We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect way to spend the morning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captiva Beach

Captiva Beach
14790 Captiva Drive, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Boonton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“perfect way to spend the morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

this beach is splendid. our cottage was literally steps away. the gulf waters are warmer and calmer which will appeal to those who may be put-off by the more turbulent and frigid ocean (that's me for sure....) captiva is known for its shelling. there are an abundance of them which is not the case everywhere. if we did not have other plans for the weekend I could easily have spend all my time shelling with my girlfriends. we walked for miles then wound up at the mucky duck for lunch...and walked back again. a perfect day. best beach ever !

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    49
    19
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Tranquil and nice, it was a little choppy when we went but nice beach to relax at. Can't compare with South Florida Beaches or Naples beach

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Calm waters and a beautiful beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Once you get here , you are not going to want to leave! It's one of the calmest , beautiful places that I have been . The only thing is that the parking is limited so you are best off coming early or later in the day so you have a better chance of finding a place to park.
There are plenty of seashells to collect so do bring your goggles and even snorkel gear to find some of nature's sea treasures . The sand is course on top and gets softer towards the water so you get the contrast of the two. What's the best is that the water is calm and clean ...a paradise ! You will certainly enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Scenery!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This beach is a must to bring your loved ones and feel that warm sand pass between your toes ,feel the warm ocean swirling round your feet as you gaze into each others eyes.This is truly captivating scenery at this wonderful place in paradise.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtice, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Captiva Shores”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

3rd year at Captiva, love it! Already booked for next year. Parking is limited, unless you rent there. Island is small, if you are at the north end, you can walk to everything! You can catch both sunrise and sunsets and not travel very far. The property I stay at, you can get both. Doesn't stop me from driving down to a Marina, Bar or Restaurant and taking pics there. Shelling is wonderful. Very laid back. Crab races are fun ;-p.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captiva Beach also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captiva Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captiva Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.