We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLD AND MUSTY” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Evergreen - CLOSED

Cafe Evergreen
Nokomis Fl, North Port, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Healthy
Description: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cafe-Evergreen/173848212033
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cafe-Evergreen/173848212033
northport
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“OLD AND MUSTY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The place feels old and dank, kinda like me, but i smell better.
The food was passable at best , I had a burger and mushy sweet potato fries, burger was OK but nothing spectacular as has been described, as far as the organic label goes, kind of hard to determine that since there is no certification. My friend had the salmon wrap and it was bland at best, not much fish and a lot of other "stuff". Considering that it is the featured restaurant for the hot springs one would expect an upper tier restaurant, but at best it matches the ugly hot springs it represents. One look at the clientele going into the waters and its enough to turn you off to all hot springs in the future. Much better food available close by and priced more realistically.
If the food lived up to the hype then it could command those prices, but its lackluster at best.
Keep the waitstaff, fire the owners, for being so out of touch.
Not coming back any time soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Organically Delicious but Unneccesarily Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Yikes! Signs all over saying no food or drinks allowed as they want clientele to use the cafe which I was looking forward to from all the reviews I read.
Matt was fabulous as were the other employees. But my bill came to $18 and I have no idea why. ??? I purchased an eggplant burger without the veggies as they were raw and chose swiss cheese instead - that was $7.95. They offered pita chips but I asked for an upgrade to sweet potato fries which I was told would be a slight price difference (they were DELICIOUS!). Since it was my birthday, I chose the cheesecake which was ample and creamy (the red velvet cake they advertise does not exist), and accompanied this by root beer.
While it was all delicious, there was no reason for this to be that expensive.
Next time, I will pack snacks in my bag and eat something small from the cafe.
If the prices were reasonable, I would have changed this to "very good".

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Organic with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Every single thing on the menu is delicious, you can't go wrong. Salmon wrap is the best and these will be THE best sweet potato fries you have ever eaten.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arverne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

light healthy food.always a special of the day...iced tea is refreshing and people who work there always make your lunch an uplifting experience

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice cafe with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Went with a group for lunch and a swim. There is not a lot of seating, so it could be busy during snowbird season. I had the turkey burger on a whole grain bun. Included lettuce, tomato and onion. Found it nicely cooked and very tasty. Also had a side of sweet potato fries. They were quite good, crispy without being too greasy. Everyone in the group found their lunch to be quite good, and we ordered a lot of different items. They offer organic meals, and there are also several gluten-free choices available. Nobody had dessert, so we can't speak for the dessert menu. My total was about $14, which I feel is reasonable for the quality of the meal. Service was prompt and attentive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Evergreen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Evergreen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.