We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fare enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   148 NW 167th St, North Miami, FL 33169   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in North Miami
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fare enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I went there for spring break during my study abroad in Georgia. We drove down so we had a car which helped a lot because the location is not the best. Don't suggest going unless you have a car, nothing around there and not much public transport. There is a Wegmans grocery store and a Wall Mart close by and some restaurants and other stuff, but nothing too exciting.

But the hotel itself was good :) affordable, clean, friendly staff, free parking. The only complaint I would have was that the breakfast wasn't that great, but as students we weren't too picky.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    20
    35
    33
    83
See reviews for
31
47
16
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Let me preface this review by saying that this hotel wasn't expensive, but that just goes to show that you get what you pay for.

The hotel grounds/parking lot are not well-maintained. Upon arrival, that didn't bode well. The sign bulbs high up on the building are burnt out in one place, so the logo is a partial logo, and I couldn't see the name anywhere on the building. Once inside, I had to ask at the desk, "What's the name of this hotel?" to be sure I was in the right place.

The lobby is a sparse, depressing space, the elevators need to be wiped down more often, the caulk/grout in the bathroom was so dark with filth, it gave me the willies. Flip flops are a necessity. Note to management: 1) When caulking, find people who know how to caulk or who are willing to learn. 2) Get some grout cleaner and scrub the grout clean, then seal it so it stays that way.

The curtains and sheers on the windows had holes in them. The continental breakfast is held in a room with absolutely no atmosphere and looked as shabby as the rest of the hotel.

I wasn't comfortable in the neighborhood, so I didn't venture out. This hotel isn't in a locale where one walks around the neighborhood to see the sights.

On the positive side, the sheets were clean and the elevator is the fastest elevator I've been in in years; that was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

It's unfortunate that this property sits to decay in the way that it does. It very obviously used to be a Holiday Inn before it seemingly lost it's status and is destined to rot as an ill maintained mom and pop hotel.

My poor experience begins before check in.. requested an early check in and was denied, no biggie, it's not guaranteed after all. But when I asked about holding luggage or the earliest that we could get into our room I was told that we were not to show up at the hotel until our check in time because we "did not pay to come earlier, if we wanted to check in early we should have paid for another day"..... okay... sorry for asking.. so we kill time at the mall.

Arrive at the hotel and notice the landscaping is in poor condition outside, overgrown with weeds or just a plot of mulch where landscaping used to be. The sliding doors are broken with a handwritten sign blaming the broken door on guests who went in and out too many times... really? blaming the guests.. not a great first impression. I get inside and ready to check in and get a lady struggling through the basics of the English language. Having to repeat myself two to three times and slow down my speech for her to understand. We arrive and we are informed of a slew of hidden fees... great, so now i'm paying extra for a hotel i'm already not impressed with. Extra feeds included a $10 or so fee for a room safe.. really? a room safe? (mind you the safe was not even attached to the floor.. we joked about how a thief could just walk out of the room with the safe in tow.. but really, not a joke)

So we get to the rooms and they're not even clean or maintained. Cigarette burns in the drapery and on the sheets.. pillows with stains of god knows what on them. and a non working alarm clock. The rest of the evening went on rather uneventful.. we avoided the room for anything other than the essential of a nights sleep.

In summary, don't stay here unless you enjoy the very very very bare essentials, aesthetics don't matter to you, and customer service doesn't either.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This could be a nice place if someone cared. Weeds outside, green stuff growing on the outside walls where water drips, awnings filthy. Sliding door only opened half-way, elevator not clean, only one worked. Room clean but windows filthy and drapes unbelievable. A $50 security deposit was added. For what, I'll never know. If I had not prepaid, I would have left.

Sure, the place is old, but so what. If anyone cared, this could be a reallyy cute hotel, deserving "boutique" added into its name. What does it take to pull weeds, wash the slime off the walls and clean windows and awnings. Maybe this place is slated for demolition like its neighbor - a hotel now a large empty lot. It is such a good location, and that's why we picked it.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel is not ugly, but it is in an extremely dangerous place, I was assaulted, robbed by a guy in the same hotel reception, there is no security. And if you are in the reception which is the only place with Wifi you are in risk to loose your laptop, Will be better spend $ 10 more in other option, and not be in such a risky place which shamelessly selling drugs is in front of there, If you want to see people ho scare you, go to this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

No this hotel is not fancy or anything.....its very cheap and it worked out good for my family and I. We stayed here for 4 nights. The rooms are nice size....in the hallways it was always hot and stuffy. But no big deal cause in my room the AC worked very well. The rooms seemed pretty clean I did notice that the water is a little yellow tinted which I thought was kind of gross....the continental breakfast wasn't too fancy....they had cereal, bread, orange, apple, orange juice, milk, coffee and muffins. The beds were comfortable the TV was good. I did not use the pool so I cant really say anything about that. It has a huge parking lot across the street so if it gets filled up in front of the hotel you have to go over there. overall it wasn't too bad for what we paid. If I had to I would stay here again, since I did not have any major issues....hope this was helpful

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

They didn't find my reservation and didn't even try to find it.
I finally got a room, which was an 'ok to bad' room. Few minutes after someone tried to enter my room because it got double assigned.
There is no wifi and no iron / iron board.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel

Address: 148 NW 167th St, North Miami, FL 33169
Location: United States > Florida > North Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in North Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel in Miami is an excellent choice whether you are looking for a Miami vacation hot spot or traveling on business. The hotel prides itself in offering exceptional friendly and efficient service to all our vacationers and honored guests. You can expect the special privileges that come from staying at a fine hotel when you stay with us. The Holidays Golden Glades Hotel was honored in Washington D.C. with the 2008 Best of Miami award in the lodging category by the U.S. Local business Association. Our outstanding North Miami Beach location is ideal whether you fly in to Miami International or Ft. Lauderdale International Airport. Miami Beach vacation packages and discount hotel packages are available seasonally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Golden Glades
Holiday Inn North Miami
North Miami Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.