We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stayover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   148 NW 167th St, North Miami, FL 33169   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in North Miami
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Short stayover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I needed a cheap stay over for the night, so i choose this for the price. The general quality of the hotel is below standard. There was all the time an annoying alarm sound coming from the hallway and the bathtub pluming didn't work properly. There was only wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    18
    29
    30
    70
See reviews for
26
42
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Here are some keywords found on the website of Holidays Golden Glades Hotel in Miami!
Excellent choice, Pride, Exceptionally friendly and efficient service, Honored guests, fine hotel. This hotel boasts being honored in Washington DC with the 2008 Best of Miami award in the lodging category by the US Local Business Association. It's been a long tough 5 years since 2008 for this hotel.

THE GOOD, THE BAD & THE UGLY

THE GOOD.
The location was perfect for our planned activities, 5 mins from the stadium and 15-45 mins to everywhere we needed to be. (see also the bad)
Parking is free. (see also the bad)
Clean room. (see also the bad)
Free WIFI. (see also the bad)
Elevators newly finished and fast.
Bathroom newly renovated. (see also the bad)
Ice machine on 3rd floor.

THE BAD
The location, seedy neighborhood at best. I have stayed in nice hotels in seedy neighborhoods... this wasn't nice at all. Hotel gives the aura of a really cheap short stay motel.
Parking lot is a shortcut and hangout for the neighborhood's best.
Clean room: linens laundered every day... carpets stained, drapes ugly, stained chairs, bed sheet had tear/hole, (feels like there are no back-up supplies, they launder your linens and towels and put them back in your room) tables in "dining room" with paint spots etc, hallways musty (smells like a 1980's nursing home).
Free WIFI only available in lobby... even Popeye's has WiFi!!!
Ice machine on 3rd floor dispenses 1/2 bucket ice/night, room with ice machine and vending machine filthy (I have pics)
Bathroom newly renovated wit granite accents, tub and toilet bowl needs to be replaced.
Continental breakfast set out rudimentary at best, a lot of food safety issues here.
Pool: kiddie pool dirty and moldy, same for large pool, surroundings dirty and unkempt.
TV: I haven't seen a TV like this in a hotel in 6 years... and the channels don't work, good luck getting a remote that operates your TV.

THE UGLY

two words... LISANDRA "SANDRA" IZQUEIRDO.
The front desk clerk is the face of the hotel. A lot of issues at this hotel is fixable or at least can be addressed short term by front desk. Ms Izqueirdo was unhelpful, problematic, full of attitude ... a I don't give a damn attitude, argumentative, everything a front desk clerk shouldn't be. Unfortunately she only compounds the negativity of this hotel. She reflects what this hotel reflects from the second I drove unto the property...

Fortunately with some love and attention this hotel may return to its award winning status, and with customer oriented employees like Miguel Botte (maintenance), Ryann Lewis (reservations clerk), the maids who work with what they are provided, and the Haitian maintenance guy whose name I forgot there is hope. A little elbow grease, and some TLC will go a long way here. This hotel will always be busy, (the location and price is great), but not from return business.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I checked in last night around 5 after a horrific travel experience. I woke the next morning and got ready for my first day in Florida. I opened the shades to try and get some natural sun light. That's when I saw blood stains on the carpet. I immediately called downstairs and spoke with Siteria (extremely rude). She sent up a housekeeper who tried to clean the stain with the same solution she used to clean the COUNTERS. Why would that work on blood?!! When the housekeeper couldn't get the BLOOD out, she said it was coffee. [--]. I went downstairs and spoke with the "Manager", Siteria and the woman in the blue shirt in my picture. The lady in blue kept telling me it's not blood it's coffee. She must have magic powers because she made that determination without seeing the stain. I was told I would have to call booking and the "Manager" couldn't do anything. Then why are you here???? I immediately checked out of the -1 Star hotel!!! WORST-CUSTOMER-SERVICE-EVER!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I went there for spring break during my study abroad in Georgia. We drove down so we had a car which helped a lot because the location is not the best. Don't suggest going unless you have a car, nothing around there and not much public transport. There is a Wegmans grocery store and a Wall Mart close by and some restaurants and other stuff, but nothing too exciting.

