We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malibu Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Malibu Beach Resort to your Saves list
Malibu Beach Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malibu Beach Resort
17001 Gulf Blvd., North Redington Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel amenities
Hendersonville
2 reviews
“Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This less expensive motel is across Gulf blvd from access to a beautiful Gulf beach. It is a short walk to several excellent restaurants. It has a large heated pool. It is on the bus/trolley route that brings you around the whole area including Johns Pass. It is dog friendly. Our doggie enjoyed his scrambled eggs and cheese at Sweet Sage restaurant. We had such good sleeps on the platform beds another review disparaged. The sheets were soft and bed comfy with some firmness.
The new managers, Jim and Kathie, are the nicest, kindest people we have met in a long time. They are in the process of freshening up the place.
If you want fancy and luxury, this is not the place for you but if you want all of the above it is a great place to stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

New management has made all of the difference, thanks to Jim and Kathie. The place has improved ten fold in just a couple of months. We stayed 2 nights December 20 and 21. We had room #4 with the pool view. We took our 2 puppies and enjoyed a very relaxing stay. The dog park is directly behing the motel but you can also walk in the residential area. The attached restaurant is no longer but Jim plans to have a replacement in very soon. So convenient, breakfast across the street and dinner by the pool. We plan to go back in March for at least one if not two nights. Wonderful place to stay for a short or long vacation.

Room Tip: Check the floor plan before you go and select where you want to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Good news for people looking for a nice place to stay, without paying a fortune, on Redington Beach...Jim and Kathie have taken on the hands-on mangement of this small little hotel/motel. The new managers have immediately rolled-up their sleeves and immediately tending to details that have been overlooked for a while.

What is best...the exceptionally clean rooms that are just a few steps from the beach, just on the other side of Gulf Boulevard. The rooms vary and some have kitchenettes if you are inclinded to cook on your holiday. But why cook when there are so many good restaurants up and down Gulf Boulevard?

While this little place is no major brand-named hotel, it offers many of the same ammenities without the high prices: swimming pool, in-room refrigerator, expanded cable television, as well as free WiFi and parking.

If you are expecting this place to be the Ritz you might not be happy; but, this low-key property delivers good, clean basic accommodations at a fair price!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Thanks Karen and Kermit for providing the perfect getaway. Needed to decompress and only had a night to spare. The rate, room, and amenities were exactly what I was looking for! The only thing that I was disappointed in was that I couldn't stay longer. See ya soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my weekend stay here. I work 7 days a week and saying so, my budget is not the greatest. I booked this place because it met all my needs. Low price, pool, beach access and location. We arrived and was met by a friendly owner. Got into our room and was satisfied with our accommodation. There are some rules as far and pool hours, noise and getting your towels exchanged. I respect the fact that the're are some rules because I was looking for a quiet, relaxing weekend to chill, and that's what I got. I can sence that there have been some issues in the past with guest partying too hard and being a neusense to other guest, therefor the rules are enforced. Again, I had no problem with this. The beds were ok, water pressure was good, room were old but clean. If you want to stay in a over priced newer hotel, then go toss your money across the street. If you want to save money and relax, stay here. My wife and I will be coming back. Thanks for the pleasant weekend!
Nick & Tat

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Dont know others on reviews, The managers of this place are only enforecing rules that they have to go by. They treated everyone equal during our stay over the Fourth of July holiday. There were kids there that did make a little noise. The managers were very nice in separating them and talking to their parents. It was a holiday and in our opinion they did a great job. The pool was in excellent order, extra clean rooms, close to the beach and everything you could want. Highly recommended by me and my wife Katherine. This is a great place to stay and the management is Very Good, we got everything that we asked for. Please give this place a try, you will be Very Happy, and like us, you will return

Room Tip: All rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I have coming to the Malibu for about 10 years (twice/three times a yr). I'm very sad to say we won't be going back as long as the new managers are there. I agree with the other bad review!!!!! I'm 55 yrs old and I don't want a baby sitter, when I go on a stay away I want to have some fun. 2 yrs ago I had my husbands 50th birthday party there (different managers) we sold the place out. Had a blast..... Yes it is an older place but it's CLEAN, beds could be better and it is dog friendly which is plus for us. They have way too many rules now !!!!!!!!! My next stop is contacting the owners. I'm sorry for anyone that had a bad stay :( it really use to be a cool place to have fun and good pricing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maliburesortfl, Manager at Malibu Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hello, We are terribly sorry that you had a bad experience during your stay of July 2013. The good news is that your request has been fulfilled. My wife Kathie and I are the new Managers at the Malibu Resort as of mid November 2013. We want you to consider returning to the Malibu, at some time in the future, to experience a vacation as is supposed to be. We treat all our guests like family. In an effort to make up for your past issues we will give you a great deal to make it right. Give us a call and we can discuss. Sincerely, Jim & Kathie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malibu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Beach Resort

Address: 17001 Gulf Blvd., North Redington Beach, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > North Redington Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty lodging in North Redington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Malibu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Beach Resort North Redington Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malibu Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.