We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jensen's Twin Palm Resort and Marina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Captiva Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jensen's Twin Palm Resort and Marina
Save
You added Jensen's Twin Palm Resort and Marina to your Saves list
15107 Captiva Drive, Captiva Island, FL 33924   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Weston, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent last wee-end with my family (2 nights) at Jensen's Twim Palm Resort Marina.
That place is like paradise to me, or to anybody who is into fishing and/or boating.
The rooms are clean and few yards away from the marina and from the shop, where you can buy all sort of fishing gear, live baits..... and conveniently charge them to your room! People are friendly and you honestly feel at home since you step in the resort.
We went out on a boat, 18 ft, nice engine but the sea was a bit choppy and came back in an hour. BTW, despite the short trip, we saw dolphins jumping around the boat, much closer than what you can see at SeaWorld! We started to fish from the dock of the marina, and a part from small catches, we managed to fish a bonnethead shark! My son (9 yrs old) was so excited that we continued fishing also after dinner, at night! There are also plenty of snooks swimming around, but you need professional gear to catch them (ie 50 lbs or more line!)
If you prefer the beach, it is just 5 minutes walking, on the Gulf of Mexico side. nearby you have a grocery shop, very convenient and not too far Starbucks.
I cannot recommend a better place. For me it is better than the Keys. I will go back in a matter of months!

Room Tip: My room was N. 10, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and the patio: PERFECT!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

This marina has a number of cottages to rent. Ours was extremely spacious. They are lovely for a quiet break, fitted out with enough amenities for sleeping and making your own meals, should you so wish. The cabins are located just by the marina. Lots of fishing activities and boat rides available.

Dave, the owner, is a real happy go lucky guy always ready for a laugh

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

As others have written, this is just a perfect spot to relax, see the Manatees and "chill". Captiva is a wonderful island with a great beach and restaurants and Jensen's is close to them all - but not in the middle of it so when you go back to your cottage you're on your own again in peace and quite. The staff was wonderful, the cottage was perfectly comfortable, clean and modern throughout. And the manatees were putting on a great display under the dock. I'd love to go back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

At the last minute we decided to call Jensen's to see if we could get a private boat trip to the outer islands. Lucky us - Captain Lamar was available to take us out for a 3 hour trip. Our idea was to go to the outer island for some shelling, but we got so much more! As we were heading onto the shore of North Captiva Island, Lamar spotted some manatee. So we decided to get into the water and see if we could get a bit closer. Lamar stayed in the boat and helped us keep an eye on where they were surfacing, and we ended up within a foot of a very friendly manatee! It was awesome!

I can't imagine what made the previous reviewer say what he did about Captain Lamar - he was very knowledgeable about the area, friendly and helpful. Honestly sounds like the reviewer may have been having a bad day or was overly sensitive about something (note - we also had children with us).

Thanks again Lamar for a day none of us will ever forget! And, I'll be coming back to try your grilled foie gras some day :-)

Room Tip: This review is only for the boat trips - we didn't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

It's no wonder that people come back here time and time again. Jensens has a relaxing island feel about it, where nothing is too much trouble. We've been visiting Captiva for some years now, but this is the first time at Jensens....and this is precisely where we will look first in the future. The cottages are quaint, clean and well equipped and the friendliness of the owners was nothing short of superb. The beach is a short walk away, and the site is convenient to everything else.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We made a last minute reservation here for a few nights after reading the trip advisor reviews. We had never been to Captiva before and didn't really know the area, etc.

We drove in and checked in at the office. The guys that work there were very nice and accomodating. We rented a two bedroom cottage on the marina side. We traveled with our two daughters and they could not stop going to see the manatees. They could aways be found just at the seawall.

We were within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and the beach. It could not have been more convenient. The cottage was older, but well maintained. The AC was amazing! Even though it was extremely hot while we were there, the cottage stayed very cool. We made breakfast there each day and the kitchen was stocked with what we needed.

I thought I would be disappointed we didn't stay on the beach, but if we had done that....the kids would not have had the manatee experience. My girls don't like to fish, but if they did, we could get equipment and fish right off the dock or rent a boat and go out.

My kids collected shells from the beach and had a great time cleaning them and displaying them all around the screened in porch.

The one negative is that mornings are busy because it is a marina. People are coming to take boats out for fishing, etc. Each cottage has its own parking, but it is not marked as such. Sometimes your parking spot might be taken if you left and came back early. We never mentioned it to the office, because there was always a spot close by, but this might be something they can fix for the future.

If you are looking for fancy, this is not it. But, if you are looking for a place that is relaxing, family friendly, and close to everything, you have found your place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Looking to get away from the all the look-a-like condos, the hectic tourist scence and really experience the Florida gulf coat? Jensen's cottages are cozy and inviting and located right at the water. A short walk to the seawall and you'll see manatees swimming right up close.

We stayed in cottage number 10—a two bedroom two bath unit. Each cottages comes with a complete kitchen and an enclosed porch. The living room has a large TV with Comcast Xfinity included. The tables and chairs are comfortable, and the wireless internet is speedy. The units are somewhat dated stylistically, but immaculately clean (think old Florida). The air-conditioning is modern and more than capable of keeping up with the stifling heat. We loved every minute we spent here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jensen's Twin Palm Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jensen's Twin Palm Resort and Marina

Address: 15107 Captiva Drive, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jensen's Twin Palm Resort and Marina offers cottages and apartments in our historical bayside marina setting.Family owned and operated, Jensen's Twin Palm Resort and Marina provides a variety of accommodations on our bayside property located directly on the waters of Pine Island Sound. Each of our lodgings hosts a complete kitchen. We have spectacular sunrises and nightly evening stargazing, great fishing, boat rentals, "island car" rentals, bait and tackle, water taxi services, charter guide recommendations, and peace and relaxation.And you also may wish to check into our family's other resort, Jensen's On The Gulf...comfort and relaxation on the Gulf of Mexico side of Captiva Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jensen`s Twin Palm Cottages And Marina Hotel Captiva Island
Jensen's Twin Palm Resort And Marina Captiva Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jensen's Twin Palm Resort and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.