We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Island Low Tech Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jensen's Twin Palm Resort and Marina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Captiva Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jensen's Twin Palm Resort and Marina
Save Saved
You added Jensen's Twin Palm Resort and Marina to your Saves list
15107 Captiva Drive, Captiva Island, FL 33924   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Captiva Island
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Island Low Tech Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Not everyone is going to like not having daily maid service, but this is an excellent, low key value, I had to add a review. I'm in a sweet one bedroom kitchenette, within a 5 minute walk of 4 or 5 restaurants, 10 minutes walk across the street to the Gulf, and directly on the bay. I can't tell you how nice the people who work here are.

Room Tip: Sorry, but I'm knowledgeable enough, but ours didn't have any water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I would stay here again in a heartbeat. We were in cottage number five, a two-bedroom, one bath unit with a nice screened porch, kitchen with all everything you need, and living area. Usually when I visit Captiva (or Sanibel) I stay on the beach so this was first - and I loved it. Each morning, we'd wake up and head over to the docks with our coffee, watch the manatees and the sunrise, it was magical. You are within walking distance of 'downtown' Captiva, with all the shops and great restaurants, and the beach is a short four minute walk. If you're a boater, this place is heaven. If you love the water, this place is heaven. If you love serenity and seeing those gentle giants (manatees), this is the place to be. The Jensen Brothers were so helpful and so hospitable, we have already planned our return trip. The unit was clean and simple. If you want a hair dryer or any extras like shampoo, bring it. I got good wi-fi reception for my computer, too. You can grill out on their bar-b-ques by the water, get what you need from their store, rent a charter, book a sunset cruise or dolphin or shelling excursion...the boys will hook you up with anything you want. Each evening, we'd walk back over to the docks, watch the herds of manatees, with our cocktails in hand, and enjoy the colorful clouds as the sun set. You can also walk over to the beach, bring a towel to sit on and have a front row seat to the sun setting over the Gulf. Your choice! This resort is great for famiies, plenty of room, lots to see and explore. Very low key, laid back, island lifestyle at its best. The sunset cruise, by the way, is awesome. You'll see tons of dolphins flipping and jumping in the wake! Thank you Jensen brothers for a most wonderful Captiva experience. Hope to see you soon. Do not hesitate to book this place. I travel frequently and if you're looking for no frills, easy access to boating, fishing, shelling, relaxing...this is your home away from home. I didn't give this resort five stars because I reserve five stars for places like the Ritz or Waldorf with oodles of amenities - but this place was so centrally located and the service was so outstanding, I was tempted to break my own rules.

Room Tip: We were in cottage number five which was close to the road, if you want less road noise, stay closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We hired a boat which unfortunately was when the wind was up from Hurricaine Sandy. This meant the ride was rough when we got out to sea, which is not the fault of Jensens, they wanted us to experience what we could and came back to port when we asked the captain to. Very obliging and helpful and would definitely return.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent last wee-end with my family (2 nights) at Jensen's Twim Palm Resort Marina.
That place is like paradise to me, or to anybody who is into fishing and/or boating.
The rooms are clean and few yards away from the marina and from the shop, where you can buy all sort of fishing gear, live baits..... and conveniently charge them to your room! People are friendly and you honestly feel at home since you step in the resort.
We went out on a boat, 18 ft, nice engine but the sea was a bit choppy and came back in an hour. BTW, despite the short trip, we saw dolphins jumping around the boat, much closer than what you can see at SeaWorld! We started to fish from the dock of the marina, and a part from small catches, we managed to fish a bonnethead shark! My son (9 yrs old) was so excited that we continued fishing also after dinner, at night! There are also plenty of snooks swimming around, but you need professional gear to catch them (ie 50 lbs or more line!)
If you prefer the beach, it is just 5 minutes walking, on the Gulf of Mexico side. nearby you have a grocery shop, very convenient and not too far Starbucks.
I cannot recommend a better place. For me it is better than the Keys. I will go back in a matter of months!

Room Tip: My room was N. 10, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and the patio: PERFECT!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

This marina has a number of cottages to rent. Ours was extremely spacious. They are lovely for a quiet break, fitted out with enough amenities for sleeping and making your own meals, should you so wish. The cabins are located just by the marina. Lots of fishing activities and boat rides available.

Dave, the owner, is a real happy go lucky guy always ready for a laugh

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

As others have written, this is just a perfect spot to relax, see the Manatees and "chill". Captiva is a wonderful island with a great beach and restaurants and Jensen's is close to them all - but not in the middle of it so when you go back to your cottage you're on your own again in peace and quite. The staff was wonderful, the cottage was perfectly comfortable, clean and modern throughout. And the manatees were putting on a great display under the dock. I'd love to go back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

At the last minute we decided to call Jensen's to see if we could get a private boat trip to the outer islands. Lucky us - Captain Lamar was available to take us out for a 3 hour trip. Our idea was to go to the outer island for some shelling, but we got so much more! As we were heading onto the shore of North Captiva Island, Lamar spotted some manatee. So we decided to get into the water and see if we could get a bit closer. Lamar stayed in the boat and helped us keep an eye on where they were surfacing, and we ended up within a foot of a very friendly manatee! It was awesome!

I can't imagine what made the previous reviewer say what he did about Captain Lamar - he was very knowledgeable about the area, friendly and helpful. Honestly sounds like the reviewer may have been having a bad day or was overly sensitive about something (note - we also had children with us).

Thanks again Lamar for a day none of us will ever forget! And, I'll be coming back to try your grilled foie gras some day :-)

Room Tip: This review is only for the boat trips - we didn't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jensen's Twin Palm Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jensen's Twin Palm Resort and Marina

Address: 15107 Captiva Drive, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jensen's Twin Palm Resort and Marina offers cottages and apartments in our historical bayside marina setting.Family owned and operated, Jensen's Twin Palm Resort and Marina provides a variety of accommodations on our bayside property located directly on the waters of Pine Island Sound. Each of our lodgings hosts a complete kitchen. We have spectacular sunrises and nightly evening stargazing, great fishing, boat rentals, "island car" rentals, bait and tackle, water taxi services, charter guide recommendations, and peace and relaxation.And you also may wish to check into our family's other resort, Jensen's On The Gulf...comfort and relaxation on the Gulf of Mexico side of Captiva Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jensen`s Twin Palm Cottages And Marina Hotel Captiva Island
Jensen's Twin Palm Resort And Marina Captiva Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jensen's Twin Palm Resort and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.