We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for sunset” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mucky Duck

The Mucky Duck
11546 Andy Rosse Ln, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6005
239-472-3434
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $17 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place for sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a great place for sunset you need to get there early at least 30 minutes before the sun set because parking is limited the food was okay

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    463
    236
    124
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“English Pub, average food in an outstanding setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

The pub is located on the edge of the beach. An outstanding view, especially the sunset over the ocean. This evening, we were entertained by a singer with an extensive repertoire. The food is OK. We tried fish and chips-good, cesar salad-good, oysters (not recommended) and a sea food platter-OK. This, in reality, was a fish, prawn and scallop platter, served with vegetables and garlic mashed potatoes. Friendly service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“The duck is a must on Captiva”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Much anticipation lead to my first visit to the Mucky Duck, and I can say I wasn't disappointed. I was surprised at how small this restaurant is, and now I understand the long wait times for a table. Absolutely stunning gulf sunset views. Service was good and in good humour. Had some kind of fish (three-tail?) with a very delicious fruit salsa. Overall the food was not stunning, but still decent. I look forward to my next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Steamed shrimp was tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Visited The Mucky Duck on Captiva for the first time. Great view and the air conditioning inside was much appreciated on a very hot day. Enjoyed the steamed shrimp and there was enough for the two of us for lunch. Also had a cup of chowder which was surprisingly good (being from New England we are fussy about chowder). Would like to go back again at sunset next trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“MY FAVORITE CAPTIVA RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I love the atmosphere, on the beach, great sunsets, outside tables to wait and listen to music and outside bar. THE MOST Delicious seafood I have ever eaten. I like to go there a lot and try all the daily seafood specials....or grab the seafood sampler...over 5 stars in my book. THE keylime pie or the raspberry sundae is to die for......

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mucky Duck also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Mucky Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mucky Duck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.