We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly what we were expecting-” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates $140/night
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Captiva Island
fairfax
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Not exactly what we were expecting-”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Before you read the entire review here's the short version:

It's not a luxury resort- it IS a nice beach hotel with lots of amenities- it does have an amazing location- it seems to have a strong following of familiar faces.
Read on if you’d like details-

We stayed in the Sea GRAPE gulf view room #361

I never read reviews when they are only negative- because every place can have a bad day- so I am trying to write this review with both the good and the bad of a place where we had just an average stay.

PROS:
LOCATION!!!
lots of amenities,
the apple pastries at breakfast,
Free continental breakfast
LOCATION!!!!!!
SUNSETS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

CONS:
low water pressure,
uncomfortable bed,
staff that was not very attentive to us in particular
can be loud

We stayed at Tween Waters for 2 days over Thanksgiving. (Thursday and Friday). We booked our room well in advance (perhaps 8 months?) and requested a gulf view room on the third floor. I know that requests are not always granted- but this one was and we were grateful since we had never been to the Gulf Coast or FL before.

Starting about 2 months before our trip we tried to email the resort to ask about Thanksgiving Day dining options. We sent 3 separate emails asking what our options would be for the night anywhere on the island. They never got back to us. We then thought we would have to make reservations at the very expensive Captiva House- but there were none available.
We arrived to check in around 6pm and were in for quite a surprise. Apparently- this is where everyone goes for Thanksgiving on the island! We couldn’t even find parking for our car and had to sit in waiting until someone finally left. There was no help. No parking attendant, no reserved space for guests. It was like being at the mall on Black Friday. Not the best way to start our stay at this “resort”.

After checking out the room ( more on that later) we decided to go to the informal dining room called the Crow’s Nest- hoping to grab a burger or something. However, when we walked in we realized….this restaurant was also part of the Thanksgiving buffet. A very kind Hostess asked if we had reservations and the poor lady’s face turned pale as we answered “no”- she kindly said she wasn’t sure how she would be able to fit us in…but she was going to try and work something out- Wow- That is really great service!! In fact the best we received during our stay!!

However, we didn’t want to displace anyone who had been waiting- so we kindly declined and asked if we could just grab a salad at the bar. Even though they were incredibly busy- we were served our salad and drinks-not in a timely manner- however, being that it was ridiculously busy- we wouldn’t even think of marking them down or even complain about it. While dining we noticed that is seemed as though EVERYONE knew EVERYONE in the bar as well as those going into and out of the restaurant. We left the bar area- happy to be going to our room to rest after a long day.

The room- well, just expect a beach hotel room.

IF you go with that expectation you won’t be disappointed. We have stayed at a variety of types of accommodations including 5 star resorts to best Westerns to cabins without AC. As long as we know what we are getting we are generally pleased. It’s when we are misled that we find ourselves being disappointed. And we believe this is what happened at Tween Waters.

The carpet on the floor was old and had stains on it- possibly nail polish? Some of the walls were chipped or cracked. The décor felt dated. The room smelled a bit musty. The AC in the room worked ok. And there was a TV- we didn’t use it so we can’t comment on that. The balcony is screened in- which I imagine is to ward of those nasty no-seeums- The view out our window to the gulf also included the power lines AND a big ol’ transformer- not exactly the view we saw from the web site….The bathroom appeared to have recently been renovated. It had a large granite sink…the only one in the room. It was awkwardly shaped and incredibly large for the smallish bathroom. Each morning and evening while brushing my teeth, the toilet and I had to fight for space due to the shape of the sink. The water pressure was very very low- and.... this is a little thing…. but so. very. annoying. THERE IS NO SOAP DISH ....we had to put our soap, and shampoo, and conditioner, and razor, and shaving cream, all on the small corner of the tub…who has a shower redone without a spot for a soap dish? -

The room seemed relatively clean- but we've definitely stayed in places where it felt cleaner.

The bed was SOOOOO uncomfortable and seemed old! I can’t even remember if the pillows were any good- b/c I was distracted by the backache I had every morning.

The phone in our room had the wrong room number written on it- AND- it didn’t work. We tried dialing the front desk- 3 times- and it never worked. We later used our cell phone to call them directly and as we were trying to explain the situation- they told us : “obviously it’s working since you are talking to us”. I think they could have been a bit more polite.

Oh- and our particular room was right at the top of the stairs. At the top of the stairs…there is a light. This light stays on all night. The door to the room has a window. The window has blinds- the kind of blinds that are between the double pains. Even with the blinds closed we had a bright night light about the size of our suitcase shining through the door all night long. We tried to take a photo of it for the review but it didn’t come out well enough for you to get the picture.

