We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place, but not a favorite either.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bubble Room Restaurant

The Bubble Room Restaurant
15001 Captiva Dr, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6003
239-472-5558
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Clarion, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not a bad place, but not a favorite either.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We've eaten here twice, and it's fine. It's a really cute place........whimsical! But the food is just average. I would say it's one of those places you probably have to try once, but I won't be going back. It's loud, and crowded. The gift emporium is fun!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    530
    383
    194
    183
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Come here for the cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We come to the Bubble Room each trip just for the Orange Crunch cake. This year we took the kids. We got the Orange Crunch, Red Velvet, and Chocolate cake. Everyone enjoyed their cake but the Orange crunch was by far the favorite. The slices are still big, but they are definitely smaller than last year.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Interesting place but just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stopped in for a late lunch. Service and food was fine - but nothing special - average. We were talked into having a slice of cake. The server made a lot of fuss over the house specialty cake that apparently had received awards. It was ok but over rated. We also had a slice. Of the cheesecake which was actually pretty good.
The decor (atmosphere ) is what makes the place interesting for a single visit. Lots of old toys and stuff. Again, good for one visit but that would be it.
Prices were reasonable though so can't complain too much.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Burst my bubble”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Food was average and over priced. Our server was beyond terrible. Had to ask 2 other servers to find him so we could get the check. The famed bubble bread was very good but the junky. dusty, decor and terrible service overshadows anything good. Definitely won't be going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“No, you DON'T have to go....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The food and service were mediocre, but certainly nothing approaching special. Once inside, you are greeted with a lot of severely dated 'memorabilia' (code for 'junk'). Black and white pictures of celebrities litter the walls, but none signed - what's the point? With so many establishments so close that offer outdoor seating, I would choose one of those next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bubble Room Restaurant also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Bubble Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bubble Room Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.