We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bubble Room Restaurant

The Bubble Room Restaurant
15001 Captiva Dr, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6003
239-472-5558
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“an experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Interesting decor. Entrees were good. Big portions. Is a landmark. Had a very good waiter who was outgoing but professional.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    465
    347
    172
    169
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great atmoshpere, food pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The desserts are to die for! Ambiance is fun and eclectic but the food was so-so. If you are on the island, you have to go at least once.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouthport
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quirky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The Bubble Room is a quirky and interesting place. We were touted on this place and We were not disappointed. We had a blackened salmon and an enormous bowel of chips
Our service was quick and the server was pleasant.

The environment is somewhat dark and a bit musty and our chairs were a tad uncomfortable. We did not have the highly touted desserts as the food portions were generous enough.

Kids would enjoy the antique environment, Portions are very generous. Cost for lunch was a bit high but consistent with island restuarants.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Irritations exceed fun”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Yes, it is a fun place for kids. And we also somehow like the dusty interior compiled from old toys.

However, we will not come back anymore after yesterday's experience.

We (two families, 2 toddlers) sat in a small booth that was iced by an air condition, making us freeze. We had to tell 3 times, the staff and "the Manager" tried 3 times and only after following our advise to point the remote closer to the unit, it finally went off. Completely unprofessional.

The food service is quick, but the only good thing served was the complimentary bubble bread. Everything else was tasteless, not fresh, not hot, crowded on plates - pretty much everything that has the potential to make your dinner unpleasant. If somebody wants this place to exist another 35 years, they will have to make some srious changes.

The evening was rounded up by a bill that you would expect in a place 2 categories better.

Oh - some say the desserts are worth a try, but after this story I was absolutely not keen on it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lots of atmosphere; desserts are superb!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Bigger on inside than it appears; lots of ambience and stuff all over the walls to keep all family members talking; this appears to be one of those "must-see" restaurants on Sanibel/Captiva Island; food is very good but a little over-priced. Must try a selection from their dessert cart. You can't go wrong with any of them.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bubble Room Restaurant also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Bubble Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bubble Room Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.