We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ma & Pop grocery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laurenzo's Italian Market

Laurenzo's Italian Market
16385 W. Dixie Hwy. N., North Miami Beach, FL 33160
305-945-6381
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
North Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Ma & Pop grocery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Been going here since I was a little girl,Use to ride my bike to get my mom fresh rolls, Makes u feel ike u ar in New York, anything u need for a good home cooked Italian meal. here's where u go .

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“An Authentic Italian Market & Deli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

First, the Trip Advisor rating scale jumps from "Average" to "Very Good," precluding a more accurate rating, which in this case would be "Good." Listen up, Trip Advisor and fix the scale!

This was our fourth visit to Laurenzo's over the past 5-6 years. It is one of the only authentic Italian markets in all of Florida, so when we are in the area we stock up on Italian foodstuff that we cannot get anywhere else, except via the Internet. To be sure, the market has an excellent selection of products like dried pasta, packaged (cans and jars) of olives, roasted peppers, garlic, antipasti, biscotti, oil and vinegar and much more. Their bakery section is also loaded with very good pastries of many types. But, this visit, we noticed that Laurenzo's cheese selection was less than in the past and that many selections of cheese were those that you can get anywhere i.e. Boar's Head, Auricchio, Belgioioso, etc. Where were all of the other import cheeses? We were told that they had to be a special order. Oh, too bad. Maybe next year.

Within the market is a deli that reminds you of a small Italian osteria. There was a good selection of hot and cold plates at a reasonable price. I had baked eggplant while my wife selected a sausage and pepper sandwich. Neither of us could finish the large portions that were served. The quality was good, but not exceptional.

Laurenzo's also has a fresh produce market across the street, but we since we were traveling there was no point in checking that out. All-in-all, Laurenzo's Italian Market is worth a stop if you are in the Aventura/North Miami area. However, I am not sure that you should go out of your way to go there. In our case, if there is anything special that we want that is unavailable at local markets, like Publix or Costco, we'll order it via the Internet.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Place is great !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

-Well this is classical italian market with all the trimmings,the place is split in 2 buildings,the old one got a wine department (very nice),an enormous pasta department,bakery,seafood,butcher shop with their own brand of sausage (very nice)also candy and imported specialties department,they basically got everything for sale,inside there's a nice italian cafeteria with a large assortment of dishes at very reasonable prices considering what it is,pretty much all the dishes made from scratch,the way i like.The other building is a fresh produce department,also with good quality and reasonable prices.i don't know but i think Laurenzo's is in NMB for a long time and although looks expensive and upscale the trick is that pound by pound it's really affordable. i'm a regular.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gluten free Travel and Shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Traveling around the US you will find there are a lot of restaurants offereing Gluten Free choices.

It is also seen that markets are offering more and more GF offereings. I was surprised to see an Italian market (not your typical GF arena) that offers these choices for us GF fans.

After shopping the aisles throughout this market I found a lot of alternative choices for families trying to stay Gluten free. Afterward I went to the fresh market (across the parking lot) and found a lot of organic, Gluten Free offerings. A pleasant surprize indeed.

GFFoodie

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best cannoli in Miami!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We popped into Laurenzo's on the way to Key West from Orlando and I must admit - I am soooooo glad we did! It is a large Italian food market with a bakery and a little canteen style eaterie right inside. Having bought a whole box of cannoli and some cookies, we decided to grab a bite to eat before the long drive and I was more than pleasantly surprised. Food was fresh, tasty and plentiful, our server was absolutely lovely with that great Italian charm and a great sense of humour. As for the food - it was truly home made Italian! Please do not expect this place to be one of those pretentious fine dining experiences, it is not and thanks God for that! It is simple and unassuming, but the taste is truly delicious! As for cannoli - by far the BEST I have ever had!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laurenzo's Italian Market also viewed

North Miami Beach, FL
North Miami Beach, FL
 
North Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Laurenzo's Italian Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurenzo's Italian Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.