We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual atmosphere, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Havana Restaurant

Little Havana Restaurant
12727 Biscayne Blvd, North Miami, FL 33181-2003
305-899-9069
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 91 Restaurants in North Miami
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Casual atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were in the area and tried Little Havana on the recommendation of our friends. It feels like it's been there for a long time and has quite a following. We were seated in a cavernous room with animal heads on the wall - I sat underneath a llama! The restaurant was busy on a Saturday night. The service was good and we enjoyed our meals. Our dinners came with rice, black beans and plantains. The insider tip we learned is to request the garlic sauce on the side - it's delicious! The parking lot was full, but the nearby businesses are closed at night, so we were able to park close to the restaurant. The wine list was reasonable and we settled on a carafe of wine for about $17. There are many Cuban restaurants to choose from in South Florida and Little Havana is a great choice!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    40
    15
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Generous portions of food always well seasoned and at correct temperature,very professional,in my opinion the best overall restaurant in the area and i'm not Cuban or latin.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The go-to restaurant when friends or family visit and I'm treating.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great, inexpensive, always fresh and tasty dishes. Very good mojitos or sangria. The roast pork (lechon asado) and the 1/2 chicken (pollo ala plancha) always please, and the oxtail is a favorite of red meat eaters. Black beans, rice, and maduros included. Ask for the garlic/oil/cilantro sauce on the side for a special treat. Lunch has great cuban sandwiches. . Good, fast service, safe parking, easy to find on Biscayne Boulevard near 125th St. Coconut flan, rice pudding and the best cafe con leche in the area make a satisfying end to a really good meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great cuban food, great service, casual/family atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The building is older and sort of plain, it's not very fancy or even super attractive but the seating is comfortable, the service is excellent and the food is very good cuban food. As with most Cuban restaurants the coke comes in a can (so no free refills) but the iced tea was very good and does have free refills. Again, in traditional fashion the standard side dishes are black beans, white rice and plantains. I find plantains too sweet for my tast but they happily substituted french fries. My husband had the palomilla steak which is a thin, lean steak cooked with garlic and lime. The traditional chopped onions and cilantro were served on the side which my husband perfers but didn't have to ask for. I had the "chicken steak" which is a thin chicken breast cooked in onions, garlic and lime. I asked for extra lime. The service is fantastic, any request is almost instantly fullfilled but again this is very common in the many cuban restaurants I have visited. The food here was really excellent though. I love cuban food, which is not generally "spicy" but is well seasoned with garlic and herbs, etc. It's also great if you have a limited time to eat because they are so fast with service but they will never hurry you and lingering over cuban coffee or cafe con leche, colada, and desserts is also a fine idea depending on your other plans. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Expectations not achieved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

It's a Cuban restaurant, maybe very good represented. I have never been to CUba, but what I understand is that la Havana is like and old, stopped in the timeline city. In this way the restaurant goes. Big restaurant without good lights, seems to be old and not good maintained. Food was normal, without any surprise. Service according to the environment. Don't know, it was an experience that I would not repeat in the future. I think there are many other options better than this in North Miami and I disagree with the #1 position.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Havana Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Little Havana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Havana Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.