We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   148 NW 167th St, North Miami, FL 33169   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in North Miami
Crieff
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

To start, im not going to bash the location because it's the "Ghetto" it's not. The reason location was a downside was because we spent $30 taxi to get downtown, or $40 to South Beach, and we did this everyday. You could spend $2 to get Downtown on the bus, but it was more than an hour and a half. The amount we spent on travel was enough for us to check out early, but thats all. The room was well kept and clean, this was our first time in America( for Wrestlemania ! ) so adding tax on after everything was surprising but oh well. TV was old but worked fine, plenty of channel's. Shower was awesome, hairdryer was a bit tempremental and Air Con was a tad loud. Our room (228) was at the corner of the building next to a busy road, which woke us up in the mornings due to people feeling the need to honk their horns, as well as the busy hospital over the road.

There is a 7/11 and a gas station on either side, so snacks and drinks are no problem to get, as well has all your Fast Food chains a short walk down the road, we never used the pool, or seen anyone in it for that matter.

Breakfast was poor, bagels and cereal. We were never around at tea-time so no comment, there was a young guy on reception who went over and above(and working in a hotel myself, this is appreciated) he phoned us taxi's when we needed, and on one day when a taxi wasn't available, he phoned his friend to give us a lift! It was excellent service.

My last niggle is the music in the lobby, please change it, I felt as if i was in a psych ward!

As mentioned earlier, we checked out early due to distance from where we wanted to be costing us a bomb.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    15
    35
    26
    53
See reviews for
14
34
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I have stay at worst but have stay at better it was not a 150 a night motel but I paid it for the closest to were i was going, only two friendly staff memeber I meet was one of the house keeping crew but she was very limited on her english and the security guard was friendly and helpful. When to front desk and ask for change of a 10 dollar bill so I could get a soda and was told no. I only found one working ice machine and it was on floor 3 and my room was on floor 7 no internet in the room but thank God I have a smart phone. This place is good for someone that does not want to be around anything to do and wants just to have a place to sleep

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Miami hotels

Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Otherwise simply big, ugly and everything negative written by those who came before me and found it lacking in so many respects. Once perhaps, twenty years ago, it might have been grand, gorgeous and fun. Now it's beat up, neglected, tatty, and to be avoided. The water feature out front last functioned when Ponce de Leone stayed here. The pool is "closed for repairs" and appears to have been in that condition since 1958. Lobby? Huge, empty, dismal. Check-in was probably more pleasant at Bergen-Belsen back in the day. Curiously several of the employees spoke French. Curiously none were terribly friendly. Room's rack rate was $301 but I paid only $101 with tax for another $29.99 room. Yes, they will ding you $2.00 for a safe you may or may not use and then another $50.00 refundable deposit one hopes to see again on check-out. Which can't be soon enough. Breakfast? As described elsewhere bu t the coffee was good and hot. Juices cold and refreshing. Neither makes staying at "Holidays" worth while. Go elsewhere. Anywhere else.

Room Tip: #300 was quiet at the end of a hallway but chances of the "help" granting a specific room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Otherwise simply big, ugly and everything negative written by those who came before me and found it lacking in so many respects. Once perhaps, twenty years ago, it might have been grand, gorgeous and fun. Now it's beat up, neglected, tatty, and to be avoided. The water feature out front last functioned when Ponce de Leone stayed here. The pool is "closed for repairs" and appears to have been in that condition since 1958. Lobby? Huge, empty, dismal. Check-in was probably more pleasant at Bergen-Belsen back in the day. Curiously several of the employees spoke French. Curiously none were terribly friendly. Room's rack rate was $301 but I paid only $101 with tax for another $29.99 room. Yes, they will ding you $2.00 for a safe you may or may not use and then another $50.00 refundable deposit one hopes to see again on check-out. Which can't be soon enough. Breakfast? As described elsewhere bu the coffee was good and hot. Juices cold and refreshing. Neither makes staying at "Holidays" worth while. Go elsewhere. Anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a good stay at this hotel. We only needed a bed, wich was clean, and shower, wich was clean. We had a room at the 4th floor, no noise of any traffic, clean towels and sheets every day. So, no complains about that. The only thing you don't have to try is breakfast. You can get some coffee, tea or orange juice, a bagel with cream cheese, cereals with milk of cinnamon rolls. We tried it ones, but never did it again. The staff was very friendly and helpful. You get what you pay for. For this price you cannot expect more than a clean room and bathroom and towels.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

The hotel employs the most incompetent people i have ever seen.The rooms are very dirty.I was given a dirty room that was not cleaned and when i complained,they said they were overbooked and i should wait for someone to change the sheets!! Really?
The door locks are unreliable.My friend was locked out of his room and ended up missing his flight the next morning.The front desk guys are a joke.Especially,a gay guy named Andi and the another black guy with dread locks.They make fun of their guests.I saw it with my own eyes.Never take your family here ever.The manager doesn't care about the place and is always unavailable if you ask for her.I would never recommend this Hotel to anyone ever.STAY AWAY FOR YOUR OWN SAFETY AND HEALTH!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

So, we booked this hotel through a third party booking source and requested a non-smoking room. This was guaranteed through our source, but the hotel did not want to hold up their end of the bargain. When we asked if they had anything available in a non-smoking room, they said, "Nope, we are all full for tonight and if you want to know about the other two nights you are staying with us, please call back each morning." Suffering from severe allergies and asthma, this was not going to work out for me and my fiance as I would wake up with my eyes and throat swollen shut. We called the third party billing source and asked if they would cancel our reservation with the hotel and reserve another room elsewhere due to the smoke. The source said yes, but they called us back and said the hotel was unwilling to not charge us for the room we had only used as a place to sit in order to make all these phone calls. Eventually, I called the front desk and asked for the customer service or front end manager. Having worked in a hotel, I knew the hotel had fallen short on their reservations and that is why we were placed in a smoking room. She eventually was able to move us to a room that mysteriously became available all of a sudden. I know all she had to do was rearrange a few things that should have already been taken care of before we arrived. My fiance and I appreciated this very much.

Now for the cleanliness...It left much to be desired. There were stains all over in the hallways and both of the rooms we saw. There were stains in the bedding and the furniture in the room. The lobby appeared decent, but it had some kind of tiled flooring and nothing that was upholstered. The staff was not super rude, but not super cooperative either.

The continental breakfast left much to be desired as well. I couldn't eat there two out of three mornings after experiencing it the first morning we stayed.

My recommendation, if you can stay somewhere else, do. If you can't afford much else, pretend that you are camping because if not, it might gross you out.

Room Tip: I would specify non-smoking as much good as it will do you, but even for someone who smokes, I imagi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Golden Glades
Holiday Inn North Miami
North Miami Holiday Inn
Address: 148 NW 167th St, North Miami, FL 33169
Location: United States > Florida > North Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in North Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel in Miami is an excellent choice whether you are looking for a Miami vacation hot spot or traveling on business. The hotel prides itself in offering exceptional friendly and efficient service to all our vacationers and honored guests. You can expect the special privileges that come from staying at a fine hotel when you stay with us. The Holidays Golden Glades Hotel was honored in Washington D.C. with the 2008 Best of Miami award in the lodging category by the U.S. Local business Association. Our outstanding North Miami Beach location is ideal whether you fly in to Miami International or Ft. Lauderdale International Airport. Miami Beach vacation packages and discount hotel packages are available seasonally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holidays Golden Glades Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.