We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent shelling / walking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captiva Beach

Captiva Beach
14790 Captiva Drive, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Redmond, Oregon
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent shelling / walking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you want to walk, you can walk from the northern tip to past the Mucky Duck easily (if you can avoid the Sanibel stoop). If you can't avoid the Sanibel stoop, the shelling is really good. The beach is a low traffic beach due to the remoteness of northern Captiva.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    61
    19
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Beautiful Peaceful Clean Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went to this beach on New Years Day, WOW, you could'nt wish for anything more!
It was quiet, clean, lovely sand and good for shelling. This beach is at the end of the road, quite literally.... passed a sign that said end of the road in 350ft!! There is a smallish carpark that we had to wait to get a space, the kind American family that left the space also gave us their parking ticket with 6 hours left on it! (we did a good dead and passed it on again after!) Parking is $2/hr and there are toilets and rubbish bins to use. Although it was a smallish carpark it also means a uncrowded beach ;-)
Small shells are in abundance here although I expect larger shells can be found at low tide. The water looked lovely for swimming as the water was not cold although we watched several fishermen along the beach and one caught a baby hammerhead shark, be careful!! Further along the beach there is a English pub where you can grab a quick pint and also yolo watersports where you can hire jetski, do parasending etc great for the kids to do whilst you take it easy relaxing!
After visiting many beaches around the world this one is a absolute gem, not commercialised in any way.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the best of FL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

You'd be amazed at the big names that have bought up the houses in Captiva. The rich and famous from all around the world know a gem when they see it. 10 years ago it seems that many of my friends had never heard of Captiva. The popularity is growing more than I like, but it still feels like home-away-from-home to my family. If you want an isolated feel, stay away from the Andy Rossee Lane area and rent a house that's beachfront about a mile before you get to all that. We only had one or two people walk in front of our rental. It was wonderful!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great shells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We couldn't get parking at any of Sanibels beaches parking areas, so ended up on Captiva end of the road by the post office. Parking was 2$ an hour, amazing shells, less crowded. We went to Bowmans beach on Sanibel afterwards and were let down, overcrowded and less shells.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Shells, shells and shells!!! Calm water, mellow scene, simply amazing sunsets. Can't go wrong when you visit Captiva.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captiva Beach also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captiva Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captiva Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.