We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ADORABLE!!! Great service, wonderful nachos!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cantina Captiva

Cantina Captiva
14970 Captiva Dr, Captiva Island, FL 33924
239-472-0248
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Orlando
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“ADORABLE!!! Great service, wonderful nachos!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

There is nothing better than enjoying a pitcher of margaritas, your dogs at your feet, your feet in the sand....A wonderful, island-style casual spot!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    145
    66
    38
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“good food in a dive atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

if you need a break from all of the coast type food, this mexican will give it to you (you can still get fish tacos and enchiladas). atmosphere is somewhat of a dive.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good change of pace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We wanted something besides the usual fish, so we went to Cantina Captiva. The atmosphere was a bit cramped, and it had a bit of a dive bar feel, but not really in a bad way. My daughter had quesadillas and enjoyed them. The nachos were hot and good. My son had a burrito and I had a chimicanga. It was well made with not too much tortilla and fried just right. It was a rice/bean based mexican, not really a Tex Mex style, but still done very well. The wait staff was attentive, if a bit slow. Some folks might find Cantina Captiva a bit limted on space, but I thought it had character. I'd go again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Loved our meal here. We had a really nice waiter and great service. We will definately return on our next visit!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were sat right away. Then it went downhill from there. Our server forgot to refill our drinks, only brought part of our order out, forgot our sides of sour cream and jalapenos. Small amount of food for the price. The burrito was mostly filled with rice than meat and average tacos for the price. When we asked to speak to a manager no one was available. Even though this is the only Mexican restaurant around, it is not worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Captiva also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cantina Captiva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantina Captiva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.