We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location triumphs all the other shortcomings” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Monaco/N Miami/Sunny Isles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Monaco/N Miami/Sunny Isles to your Saves list
Travelodge Monaco/N Miami/Sunny Isles
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17501 Collins Avenue, North Area Sunny Isles, North Miami Beach, FL 33160   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
nyc
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Location triumphs all the other shortcomings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This motel is a remnant of when all the properties on Sunny Isles Beach' oceanside were small 2-3 story motels with fun themes and names. So after several decades, it is quite run down but is right on the beach, and next door to high rise extrememly expensive condos and Trump-style hotels and spas. We stayed there on July 4th. I am familiar with the area so knew the deal as far as being charged for parking, access to restaurants and strip mall stores across the road, etc. The room was being cleaned as we were checking in at 3 pm (a little late to start cleaning the room!). It was clean enough. We had requested two beds but they only had a king sized bed. The pool is quite small and not really good for swimming laps. However, you are steps away from the beach, and we were able to get beach towels and spend a couple of hours in the ocean.

The motel was full with people who brought their own food and entire families. They had their motel doors open with chairs blocking the walkway outside the hotel rooms, hanging out. It reminded me of a Bronx neighborhood street in the summer. Lots of adults hanging out, kids screaming and running around the pool area, etc. I think they set off fireworks in the back because when we returned at 11 pm, we smelled chemical fireworks smell by the pool area. Between July 4 and a world cup match, it was very busy and lively and noisy - I had to sleep with earplugs (the walls are thin). Don't think there's a way to control the A/C, so hopefully you like it cold in your room. We had walk-in bathroom and shower (must have been a handicap accessible room).

If you're only staying a night, it's fine. But if you are going to stay a couple of nights, the Thunderbird right up the street (same era motel with more style), north a few blocks, has nicer facilities and a larger pool. If they had been the same price as the Monaco, we would have stayed there.

Room Tip: if you choose a poolside room on the ground floor (easiest access to the beach), be prepared for noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    74
    107
    66
    77
See reviews for
111
97
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, U.K
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I stayed in this hotel back in the 80's when it was a very nice hotel. 20+ years later, its not so nice. Its very overpriced for what you get. The staff were helpful and friendly enough but the room was small and dated and the pool walls were filthy. I didnt feel safe in this hotel and the walls are paper thin. We had a group of disrespectful guys next to our room that sat outside talking (LOUDLY) until gone 5 in the morning. Sorry Monarco but its time to take the money and let the big boys start building....

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Bea
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Hotel was near to break together (, no hot water , dirty very very cold room ,roomdoor uncloseble,Beds didin`t deserve the name , unfriendly unattended Staff etc etc.
Awfulst stay of my life , we were frightend and left after the first night.
Nearly every wall was broken und helb by several steel pipes with warning signs do not enter or step on .Balkonies were closed so were whole parts of the hotel ...incl the whole Beachfront was near to break together!!!!!!
.Open electric wires on the wall!!!!
Do not book this hotel it is dangerous.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Monaco is dirty and old. Room service is very poor. Bar is closed. The only good part about this hotel is location. It's in a perfect spot of Sunny Island. It is really overpriced for the quality they offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Part of hotel facing the beach is not in use due to balcony falling down/apart...there was no bar or restaurant at the beach...no breakfast was offered or available. I cannot believe Travelodge keeps this place operating. I booked there expecting the Travelodge quality and service. I was very disappointed. I will no longer assume I can rely on the Travelodge name.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Palestine, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Worst experience ever!
We spent 2 nights at this "hotel" and here are the reasons it was a bad experience:
1.Hidden costs: there is construction going on next to the hotel, it is $20 cheaper to stay near the construction side then to stay "away" from it but you can still hear the construction! there is also $12 charge to park in front of the hotel. it is double parking per space so you will have to leave your keys at the front desk so they can move your car.

2: a lot of Room issues:
No room AC. the hotel decides at what temperature your room will be.
Mold growing on the caulking around bathtub and there was what sounded like water under the tub.
Toilet was running all day/night,
While in the shower, it was like someone was constantly flushing the toilet, water went from cold to scolding hot in seconds, which tells me there water system also sucks.
We had to ask for a TV remote, at first they acted like we didn't look for it, to top it all off we had to program it so it would work for the TV in our room.

They "offer" a continental breakfast. What they wont tell you is that every morning you have go to the front desk and ask for a "ticket" for the continental breakfast which only consists of coffee, toast and juice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Monaco/N Miami/Sunny Isles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Monaco/N Miami/Sunny Isles

Address: 17501 Collins Avenue, North Area Sunny Isles, North Miami Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > North Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Monaco/N Miami/Sunny Isles 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Monaco/N Miami/Sunny Isles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Monaco/n Miami/Sunny Isles Hotel North Miami Beach
Travelodge Sunny Isles Beach
Travelodge North Miami Beach
Travel Lodge North Miami Beach
North Miami Beach Travelodge
North Miami Beach Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Monaco/N Miami/Sunny Isles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.