulevard, North Redington Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel amenities
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Ram Sea Great Condo with a Great Location! Unit 506 in need of some updates.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We are regular visitors to the area over the past 15 years. This was our second stay at the Ram Sea in the past 3 or 4 years. The property is a 30 year old property (approximate), So, it has its 30 year old issues.
First the Property and Location:
Overall the property is great and it is well kept.
The building has underground parking area which was mostly unused during this visit. There are bathrooms in the pool and deck area for guests use only. This is a great convenience so that when the need arises you only have to walk a little to use the facilities and not have to go all the way up to your condo. This way you have more time for your book, enjoying some suds and soaking up the sun. The bathrooms (both ladies and men's) were modern and very clean. They were kept immaculate and well stocked with soap and paper towels all the time. They were always fresh and clean. Very much appreciated.
All staff were very friendly and accommodating. They were all seemingly very happy to work there and into their jobs. We had twice a week service to our unit and weekly linen changes. We were pleased with this as we have not always experienced this at other units.
The one negative at this unit was the elevator. It was slower than slow. This building was a 5 storey building of which we were on the 5th floor. Therefore we used the elevator allot. It worked fine and was clean but it was an annoyance because it was so slow. The ride up or down I never timed but between waiting for the elevator and the travel you could be 5 minutes. Taking the stairs is an option but usually we were carrying a number of items and/or were tired from a day in the sun. When we stayed at the Ram Sea a couple of years ago we were on the second floor so we never used the elevator.
Second, the unit:
Unit 506
Like many condo units of this age we usually find them in need of updates due to their age. This one is no different. They have completed a kitchen update with granite counter-tops, newer taps and some cupboard updates. The dishes, pots and pans were fine and they had a good selection of utensils. The knives for cutting are in poor condition and should be replaced. The fridge was great with an ice maker that kept up to your ice demand. We only bought one bag of ice all week because usually an icemaker cannot make enough. The stove was in need of repair or replacement. The burners did not sit level as it looks like the metal catch basins under the burners were replaced but were not meant for this stove. The burners could not sit in the slots that were in the catch basins which made the burners sit incorrectly. It makes cooking anything difficult as all the liquid flows to one side. It is also somewhat unsafe as items can easily tip over easier as they are on a slant. Other than that the stove was fine. Just an irritant that makes the owners seem cheap even though they may not be. The coffee pot is really old and needs to be replaced. It made poor tasting coffee and it was very stained from age and use. The toaster worked ok, but just ok, however again was in need of replacement. The sink was fine as were the taps but they were a little corroded. There was no dish soap or soap for the dishwasher and no paper towels. Items I feel should be there. One other item that was missing was coffee filters. There were some but not made for this coffee pot.
The bathrooms were adequate but again needed some help and updating. Tubs were older and border line in need of replacement. Vanities and toilets were fine. Wall tiles and paint were in need of updating. They towel holders were outdated but did their job. The second bedroom had a bowl type sink which was more visually pleasing than user friendly. The toilet paper holder was broken and did not sit properly. A $8 fix. The door stopper was broken a $2 fix.
The bedrooms were again, ok but the carpets are in need of replacement. They were also in dire need of a good deep clean if they were not replacing. These carpets were almost a deal breaker for me. I would not return to this unit if the carpets are not replaced.
The difference in this unit experience could have been great instead of just ok if there were some simple updates, some deeper cleans and some replacements of some various amenities.
Here are my examples. TV. It is a large screen TV that is a piece of furniture that takes up a ton of space. It was an awesome TV in its day but is likely 15 or more years old. Again, in its day it was all that but technology has changed a great deal and it needs replacing. The viewing at night time is adequate but in the day time the glare on the screen makes it difficult. The sound was great. The bedroom tube TV's are old very old and in need of replacement as well.
Living room furniture was nice and comfortable.
The wireless internet was available to us. If it wasn't, we would not have booked the unit. It was a must. Unfortunately, the internet speed for today's internet was horrible. It worked intermittently at best. It was slow and froze up regularly. We had two laptops for our needs and neither worked well enough for us to work. I had to go to a cafe to do my necessary work where everything worked fine. It was not acceptable.
Another oddity we experienced was cell phone service. Inside our unit or on the patio there was no service. In the parking lot it was intermittent as well. The providers would change from AT&T to T Mobile and to others. It just seemed that where we were located there was just poor cell service in this area.
The balcony caught us off guard as the view of the sunset was impeded by the condo to the right. Its balcony extended out further than ours and block our units sunsets. We did not know this was the case. Not a deal breaker but would have been nice to know of it prior to booking. The balcony furniture was old and dilapidated. The table especially needs replacing. It was not level and was grimy and had been painted, what looked like, several times. This just makes the owners look cheap and only concerned about getting the rental money. I would like to believe this is not the case.
Outside the negative of the carpets there were some deep clean issues (usually due to the age of the property) that need attention. The baseboards were old, dirty and in need of replacement. From the baseboards and out from them about 6 - 8 inches the tile had signs of discoloration from years of dirt and grime. I believe a deep clean would help while they are replacing the baseboards.
In the end, we will go back to the Ram Sea. The unit however, unless it has some updates to the issues stated I would not re-book it. We have viewed some other units and will book those.
The unit requires updates that cost wise would be only a few thousand dollars. Carpet replacement, TV replacements, Internet speed increase, Baseboard replacement, and a deep clean. Total cost might be $3000 - $3500 to bring this unit to a pristine level and have tenants lined up to use. The unit has provided many years of providing great family memories and deserves something put back into it. The rating for cleanliness is difficult to give an average rating mainly because of the carpets. The staff cleaning it is not at fault at all. The owners must provide regular commercial carpet cleaning if they want to keep any carpet in great shape.

