We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a lot better...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shell Factory & Nature Park

Shell Factory & Nature Park
2787 North Tamiami Trail, North Fort Myers, FL 33903
+1 239-995-2141
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: #1 Family Destination! Spend the day with us! Offering everything from Shells, Coral, Sea Life, Christmas Collectibles, Fine Jewelry & Shell Jewelry,Shell Art & the perfect Gifts,The Beach Shack-Beach clothing and toys,Betty Boop Cafe',The Game Room with live crab races daily!,3 Museums with FREE ADMISSION!,NEW IN 2014 THE SOARING EAGLE ZIP LINE! $8.50 PP INCLUDES TAX! The Nature Park with Petty Farm plus much more!,The Fun Park with Paddle Boats,Mini Golf plus much more!,Doggy Heaven Park, Home of The SW Florida Weiner Dogs & Suncoast Dock Dogs-bring your pet!,Capt'n Fishbones Restaurant featuring AYCE Fish Fry!Inquire about holding your next function with us, from small birthday parties to large conferences! "There's Always Something Happening Here!"
Savannah
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Could be a lot better...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We took our two young children to the Shell Factory while visiting relatives. While this place seemingly has good intentions, they could do a lot better for the animals under their care. Although my children loved the animals, we found their living conditions to be crude to the point of just plain terrible. For example, one of their cat exhibits has a tiny bush in the middle surrounded by dirt and a raised concrete/wood structure - how is that enjoyable/beneficial to the animals?

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    131
    94
    58
    45
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lots of Space but Needs TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I visited the Shell Factory on a recent visit and found the factory to be quite large and extensive but erratic in its choices for shopping.
One area of choice would blend over into another area which made for a continuous flow of items to look at and was a bit overwhelming. For no entrance fee, it is worth one's time but is certainly an attraction/factory that is in need of renovation.
One item of interest is a separate bathroom for little gulls and buoys which I accidently walked into. There are regular facilities for big gulls/buoys available.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Shell Factory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

It is a tourist trap that I just happen to love! Got nothing else to do while staying in the Ft. Myers area, go here. On Tuesdays in the back parking lot, they have a flea market outdoors set up with just about anything you could think of from "yard-sale" items, to serious collectors items. Also lots of fruit and veg for sale during the Tuesday Flea Market.
There is also the Nature Park, which I have not experienced, which some people would like (it you are not expecting much). There's a water feature where you can ride bumper boats for feed the turtles and fish!!! Fishbone's is a great restaurant for seafood and is between the bumper boats and the main building for the SHELL FACTORY! Inside the 'main' building', you can find All Year Around Christmas, A Pirate's Cave, Animal Museum (they be all stuffed), a small arcade that you exchange .25 cents for one token. Many games to play (Skeetball is my favorite). One 'ticket' that you win at some of the games, is only 1 solid penny (which can be spent at the Shell Factory). There is a large toy area, t-shirts, watch Fudge being made, eat at Subway, United States Post Offices, a small Halloween room, but the BIG draw is the SEA SHELLS and CREATURES that they sell!
The Shell Factory is free BUT The Nature Park is not.
Don't expect a major attraction (like that of the Orlando or Tampa area). This place has been around for about 60 years or so.
A good place for families and those in need of just something to do.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Shell Factory Nature Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This review is in regard to the nature park only. I've been taking my daughter here for years. Its a good stop if you are travelling around the Fort Myers area and looking for something to do with the little ones. You can spend about 2-3 hours here no problem (plus other attractions at the shell park). Most of the animals are from FL, and Central/South America, though they do have camels and a Zebra. Their is a petting area for the little ones, and Pony/Camel rides on some days. Their is also a touch area that lets the little ones (and adults) touch various animals such as a hedgehog, starfish, lizards etc. but it runs on a half hour schedule so make sure you plan ahead. My personnel favorite has always been the walkthrough aviary, you just never know what you will see in there. It seems like every time I visit their is a new surprise. Its $12 for adults, so it is a bit pricey and the park is just a bit worn, but every time I go I see employees and volunteers working very hard taking care of the animals and facilities. See if you can find a coupon online, or the SW FL coupon books. If you go in the hotter months, make sure you use sun block, it can get pretty hot there, and their is little shade. My only complaint on my recent visit was the line to get in. It seemed like every person that entered took 5-10 minutes to pay, get the map etc. Their was only 1 gal at the counter so a long line formed. This was only on my recent visit, and has never been an issue before.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fun for the young.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We took our 4 & 5 year old grand daughters there and had a good time. The store is full of shells and shell art and other FL. souvenirs. Different theme rooms and a small arcade keep it interesting. Outside, the bumper boats are fun and reasonably priced. The zoo needs some TLC. I would rate it excellent if they improve the outdoor areas.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shell Factory & Nature Park also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shell Factory & Nature Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shell Factory & Nature Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.