Their wireless will not work in your room…apparently b/c the building is hurricane proof- Which I guess is a good thing if you are a building in FL! You can connect in the dining area- or the lobby, or your car-- while looking for parking.. .

The beach across the street was pretty. It was a beach. It has sand, water, birds, people and beautiful sunsets! It was quiet when we were there. But you had to pay to rent the chairs. Really? Was I going to fly from DC with a beach chair? There should have been some sort of free option.

Our second night was apparently the kick-off for the holiday season for the entire Sanibel, Captiva area. This meant a seemingly endless flow of people coming to the “resort” to see the light display and other festivities.If you are a resident this is probably very exciting. But….I was going to Captiva to get away from the crowds. It would have been nice to know about this before arriving.

Again- IF we KNOW what to expect…we generally go with it…BUT we were imagining…a RESORT- a LUXURY RESORT- AND A PEACEFUL RELAXING VACATION. Not at all what we got.

That same night. Our neighbors apparently had a disagreement. A very long…loud …disagreement. IT went on…and on….and on….all night. From about 11pm-4am!! And yes!! We heard it all!! She was really mad about waiting for so long at the bar for him!!!!! I don’t know if the walls are thin, or they were screaming into my balcony…or the management was sleeping on the other side of the island…but it did not make for a restful, peaceful or enjoyable 2 nights at our “luxury resort”.

Overall, our stay was just ok. a very average- non memorable-non magical-stay. In fact, it was very disappointing based on what we were expecting. Think Dirty Dancing…the original….that’s about what the “resort” reminded us of. IF we had expected THAT our experience would have been different.

When we checked out…the front desk did not even ask how our stay was.

Tween Waters prides itself on its return guest rate of 50% but what about the other 50%. We are teachers, and can’t afford to travel to Captiva every year; however, that shouldn't make our money or our stay any less important than the stay of the people who they know by name.

If you choose to go to Tween Waters don't expect Luxury- think average beach hotel with amenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager22, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Travelbugs920,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We do apologize that we were not exactly what you were expecting. Personally, it sounds like the timing of your visit and the business of the resort had more to do with your disappointment than the resort, its amenities, and its offerings. We take all reviews very seriously and we appreciate the time, effort and detail that went into providing us with your valuable feedback. Please allow me a moment to address some of your concerns.

We agree with you that an informed and educated traveler makes for a much better guest experience while staying with us. With that said we try to provide as much information as possible to travelers researching our property by offering photos, videos, maps, and virtual property tours on our website and Facebook pages. We also encourage potential guests to speak with our onsite reservations staff whom are very knowledgeable on our property and the many different rooming options we offer as well as our amenities and our islands. I see from your reservation that you booked with us on line and not through one of our onsite reservation agents. On major US Holidays like Thanksgiving and Christmas we try to offer our guests many special events in celebration. Our reservations staff always has, and informs booking guests, a list of our on-site activities including any special events we are offering. In addition we post 2-3 times per week to our almost 15,000 fans on our Facebook page upcoming resort activates promotions, and special offers. You mentioned that you sent 3 separate email requests for information that went unanswered. To me this is unacceptable on our part and if you could provide me the email address that you sent your requests to I will be sure to look into correcting the issue.

I see that we were able to honor your request for a top floor Gulf view room. You may have noticed during your stay that we are currently in the process of removing the power lines and transformers obstructing your view and burying them underground. As of today, December 6, 2012, the power lines and transformers have been removed. All that remains are the cable lines which will be removed next week along with all the poles. I do apologize if your accommodations were not ideal. We do offer many different rooming options from studios to suites to stand alone cottages. Our 24 hour a day front desk staff would have been happy to show you other available rooms that may have better met your expectations. I did take my cell phone into your unit and was able to connect to our complimentary Wi-Fi with a strong signal. I am not sure what caused your connection issues, but our onsite IT technician likely could have resolved your problem.

