We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jensen's "On the Gulf"

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Captiva Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jensen's "On the Gulf"
Save
You added Jensen's "On the Gulf" to your Saves list
15300 Captiva Dr, Captiva Island, FL 33924   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Just had 5 nights following several weeks in Marco Island. Just what we needed total relaxation. We stayed in North Beach which was spotlessly clean, stunning views and everything one needs for a vacation on the beach. Minutes away from the ocean, beautiful sunsets watched from our balcony. Watched dolphins swimming in the sea early morning, saw manatees down at Jensons Marina. Everything you needed beach chairs, sunbeds, parasols etc. The Jenson family were great, very welcoming and totally laid back however quick to respond when one morning the wifi wasn't working and they had it back on as soon as we mentioned it. They just leave you to enjoy the peace, no housekeepers knocking early morning but if you need anything they are there.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
82
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northport, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

right on the gulf-privacy with a price-wonderful people run it-if you are looking to relax this really is the place-captiva is laid back and beautiful-leave all your dress up clothes home-the island is made for shorts t-shirts and flip flops-jensens fits right in-we stayed at the beach house and it was wonderful-right on the beach-private and comfortable-wasn't the fanciest place we've stayed but clean comfortable if a bit pricey-if you go try a boat ride from their marina-you'll see dolphins and manatees-the only reason it doesn't get a full 5 stars is the price-but with only positives otherwise you can tolerate it

Room Tip: if you need 2 bedrooms the beach house is unbeatable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting Jensen's on the Gulf for 23 years. We like to stay in the beach side # 2 or 3 are our favorite units. They are perfect for family or just a couple and the view is outstanding. Complimentary beach chairs and gear is really nice. The discount on boat rental was also appreciated. We recommend a week long stay. You have plenty of dining options nearby. We loved Keylime Bistro, RC Otters and Mucky Duck the best. We were sad to leave today but don't worry we will be back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My girlfriend and I just came back from our first visit to Jensen's On the Gulf.We stayed on the gulf in #1 on the beach. Perfectly adequate accommodations for two.Your staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We rented a pontoon that was in immaculate condition (Brand New) We were given a quick yet thorough run down on operation of boat and given an easy to understand map of the bay (Thanks Jack.) We had a blast! Later that evening we checked out guitars jamming at the marina. JUST AWESOME!!!! From one Jensen to Another Thanks! Making plans for next year to stay at Jensen's with my two sisters and their family's. CAN'T WAIT

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Yes…that place you go to and never want to leave. My wife and I stayed for 3 short nights in the P.O. Box last week. I cannot say enough positive things about this special place on the Gulf and the staff. Check-in at the Marina was smooth and Greg was so helpful at the Gulf spot to settle us in. The P.O. Box is perfect for a couple and they have thought about absolutely everything you might need and then they leave you alone. That beautiful beach is only a 30 second walk away and a few short blocks away are several restaurants to choose from. It only took us till our first morning on Captiva to realize that we did not want to go back home ever again. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Do bring your coffee and the fixings for it. I brought filters with me, but they already had some in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just returned from week at Jensens on the beach.. Everything is there for the beach, chairs, towels, shell nets, umbrellas, etc... We fished from beach and caught fish every time, so fun.
The view was amazing from our room, Beach house #2.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is the only place in Captive that is right on the beach. The Jensen family was most hospitable and their property is clean, quiet & beautiful. We stayed 6 days in the condo, South Beach Unit #3 which looked out directly onto the beach. The property features 5 cottages of various size and the 5 unit condo which is some 20 ft from the beach. Our unit was on the 2nd floor: kitchen with range, oven, microwave, full refrigerator & coffee maker. One bath, 2 bedrooms,living room & small dining area. Room had WiFi connection & cable TV. Everything was VERY clean & newer. Towels are provided, there is a laundry room on the first floor with free machines & detergent. Beach chairs, umbrellas & some beach toys are all available at no charge. No need to get up early & stake claim for a spot on the beach. It is huge, clean & more frequently than not you will be the only ones there. Sea birds abound. Osprey & Frigatebirds cross with the Pelicans, Black Skimmers & Royal Terns scooping out their meals between the dancing dolphin not 10 yards offshore.
There are many excellent restaurants within a 10 minute walk. The fish dishes are creative & fantastic. We dined at a number of great places including: Key Lime Bistro (small & outdoors, so do reserve, mouth watering bacon wrapped scallops ), RC Otters ( small, with a very tasty Uncle Hank's Grouper Ruben & local beers on tap for lunch), Sunshine Seafood Cafe (small, outdoor deck & awesome paella), Doc Ford's (large dining area, terrific mojitos & deep water Mahi Mahi, a bit further down the road, located in the South Seas Resort) and the Old Captiva Inn located on the Tween the Waters property (to die for creamy crab bisque & a unique grilled snapper wrapped in phyllo dough,also a larger restaurant, white table cloth type, reservations are recommended, you will need to drive to get here).
The Bubble Room is also a nice place for the children; loads of toys & memorabilia throughout. One place we regretted stopping by was the Captive Pizza & Yogurt next to Key Lime Bistro. The pizza seemed to have been made in a Chuck E Cheeze Play Oven, antipasto wasn't much better.
You might want to stop at the Publix in Ft Meyers prior to driving to Captiva or Jerry's Market on Sanibel or even the Bailey's Center Market on Sanibel just prior to Captiva to purchase your milk, bread, butter, eggs, coffee & whatever else you will need when not dining out. The 2 groceries on Captiva are very expensive, especially the one at Chadwick Square across from the South Seas Resort, where an 18oz bottle of club soda will set you back to almost Yankee Stadium prices ($4.00).
There are many nature related places in the area & Jensen's Marina a 3 minute walk away has boats to rent, free fishing gear to use on the beach & manatees that come right up to the dock. Red Sox fans will appreciate the small Ted Williams fishing gear display along with 2 checks signed by Theodore himself.
Jensen's On The Gulf is definitely on our "must go back" list. There is just too much to like going on here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jensen's "On the Gulf"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jensen's "On the Gulf"

Address: 15300 Captiva Dr, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captiva Island's only small resort directly on the beach. Our intimate setting & front row seat to glorious sunsets will take your breath away. Reserve one of our beach homes, cottages or view suites and learn the secret of the best location on Captiva! Walk to everything including our Jensen's Twin Palm Resort & Marina on Captiva Island's bayside for Boating & Fishing. Join the generations who've returned in the last 30+ years the Jensens have preserved this natural beauty on Captiva Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jensen`s `On The Gulf` Hotel Captiva Island
Jensen's "On The Gulf" Captiva Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jensen's "On the Gulf", register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.