We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, weak service, mediocre food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Frigate's

Frigate's
400 US Hwy 1, North Palm Beach, FL 33408
561-855-7497
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Northlake Blvd & US Highway 1
Description: The Frigate bird is legendary to sport fishermen and it’s presence is an indicator to a bountiful catch, good times and success. After a long day, sea wary sportsmen return to their favorite speakeasy to enjoy refreshing beverages, great food, music and laughter while recounting their days adventure. Many of these speakeasies became legendary in their own right. Frigate’s Waterfront Bar & Grill is one of those gathering places, located on the water in beautiful North Palm Beach.Nestled beneath tropical palms, balmy breeze and island music. You can come by land or come by sea and watch your favorite sporting event on one of our 22 Flat Screen TV’s, including the massive 80 inches High Definition TV at the Tiki Bar just feet away from the seawall. Enjoy our tropical bistro featuring fresh seafood, steakhouse favorites and the best drinks and libations anywhere around, delivered by our friendly knowledgeable staff.
West Palm Beach
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, weak service, mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This restaurant has such a nice atmosphere with its open air feeling, landscaping and water view but definitely lacks food quality and service is quite poor. Also lacks ample parking. I have tried it twice now and was more disappointed the second time than I was the first. I do not recommend. This will be another failed restaurant in our area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    29
    48
    30
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice Coastal Waterfront View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had another beautiful Florida day and what else then a trip to a waterfront restaurant, this place is located on US 1, they have complementary valet parking. The restaurant has tall tables in the inside and it looks like a large bar area, the outdoor area is pretty nice with multiple levels of seating either regular or tall tables all over looking the canal. Also they have a large Tiki Bar where you can enjoy the outdoors and watch the football game.
My wife had the lobster roll with sweet potato fries, she liked the filling but did not care for the bun, her preference is a soft texture bun, it could have been stale. I had the Buffalo Chicken Sandwich with fries, the sandwich was good with tomato, lettuce and onion, my bun was just right. I thought the French Fries where a little bit salty and I like salty food, it could have been because they use Sea Salt. Also next time I would ask for the Buffalo sauce on the side, it made my sandwich soggy.
As for the atmosphere it was just great watching all the boats and people trying to dock next to the restaurant, as we enjoyed our brews, they have Tequesta Chancellor on tap a local craft beer that is very good. We spend couple hours just enjoying the Florida sun and not being rushed after the meal, the service was very good always attentive to our needs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A lively bar on the water's edge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This new bar has an outside patio on the Ermine River near the intracoastal. Attractive surroundings, but relatively high prices including valet parking

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good lunch place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stopped in on our way back from Jupiter. We enjoyed our fresh clam chowder and crunchy chicken fingers. The service was slow at the end, but didn't cancel out the food. It has a good sports bar kind of atmosphere definitely not the place for a quiet meal as one reviewer mentioned; you can tell that before you walk in. It is a lively place. We would go back. The food was not expensive and children's were only $4.95, which is good for real chicken.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome atmosphere after dark.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We sat on the terrace after the sun went down. The ambience was wonderful. It was lit by tiki torches and sits on a canal. Although the road is nearby, you barely noticed it was there. I suspect I would not have been quite as impressed if the sun was still up. Service was awesome and so was the food. Yes, it's a little expensive, but I thought it was worth every penny. This will be a staple for us when we visit Palm Beach.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frigate's also viewed

 
North Palm Beach, FL
North Palm Beach, FL
 

Been to Frigate's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frigate's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.