Finally, I will agree with you that we do have one of the nicest stretches of beach on the islands. The charge for beach chair and cabana rentals was implemented for a couple of very important reasons. We have 137 guest rooms and if we were to provide complimentary beach chairs and/or cabanas for each of our guests I am sure you could only imagine what our beach would be like. Currently we set up about 16 cabanas and 20 seaside chair sets which we feel provides for a nice tranquil beach environment. The fee in addition to helping keep supply and demand in balance also helps offset the cost of the equipment and staff who monitor the beach and have to set up and remove the equipment each day. We have never charged a resort fee and we feel the cost of running the beach service should be allocated to those who what to use it and not the resort community as a whole. We do actively monitor parking on our property and require all cars on our property to have a resort parking permit which helps prevent non guest’s access to our beach. Our guest service staff is available daily from 7 am to 10 pm to show you to your room and to assist with luggage and parking. A guest services representative should have been available to assist you and if not we apologize. In addition we do have beach attendants on the beach during business hours to ensure guests satisfaction. If you have other ideas how we can improve our beach service please feel free to call me directly to discuss.

We thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. I would be happy to speak with you directly and help personally make arrangements for a return trip should you desire to visit our beautiful islands and experience our resort at a less busy time. I am sure we can not only meet but exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards

Doug Babcock
Vice President
Rochester Resorts Inc.
Dougbabcock22@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    483
    266
    89
    47
    36
See reviews for
314
373
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our first visit to Sanibel & Captiva Islands was to celebrate our 43rd anniversary. After reading reviews, comparing rates & ratings, for our stay we chose 'Tween Waters Inn Island Resort on Captiva Island. We were very satisfied with our Gulf View Studio on the second floor of the Seagrape Building. Since we had never visited before, we explored all the beaches - great shelling! The sunsets on Captiva are beautiful! Besides the restaurants onsite, we also found some other really good restaurants: The Mucky Duck, a great waterfront view - dine inside or out; & our favorite, Cantina Captiva - not big on decor, but the food was great & we left our "George" on the surfboard! There are many things to do on the islands & we will visit again.

Room Tip: TWI's location is gorgeous - we drove, but perfect for boaters too, with docks, etc... We thoro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Magical....that one word sums up our whole experience at Tween Waters Inn last weekend! Thanks to you and the entire staff, we are in even more love with this little piece of paradise than before! Thanksgiving Dinner at the Crows Nest was Delicious. The Christmas Tree lighting was Divine! And the entire staff at TWI seemed more like old friends that were truly happy to see us!
Thanks for everything! Our family is so blessed to have discovered the treasure of Tween Waters inn!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just came back from our spectacular wedding weekend at Tween Waters. The staff is out of this world. They are nice, not because they are paid to be, or told to be, but because they genuinely want to be. From Brett at the front desk, ML, Eric and the rest at the pool bar, Chef Jason and his amazing staff, Eli for anything else and everyone else I'm missing. It is extremely difficult to be classy and laid back at the same time and Tween Waters does this with ease.

Room Tip: I like the bayside rooms, I watch sunrise from my room and sunset on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

For the second year in a row the folks at Tween Waters did it again! The service at this place is outstanding!!!! Nothing is a problem, no question is out of line and always answered with a smile.

We dined on the Thanksgiving Buffet and loved it even more this year. The seafood bar was unbelievable!!!! I could have stopped there, but had to have turkey and the trimmings. Of course, my daughter likes Prime Rib and she had two giant healpings. The server was very generous and paid close attention to how you liked your meat cooked. He was great! the entire kitchen staff is always FABULOUS!!! Dan may never sleep, but he makes it look easy. Great job, guys and gals! From breakfast to lunch at the pool bar to dinner at the Crows nest, you are top notch!

We enjoyed the pool, the beach, the kayaks and all the restaurants. What a great vacation. We can't wait until next year.

PS: I like the new towels and towel cards, but can you please have a towel drop at the front desk and at the beach?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tega Cay, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Tween Waters is the probably the best resort i have ever stayed at. From the crab races, to the drinks and omg the sunsets!!! Probably the best burger i've ever had in a long time from the pool bar.
The staff is great, the other guests are great. the surroundings are well maintained and lush.
I can't wait to go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We just got back from our first trip to Captiva and are so happy that we choose Tween Waters! The property was clean, beautifully landscaped and had a rustic, Old Florida feel. The pool and pool bar are fantastic (I highly recommend the Pina Coladas). The free continental breakfast buffet definitely exceeded our expectations with a nice selection of fresh fruit, pastries, cereals, etc. We did not have a chance to try the Old Captiva House on this trip, but the Crows Nest was a lot of fun and the food was great. The room was comfortable and clean and the entire staff was friendly and helpful. We absolutely loved it - the only downside was that we had to leave. We have already started planning a longer trip for May and can't wait! Thanks to everyone at Tween Waters that made this a great get away. My only suggestion would be to open the coffee bar earlier than 10:00.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida
Tween Waters Captiva Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.