We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !!!!! From every aspect !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Primo Trattoria Italiana

Primo Trattoria Italiana
2216 123rd Street NE, North Miami, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Primo Trattoria Italiana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 92 Restaurants in North Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: AUTHENTIC ITALIAN "TRATTORIA" , Owners are frome Rome Italy, cooking with Italian recipes and fresh food hand made daily !
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent !!!!! From every aspect !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Great food, all hand crafted really italian !!!! Great customer sevice, and ambiance.It is a place to go definitely !!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    10
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Remarkable Italian food at a very reasonable price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Primo Trattoria is located in a strip mall and doesn't look like much from the outside but step inside for a delicious trip to Italy. I have dined in at least 26 Italian restaurants in South Florida, and Primo's tops all the others! When you walk into Primo you a warmly greeted by one or both of the husband and wife team owners, Primo and Ulyana. You will quickly feel like your not in their restaurant but instead in their home.

Now, about their food, their absolutely wonderful food! Their spinach, almonds, cranberries, onions and gorgonzola salad packed full of wonderful flavors that come together perfectly. Their Caesar salad is one of best I have ever had. The salads are big and easily serve two.

The fried calamari served with pomodoro sauce is lightly battered and very tasty but you really have to try the Polpette; homemade meatballs, served with pomodoro sauce and ricotta. I love a good Bolognese sauce and theirs really hits the spot. I get it on Spaghetti but it's also great on their Lasagna. Pennes Alla' Arrabiata and Alla Puttanesca pomodoro are also great choices. Then there's their Gnocchi, homemade of course and truly remarkable. The chicken Parmigiana and Pantesca make me salivate.

The only problem with eating at Primo Trattoria is that everything I have ordered there is outstanding and choosing one is so damn hard. Oh, I forgot to mention that their fish dishes all have vibrant flavor and very fresh! Just go and give Primo's a try and like me I'm sure you'll become a regular!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Read great reviews about this place, so took the wife there for a late lunch..
We have not been to Italy so are do not have experience on what dishes that are REAL Italian taste like.. However......
The dishes that we had tasted very "foreign" to us, (as in NOT to our liking...) The prices were also high (for the serving sizes and ingredients used.)
Not only that, but there was only one man talking loudly on a cell phone when we arrived. We were put right next to him, but weren't concerned as he was saying he was leaving (to the person on the phone.) However a half hour later, he was STILL there and on the phone. When he FINALLY left, and we thought there would be some peace and quiet, another gentleman came in who knew the waitresses and spent the time we had left there talking loudly to two of them standing at his table..
This may be a place that has authentic Italian food, but it's NOT a place for us...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primo S, Owner at Primo Trattoria Italiana, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Sir, first of all thank you for coming to "PRIMO TRATTORIA ITALIANA" .
I carefully read your review and actually ... it is not clear to me the real reason of you disappointment ...
I always try to analyzing the bad reviews as a " constructive criticism " and beside the problem about the gentlemen who were talking loudly on the phone ( and I apologize for that ! ), since this is a Family (public) restaurant customers feel free to act as home.
I also read regarding Primo Trattoria Italiana food that didn't "met" your taste... well... I am sorry but this is an Authentic Italian Restaurant and we cook with the fresh ingredients daily home made with the genuine Italian Recipes, ALL our customers know it ( as you can see on the others reviews ) and love it !
What I can only tell you is that all our customers are educated upscale people who travel to Italy so they recognize the difference from all the others pretending "Italian restaurant"...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding Authentic Italian Trattoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Great family restaurant offers much than you might expect from a neighborhood trattoria. The authentic Italian food is real made with good quality fresh ingredients. I have eaten there twice, both very good meals and great service, wonderful home made deserts. The atmosphere is cozy, the staff is friendly, and the prices are reasonable. One of the best kept secrets of North Miami.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Roman Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The clams and mussels in a white or red sauce with focaccia Italian bread and the octopus or beef carpaccio are amazing appetizers. The pasta is hand made on premises. The porcini mushrooms are flown in from Italy. The branzino and salmon with chopped tomato on top are cooked to perfection in foil to retain the natural flavor. The limoncello cake with white chocolate and the other desserts are made on premises and were delicious. Nice selection of very good white and red wines from Italy. This a very friendly trattoria, you do not need to look at the menu. Just ask the owner Ulyana what she recommends or what you want and she will be happy to have her chef make it for you. Prices are moderate and the food is as good as any restaurant in Rome and the best Italian food in Miami. A hidden gem, worth a drive from anywhere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primo Trattoria Italiana also viewed

 

Been to Primo Trattoria Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primo Trattoria Italiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.