We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexiacan Food!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cantina Captiva

Cantina Captiva
14970 Captiva Dr, Captiva Island, FL 33924
239-472-0248
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Mexiacan Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We are from Oklahoma and Texas, so we eat a lot of Mexican food. This is really fresh and good.
Salsa made fresh daily, guacamole made fresh! We both had shrimp tacos, so good!!!!
We also had mango margaritas!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    145
    66
    38
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parrish, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stumbled across Cantina Captiva and decided to give it a try. It was a good choice! It's a fun little place with good food and fast service. Perhaps too fast, though. We got our entrees before we had finished our appetizers - seriously, about 8 minutes after we ordered. Other than that, the prices were good and the wait staff was very pleasant and attentive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Popular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had to wait for a table as people go there for the sunset, as it is set on the beach front. You can sit outside while waiting and they shout your name when ready . Good quality pub like food, which is what my husband likes. The fish was really nice and the steak also very good. Lovely setting and also very friendly staff.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice meal and experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We really enjoyed the food and the service here. I would have to say that my meal at Cantina was the best on Captiva island, and the only restaurant I would return to on the island.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Fun place with great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We return back to Sanibel/Captiva every year and the Cantina Captiva is always on our list of must visit! We love seeing our dollar bill stapled on the ceiling and always sit at the table under it! The Shrimp Quesadilla is my favorite and my husband loves their burritos. May 2014 we'll be back for sure! Always a fun place to enjoy a good meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Captiva also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cantina Captiva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantina Captiva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.