Room Tip: The RAM SEA is a perfect location with the beach being very close and convenient. Look at the photo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachin07, General Manager at Ram Sea Condominiums, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello John:

Thank you for taking the time for a very thorough review. Obviously, we are pleased with positive comments in many areas. We will address the concerns you had with 506 and will also make sure to convey this information as needed. Ram Sea recently underwent a major renovation project. The project involved replacing the west (beach facing) walls and installing a new hurricane rated, sea turtle friendly sliding glass door system in every condo. Needless to say...the project was quite costly. So, the owners are investing in their vacation home in a significant manner. The owners of 506 have done a great deal to the condo and will perhaps do some tweaking soon. Thank you again for taking the time to write. 506 is a favorite of many of our repeat guests and we certainly want to continue that custom.

We here at Ram Sea and JC Resorts definitely enjoy what we do. We appreciate our guest comments and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    22
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
48
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Just got back to the UK after a two week stay at the Ram Sea. We were in room 107 which was lovely . Views over the ocean were stunning .... Especially waking up with the wonderful view from the bedroom ! We have stayed at several places on this part of the Gulf Coast & over the last 20years & up to date found this to be the best yet. The ladies in the reception area couldn't have been more helpful & nothing was too much trouble for them. Apartment clean & well supplied with fresh towels & beds changed weekly.
Already hoping to return sometime soon. Many thanks to all there for making our holiday really restful & hassle free.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachin07, General Manager at Ram Sea Condominiums, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello Aviator57:

Thanks ever so for your wonderful review of Ram Sea 107. When you are happy...we are happy. 107 is very nice and has lots of touches that make it a great "home away from home". The sunsets are world class ...as are our guests.

Bless your heart, thanks again and please...come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We had an absolutely fantastic time in condo 612. It truly has everything you could possibly need (except a hair dryer, but we knew that ahead of time). It even has two blenders (one for margaritas, and the other for kiddie "Rita's"). The beds were very comfy, and we were mesmerized by the incredible view. The pool and hot tub are clean and very nice! This is a great place and we would love to return some day!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachin07, General Manager at Ram Sea Condominiums, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello MSBien:

Thank you so very much for your excellent review of Ram Sea 612. So glad that y'all were comfortable and happy. You so cannot beat the views, the Gulf and the panoramic sunset vistas each evening. And two blenders...what more could one want? :-)

Oh and next time...we have hair dryers on site...just let us know if you need to borrow one. Please come back and see us soon. Y'all take care...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have been to Ram Sea many times but found this may be my last time. When you pay top pay for a condo you expect it to be above average. If thats what your wanting do not stay in this room. Everything is outdated I almost wanted to donate some money for a new coffee maker and toaster. I would think that they would at least try to paint the place and cover up the water leak on ceiling....
I hate to be so negative but Owners need to take better care of their home away from home its not JC Resorts fault that some of these rooms are dumps but I do feel they should meet some requirements.
The Staff is very nice and helpful !!
All I can say is look close online when you book

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachin07, General Manager at Ram Sea Condominiums, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Greetings from the Beaches and thank you for taking the time to write. We always appreciate comments and suggestions from our guests. So sorry you did not care for 311. Many guests have enjoyed their stays in 311 and it is often specifically requested. Wish we had known that things were not to your liking... As you know, we are right here on the property and would have been happy to offer help and solutions during your stay. Our staff should have noticed the toaster and that water stain before you checked in...we missed the mark, do apologize and thank you for bringing it to our attention.. Again...thanks for taking the time to write...it only helps us improve. Take care and...thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etobicoke
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to the Ram Sea for more than 10 years. We were in 114 previously and enjoyed it. This time, we arrived to find it totally remodeled. New furniture and TVs. Beautiful new balcony furniture.wonderfully equipped with everything you might need.We loved our month here and would come again in an instant. Great ocean views, friendly, helpful staff and a great location. Thank you for a fine vacation!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachin07, General Manager at Ram Sea Condominiums, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Greetings from the Beaches. Thank you for taking the time to write. So very glad you enjoyed Ram Sea 114. The condo was just re-done in the fall of 2012 and has pretty much anything you need to enjoy a perfect beach vacation. It is especially nice when you can spend an extended amount of time.

