We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of Italy in North Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Primo Trattoria Italiana

Primo Trattoria Italiana
2216 123rd Street NE, North Miami, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Primo Trattoria Italiana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 91 restaurants in North Miami
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: AUTHENTIC ITALIAN "TRATTORIA" , Owners are frome Rome Italy, cooking with Italian recipes and fresh food hand made daily !
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A slice of Italy in North Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I am a frequent visitor to North Miami and this family owned and operated restaurant was a
delightful surprise. From the moment you entered you felt a genuine atmosphere and the
food equalled the ambience. Everything we ate was freshly and superbly prepared with friendly and courteous service. I travel quite a bit and this is the type of restaurant you would want to find in any city anywhere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    42
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Feel like you're in Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

First entering the restaurant, you hear the music of Italy. And then you are greeted in Italian by one of the owners. After looking at a comparatively straight forward menu, you are first pleasantly surprised when you're served a bread that is really an extra thin pizza crust that is drizzled with olive oil and italian seasoning that was different and delicious.
The calamari fritto was light and tasteful and was served with an excellent marinara sauce.
Both the veal parmigian and the veal saltimboca accompanied by past were also excellent.
The only negative was the lack of parking. The parking lot services another restaurant and a martial arts gym that was busy so the space was full. However, they are adjacent to other strip shops and you be will able to find a place there. The owners were more than cordial and and constantly checking to see if everything was OK.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
“I had a wonderful dinner in north Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

It started with the lightest pizza I've ever had. Very simple with fresh herbs and just the right dash of ingredients. Truly what pizza as a first course should be and you can never find in the US. Then I had a ceasar salad loaded with fresh parmesan. Fresh, fresh, fresh! Finally chicken with penne. It was barely breaded and lightly sauted, not fried, with a wonderful pomodoro sauce. Rich with more fresh herbs. It was a special occasion meal at everyday prices. It was as good as anything I've had in Rome. You won't be disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH MIAMI
1 review
“Real Trattoria in North Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

After many years of living in North Miami and having dined at most of the Italian restaurants in our area , we can honestly say that Primo Trattoria Italiana is real Italy at our doorstep.
The food is simply amazing , the cheeses and sauces are the perfect consistency and just the right proportion to complement the always " al dente " pasta .
The focaccia is always right out of the oven and the pizzas are crispy and very tasty
To all our neighbors at Keystone Point ,and San Souci ,if real Italian food is what you seek , come to Primo Trattoria ...you will love it!!!.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Miami
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rome in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We never thought we would find truly Roman italian food in Miami. Not your usual fettuchine alfredo and lasagna. This place takes you back to Rome. Husband & wife owners are always there to make sure you have a wonderful dining experience. Highly recomend if you want something different and tasty. Try the funghi ravioli or their pomodoro sauce on any pasta. Oh, don't forget to order their meatballs.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primo Trattoria Italiana also viewed

 

Been to Primo Trattoria Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primo Trattoria Italiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.