We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and enjoy a good meal on Captiva” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captiva House

Captiva House
15951 Captiva Drive, Captiva Island, FL 33924
+1 239-472-5161
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Captiva House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 2 miles north of Blind Pass Bridge
Description: Welcome to the historic, award-winning Captiva House Restaurant, Gulf-front at the legendary, historic 'Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa. We invite you to sample our delicious New Florida cuisine, served with our gorgeous Captiva Island sunsets. Come, feast your eyes and your appetites tonight.
Orchard Lake, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy a good meal on Captiva”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

It was a long day so we dined at Old Captiva House around 8:30pm on a Tuesday night. The atmosphere was warm and had an updated sophisticated feel to it. It was very clean which is something that is not always found on Captiva. Considering the prices are comparable to the outside tourist traps, this place is great and in comparison a bargain! Members of our group enjoyed grouper, snapper, filet mignon and ahi tuna. Everything was fresh, flavorful and great however the filet was superb and the ahi with a ginger sauce were the hits of the table. Don't miss the Old Captiva House!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    124
    57
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ada, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My daughters especially love eating here, it is so pretty inside! Very traditional, beautiful linens and chairs and tin painted ceiling. The salad is delicious, all wrapped up in a long cucumber slice - like it's own little salad nest. Very good cranberry vinaigrette dressing. Stuffed shrimp were delicious appetizer and the crab cakes were the best on the island - the best - fantastic. Can't say enough about the crab cakes! I had the special of the night - Pompano Piccata - delicious sauce, the fish was a little over cooked, though. My daughter loved her fillet - said it was her favorite dinner of our week on Sanibel/Captiva. For dessert was the always wonderful, incredibly delicious and rich Tuxedo Cake. I hope they always keep it on the menu, because we will be back next year to enjoy it again! Lovely dinner, nice service, million dollar view.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“quiet dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

great food, great atmosphere; very quiet dinner; outside dining is always a plus; piano player was a great touch;

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Maine
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL FOOD AND SERVICE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We would specifically like to mention a few members of the superb staff: Eric, Vilius, Mary, Dana, Alex, Robert, but really everyone there is gracious and kind. The food is out of this world.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food was disgusting.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Gross!!!!!!!! Disgusting food. Save your money!!!! I ordered veal and it came in a bowl with BBQ sauce all over it. 30 dollars spent and 1 bite taken. Disgusting

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captiva House also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captiva House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captiva House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.