Thank again and please come back to see us....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

They recently redecorated unit #403. Very nice furnishings. Pictures on website accurately represented the unit. Loved the location and beach view. Extra large balcony that spans the master bedroom and living area. Had some trouble with one of the tv remotes but programmed it ourselves and was fine after. Only complaint about inside was the sheets -- very rough/itchy. Excellent free wi-fi. Large jacuzzi outside and good pool. Independent concession (I think affiliated to DoubleTree Hotel next door) for beach cabanas (with 2 padded lounge chairs) are about $25 per day, but they will negotiate for longer rentals. This unit has a few beach chairs but no beach umbrellas (Feb 2013). Only disappointment was lack of shells on beach. We've been to Sanibel and got spoiled with the shells so I don't expect anything to compare regarding shell searches. :) I would rent this unit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachin07, General Manager at Ram Sea Condominiums, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Greetings from the Beaches...so glad you enjoyed your stay. Ram Sea 403 is great. The double balcony spanning the master bedroom and living room is especially nice. Cabanas, beach chairs, umbrellas, sea kayaks, jet skis, etc are all offered by the beach concession that is partnered with Ram Sea and the Double Tree next door. Our guests do enjoy the concession or the use of deck chairs and sun lounges provided on our pool and Jacuzzi decks.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and we hope to see you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We returned a week ago from a week long stay at Ram Sea condos and were very pleased with our stay in Unit 509. We found Terry, the onsite manager with JC Resorts, great to deal with prior to our trip. She was very helpful with our booking.

The overall complex was very clean and we enjoyed the pool and hot tub areas. Onsite staff were all very good. We also liked the location, close to all kinds of restaurants and activities. Some local restaurants we enjoyed were Conch Republic, Crabby Bills, Salt Rock Grill, Dockside Daves and Ricky T’s.

Unit 509 is a 2 bed/2bath corner unit condo. We found it perfect for 4 adults (2 couples). The unit is modern and clean and is exactly as shown in the pictures on the JC Resorts website. The view from the balcony is spectacular, great view of the beach and sunsets in the evening. Living room had lots of comfortable seating. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you can think of. We would suggest that they upgrade to a 4-slice toaster, rather than the 2-slice they have, but it’s a minor item. Bedrooms were nicely furnished with lots of room and storage. Daily newspaper at the door was a nice touch.

A few items of note for future renters:

Beach chairs and beach towels – we were surprised the unit didn’t have them, as we’ve had them included in other units we’ve rented in the area. We were able to purchase inexpensive ones at Walmart and Winn-Dixie, so again, only a minor inconvenience.

No Blow dryer(s) – I had brought my own just in case

As advertised, this unit doesn’t have an in-unit laundry facility. We used the building ones on the 2nd and 4th floor. Machines and laundry room were clean and well kept.

As stated in the previous review, we too found the internet to be extremely slow and a little frustrating at times. The internet is our main method of communication with family and work while we’re away and at times, this proved to be difficult.

We were also surprised with the phone plans that are available that there was a charge of $0.50 for local calls from the land line. This likely wouldn’t be an issue to someone with a US cell phone but because we are Canadian, using our cell phones in the US can be expensive. The $0.50 charge would have been less expensive than our cell phone but still surprised by it.

Overall, we were really pleased with the condo and the complex and we’d highly recommend it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachin07, General Manager at Ram Sea Condominiums, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Greetings from the Beaches:

So glad you enjoyed your stay in Ram Sea 509. The view from that corner is fabulous. Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We will make sure they are passed along as needed.

We continue to work to improve our wi-fi service. This is an ongoing effort. Especially now that almost everyone travels with multiple devices.

The local call charge will likely change soon as well. It has become almost a moot issue as most people now use their cell phones.

We hope to see you soon and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ram Sea Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ram Sea Condominiums

Address: 17200 Gulf Boulevard, North Redington Beach, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > North Redington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in North Redington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ram Sea Condominiums 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly beachfront. Fully furnished one, two and three bedroom vacation rentals. All accommodations have full kitchens, living room, dining room and a private balcony directly overlooking the beach and Gulf. On site guest services office, on site staff. Heated pool and Jacuzzi. Beach concessions (cabana rentals, hobie cats, jet skis, aqua cycles, kayaks, etc). Large pool and Jacuzzi deck equipped with tiki huts, beach chairs and chaise lounges. Beach volleyball on site. Next to DoubleTree Hotel offering full restaurant, lounge, beachside dining and tiki bar.Located in the quaint beach town of North Redington Beach. Directly in between St Pete and Clearwater Beaches in the heart of Tampa Bay. Close to restaurants, shopping, water sports, Johns Pass Village, professional sports, arts and entertainment and everything the Tampa Bay Area has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ram Sea Condominiums Hotel North Redington Beach
Ram Sea Condominiums North Redington Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ram Sea Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.