But the hotel itself was good :) affordable, clean, friendly staff, free parking. The only complaint I would have was that the breakfast wasn't that great, but as students we weren't too picky.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Let me preface this review by saying that this hotel wasn't expensive, but that just goes to show that you get what you pay for.

The hotel grounds/parking lot are not well-maintained. Upon arrival, that didn't bode well. The sign bulbs high up on the building are burnt out in one place, so the logo is a partial logo, and I couldn't see the name anywhere on the building. Once inside, I had to ask at the desk, "What's the name of this hotel?" to be sure I was in the right place.

The lobby is a sparse, depressing space, the elevators need to be wiped down more often, the caulk/grout in the bathroom was so dark with filth, it gave me the willies. Flip flops are a necessity. Note to management: 1) When caulking, find people who know how to caulk or who are willing to learn. 2) Get some grout cleaner and scrub the grout clean, then seal it so it stays that way.

The curtains and sheers on the windows had holes in them. The continental breakfast is held in a room with absolutely no atmosphere and looked as shabby as the rest of the hotel.

I wasn't comfortable in the neighborhood, so I didn't venture out. This hotel isn't in a locale where one walks around the neighborhood to see the sights.

On the positive side, the sheets were clean and the elevator is the fastest elevator I've been in in years; that was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

It's unfortunate that this property sits to decay in the way that it does. It very obviously used to be a Holiday Inn before it seemingly lost it's status and is destined to rot as an ill maintained mom and pop hotel.

My poor experience begins before check in.. requested an early check in and was denied, no biggie, it's not guaranteed after all. But when I asked about holding luggage or the earliest that we could get into our room I was told that we were not to show up at the hotel until our check in time because we "did not pay to come earlier, if we wanted to check in early we should have paid for another day"..... okay... sorry for asking.. so we kill time at the mall.

Arrive at the hotel and notice the landscaping is in poor condition outside, overgrown with weeds or just a plot of mulch where landscaping used to be. The sliding doors are broken with a handwritten sign blaming the broken door on guests who went in and out too many times... really? blaming the guests.. not a great first impression. I get inside and ready to check in and get a lady struggling through the basics of the English language. Having to repeat myself two to three times and slow down my speech for her to understand. We arrive and we are informed of a slew of hidden fees... great, so now i'm paying extra for a hotel i'm already not impressed with. Extra feeds included a $10 or so fee for a room safe.. really? a room safe? (mind you the safe was not even attached to the floor.. we joked about how a thief could just walk out of the room with the safe in tow.. but really, not a joke)

So we get to the rooms and they're not even clean or maintained. Cigarette burns in the drapery and on the sheets.. pillows with stains of god knows what on them. and a non working alarm clock. The rest of the evening went on rather uneventful.. we avoided the room for anything other than the essential of a nights sleep.

In summary, don't stay here unless you enjoy the very very very bare essentials, aesthetics don't matter to you, and customer service doesn't either.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This could be a nice place if someone cared. Weeds outside, green stuff growing on the outside walls where water drips, awnings filthy. Sliding door only opened half-way, elevator not clean, only one worked. Room clean but windows filthy and drapes unbelievable. A $50 security deposit was added. For what, I'll never know. If I had not prepaid, I would have left.

Sure, the place is old, but so what. If anyone cared, this could be a reallyy cute hotel, deserving "boutique" added into its name. What does it take to pull weeds, wash the slime off the walls and clean windows and awnings. Maybe this place is slated for demolition like its neighbor - a hotel now a large empty lot. It is such a good location, and that's why we picked it.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel

Address: 148 NW 167th St, North Miami, FL 33169
Location: United States > Florida > North Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in North Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel in Miami is an excellent choice whether you are looking for a Miami vacation hot spot or traveling on business. The hotel prides itself in offering exceptional friendly and efficient service to all our vacationers and honored guests. You can expect the special privileges that come from staying at a fine hotel when you stay with us. The Holidays Golden Glades Hotel was honored in Washington D.C. with the 2008 Best of Miami award in the lodging category by the U.S. Local business Association. Our outstanding North Miami Beach location is ideal whether you fly in to Miami International or Ft. Lauderdale International Airport. Miami Beach vacation packages and discount hotel packages are available seasonally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Golden Glades
Holiday Inn North Miami
North Miami Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.