We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! More than we expected...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11509 Andy Rosse Lane, Captiva Island, FL 33924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW! More than we expected...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

I really loved the little Captiva town it reminded me of Key West, we booked the love shack and lantana, the desk clerk Corbin suggested we stay in the main house so we could all be together. It was an amazing beautiful home! Breakfast is at two restruants but we just went to Keylime Bistro and it was great. This is classy place with friendly staff. We already booked for next year! Thank you Captiva Island Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corbanc, Manager at Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, It was pleasure serving you and your wonderful family we look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    41
    29
    26
    16
See reviews for
32
95
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Don't pass this place up. The staff is friendly. Stayed in the Periwinkle Loft. Cute and clean. The room was a perfect size for me, my b-friend and my 16 year old. My son loved sleeping in the loft. The free soaps in the room were great. The voucher they give you for the breakfast is to one of the two surrounding restaurants. The Otters seafood omelet was amazing, packed full of crab meat, salmon, shrimp and catch of the day. The beach was full of seashells and not nearly as crowded as I thought it would be. Caution: The lady at the ice cream shop obviously hated her job but the coconut ice cream was great. Some of the reviews worried me, prior to the our stay but CII was everything I hoped for!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corbanc, Manager at Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The Periwinkle loft is always a great choice for families with children. Hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I took a trip here just for a long weekend and we had a wonderful time. The cottage we stayed was perfect with the exception that the a/c unit did not work properly. All of the restaurants were in walking distance as well as the beach which was great. We will go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corbanc, Manager at Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your review, our apologizes about the a/c issues, we can assure you on your next visit we will make sure that doesn't happen again. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Decided to go to Captiva Island at the last minute and stayed at this property. Great Location - walking distance to beach - restaurants - and fun! Room was comfortable and Jason at the front desk was great! The breakfast at Keylime Bistro was delicious!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I would say that if you are going off-season for less than a week and are just looking for a place to lay your head at the end of a busy day, then this place is adequate. But honestly, it's borderline. There isn't any competition on Captiva for a B&B, so this is pretty much it unless you want to stay at a resort and pay a small fortune or if you are staying a week, then a short-term rental makes more sense. The B&B is located in the perfect spot, the front desk staff are helpful and friendly, it has parking, and it includes breakfast at your choice of two great cafes next door. I would go back in a heartbeat if the owners just put a little more love into the upkeep...right now, it feels like a rundown motel that gets the bare minimum in cleaning between guests. We stayed above the real-estate office in the Lantana Suite so maybe some of the cottages or other rooms are in better condition. The noise in this room is significant when the cafe/restaurant next door gets the alcohol flowing - everyone is on holiday and celebrating after all so don't expect a quiet, cozy evening experience.
So I only recommend it if the above caveats are acceptable to you and you get a good deal on your stay. It is not a luxury holiday experience by any stretch of the imagination but it'll do if you want to experience shelling on the beaches of Captiva for a couple of days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corbanc, Manager at Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
We appreciate your review. We have made changes in housekeeping staff to insure quality and cleanliness throughout the property along with additional maintenance staff. We will continue to improve to earn your business in the future. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Nice clean cottage! Great service, best price.
The cottage has a cozy caribbean feel without the boxcutter hotel vibe. However the maintenance of the multi property compound needs some attention!
Close to great beach and good eats. This is not a highend luxury spot, yet nice clean and I would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Verde, Arizona
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Located a few blocks from the beach it is a great location. Except it is located behind the garbage bin of the local restaurant. Sometimes the smell is bad. the rooms are old Florida and cute but their attention to detail is non-existent. air vents are filthy curtains are torn bathroom caulking around the tub needs to be replaced there's a hole in the wall. where the closet has racks one entire Rack is off the wall and has not been replaced. The closet overhead light is a bear bulb, no cover on it. The overhead light in the shower stall is exposed and water could easily get in and cause a short. Furnishings are shipped and worn. With a little more care it has the potential of being a great bed and breakfast

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 11509 Andy Rosse Lane, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captiva Island Hotel Captiva Island
Captiva Island Inn Bed And Breakfast
Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.