We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore all reviews except that of June 3 2013.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island House Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Island House Resort to your Saves list
Island House Resort
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   17103 Gulf Boulevard, North Redington Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
5% Off Room Rate
Reigate
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ignore all reviews except that of June 3 2013.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I have visited this hotel every year sometimes twice a year since 1993 .Yes it is old,and in some ways needs updating.However you get what you pay for,and here you get all you need for a good vacation at a very reasonable price.Grat pool,superb location just across from the beach,very friendly staff and management,large rooms,very good value.If you want luxury,go and spend $150 $200 dollars elsewhere,and don't get your value for money you get here,I meet many people here who have done as I have,and returned here year after year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was recommended by a friend to give this place a try. My wife and kids needed a nice place to stay for spring break and we wanted to save some money as well. We had an excellent time! The rooms are clean, and the pool is very warm. The staff was helpful and made great recommendations as to what restaurants to eat at. This resort had a very warm feeling to it. It was almost as if was a home away from home. Also, the courtyard is absolutely beautiful. And I see some have mentioned the beds as a problem. In my opinion the beds were very comfortable, and I slept like baby. The rates are very reasonable and it is a fantastic value. I'm already planning to take my family back for the kids' next spring break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Low rates, that's it, we paid for 7 non refundable days, left in 3, room had mold or something to trigger my wife's asthma everytime we went in, (heated pool) very cold, beds were masrhmellos, fully equipped kitchen smelled and had very few dishes. Would never stay here again, even if free.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niko K, Manager at Island House Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
I am truly sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. You mention that "mold or something" triggered your wife's asthma. I want to assure you that our rooms contain no mold whatsoever. I noticed that you stayed with us in the early spring, which may be an answer to the asthma problem. This is because spring time tends to cause allergies and asthma to flare up in many individuals. I find this to be the most likely cause of your wife's asthma, not our rooms. You claim that our pool is cold. Well, it is kept at a consistent temperature of 84 degrees Fahrenheit, which is pretty cozy for most. I'm sorry it didn't appeal to your liking. Also, our maid service is often noted for how immaculate they leave the rooms, and our kitchens do provide a sufficient amount of plates, silverware, glasses, etc. Once again, we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The rooms are dated.....but they are clean, and for the money it's probably the best value on the beach. We stayed here with 6 kids and 4 adults and the room was more than large enough and very comfortable. 6 days during spring break was less than $700. That let us spend our cash on other things we wanted to do and it is right across the street from the beach.the pool area is really nice too. If you want luxury, this ain't it... But value... For sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Pros: the rooms are huge. They have a kitchenette. It's across from the beach. The pool area is lovely.

Cons: The rooms were dirty. The carpet is filthy. The mattresses were so uncomfortable and disgusting. The shower was so small that there was barely room to
Change. The bathroom sink was right at the entrance to the room. The room smelled bad.

I think this could be a great hotel with a total update of the rooms. We literally made the reservations the day we were arriving and only for one night. I wouldn't want to vacation here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niko K, Manager at Island House Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
I appreciate you listing the pros and cons of your stay with us. As far as the cons of your review go, many renovations have been completed since the time of your stay. You mention the issues with the carpet. Recently, we have thoroughly cleaned and washed the carpets and even replaced some of them entirely. We have also replaced many of the mattresses in the rooms. Once again we appreciate the compliments and the criticism as we here at the Island House are always trying to make the needed adjustments to ensure the satisfaction of our customers. I hope you may give our hotel another try in the future, and I promise you'll see the difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My entire family had the worst visit to this place. The staff was not helpful, the rooms were not what we expected, and to top it off the website was not at all what was advertised. We all complained but it was useless.

No one seemed to care and all we kept getting were lies and more excuses.

We will not go back. I do not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niko K, Manager at Island House Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Rob S,
I want to apologize for the displeasure you experienced during your stay. I would like to point out that I'm not quite sure what lies you speak of, as the details of our website are 100% accurate. The rooms are as advertised, so I'm also not sure of your expectations. If you were neglected by our staff, then I really am sorry. I can assure that changes have been made in that department since your stay, and that our current staff will stop at nothing to make your visit as comfortable as possible. I wish I could give you better solutions, but the complaints you have aren't very specific and are very generalized. For example, what lies were told? What did you expect? What was wrong with the rooms? I hope that you would give us a chance again in the future, and maybe with the changes we've made we'll be more to your liking.

-Nick Karnezis (Manager at the Island House Resort Hotel)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Indiana, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights, it has a gorgeous island courtyard. We grilled out a feast by the pool on Fathers Day and really enjoyed the scenic view. The rooms needed a little updating and the beds felt like marshmallows, but the location and scenery made up for all the negatives!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Resort

Address: 17103 Gulf Boulevard, North Redington Beach, FL 33708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > North Redington Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in North Redington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Island House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island House Resort Hotel is lovely getaway located only steps from some of Florida's most beautiful beaches. We feature some of the largest and cleanest rooms in the area and have a friendly staff that is always willing to assist you in any way possible. We also feature a scenic courtyard, barbecue deck with gas and charcoal grills, and a large heated pool. We hope that you'll come for a visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Island House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island House Hotel North Redington Beach
Island House Resort North Redington Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.