We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garbage Hotel Nasty Drug Area” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12210 Biscayne Boulevard, Bal Harbour Area, North Miami, FL 33181-2714   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in North Miami
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Garbage Hotel Nasty Drug Area”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Terrible, Disgusting, Dirty. Stayed there one night which was too long. Came in late on business. The entrance is nothing like the photo or the AAA rating. Sand garbage horrible. The front desk staff looked worn an non-caring. They looked up my reservation, and confirmed that it would be not near an elevator. I was given the key and would you know it, right next to an elevator. Opened the door to the room and what a musty moldy smell. The sliding door was open because you could hear the outside. I went to close it and it was a view of an alley where a drug deal could happen. The shower was nasty with mold and a bad caulking job. The toilet flushed and rose instead of going down. Nightmare. The Pool area roped off with caution tape. The restaurant was nasty and empty. The front desk said that its part of the hotel but not really. They were confused as to how to answer. The hallway carpet dirty and nasty. The staff is worn out and walk like zombies. It was too late to change hotels or anything. I had to take a test the next morning and still had to study. The area is unsafe with shady people walking around. The worse hotel I have ever been at. I would have rather slept in my car. Will never go again. Upon my departure I was asked to fill out a survey. Wrong thing to ask me. I blasted them. They responded that there was nothing I could do because I did not complain at the time. Now with that type of response, you only can expect that Best Western is poorly managed. They should change their name to Motel 6. Garbage Avoid this place. Unless you want to increase your chances of getting mugged, burglarized etc. Oh and I have pictures

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B W, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We apologize for not exceeding you expectations.

As you mention on your review the pictures may not look the same as we have upgraded our facilities to better satisfy our guests.

That said, we have added new pavers to our pool deck, driveway as well as side walk, we have also painted the entire building.

The fitness room has suffered a complete renovation as well.

We have a clear policy at check in, which states, if the guest is not complete satisfied with hotel accommodations, the guest can check out free of charge within the first ten minutes.
You did not bring any issues to our attention during your entire stay until check-out time; therefore we were not able to meet your demand for a full refund, as we don’t believe in sharing the cost of your stay with our other guests.

Again thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and we wish the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    187
    79
    18
    24
See reviews for
169
110
39
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We picked this hotel because of the location to relatives. We left pleased with our choice. Rooms were clean, lobby impressive as this hotel is undergoing upgrades. We ate breakfast at the Denny's across the street and found some buys at the Ross for Less store - also across the street. About 20 min. drive down Collins to Miami Beach or Aventura Mall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B W, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are glad to hear that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay. We certainly hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

very pleasant stay at a reasonable price. standard cable TV with a decent selection of channels, some HD; WiFi; clean. comfortable, king-sized bed, spacious room, and good-quality towels/linens; microwave and refrigerator with freezer; desk; iron/ironing board; lighted balcony; swimming pool and other features i didn't use. stores/eateries nearby, located in a heavy traffic area but quite manageable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B W, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are glad to hear that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay. We certainly hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This past weekend was the third time my family stayed at the Best Western Windsor Plus, a three star hotel. However, the rates are continuing to rise. This is an old hotel that has been renovated. I must admit that each time the rooms past my cleaning inspections. Unfortunately for us, we didn’t not reserve our rooms in advance (not sure if it would have mattered) and paid the penalty for it. Friday night we was charge $152.00 excluding taxes and Saturday night we was charge $142.00 excluding taxes. The Courtyard at the Marriott (a five star hotel with free breakfast included) was only about $30.00 more per night. The three times we stayed here, we selected this hotel for convenience because we have a college student that attends the Johnson and Wales University and we prefer to be close to the campus. It would be nice if Best Western partnered with JWU to offer the parents a discounted rate. Nevertheless, we decided to try somewhere else in the future. We found a Hampton Inn, 1000 S. Federal Highway, Hallandale Beach, FL which is 6.5 miles from JWU that is more reasonable and includes a free hot breakfast. We just wanted to share this information with others (especially JWU parents) that are looking for a nice, clean hotel for a good rate. The extra money we will save by booking a cheaper hotel will be contributed it our college student!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great place to stay for overnight connections and not too far from the airport. Its also in a good location that has many places to see and go. The room was very nice and comfortable. Would recommend for anyone to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B W, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are glad to hear that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay. We certainly hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The staff is very nice, principally Pete that works in the morning in the reception.
Room clean, bed comfortable and very nice localization, next to Whole Foods, Ross, Walgreens and Target.
The negative point is that the pool area was under construction and improvements for more than 3 days and also just 1 elevator was working.
Nevertheless, I would recommend this hotel for Miami visits.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B W, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review, we are glad we were able to make your stay in South Florida a comfortable and convenient one. We apologize for any inconvenience regarding our pool renovation. We were working on our appearance and we are happy to inform you we have finished installing new pavers on our pool deck.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

In a room with barely the room for the bed they stuck a chaise lounge. The worst part is that the house keepers seem to think that it's okay to talk loudly and visit with each other in the hallways while guests are trying to sleep and well before 0900 on a Sunday.

Room Tip: Speak Spanish
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B W, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a survey regards your stay with us.
We apologize for not meeting your expectations, as we held a meeting with the housekeeper’s supervisor regards to the noise level specially in the morning, keeping in mind the cleaning crew arrives at the hotel at 9:00 AM.

Again please accept our apologies for the inconvenience and we hope you will give us a second chance.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Inn

Address: 12210 Biscayne Boulevard, Bal Harbour Area, North Miami, FL 33181-2714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > North Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in North Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Windsor Hotel North Miami
Best Western North Miami
North Miami Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.