We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Thanksgiving trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates $140/night
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Captiva Island
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another great Thanksgiving trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

For the second year in a row the folks at Tween Waters did it again! The service at this place is outstanding!!!! Nothing is a problem, no question is out of line and always answered with a smile.

We dined on the Thanksgiving Buffet and loved it even more this year. The seafood bar was unbelievable!!!! I could have stopped there, but had to have turkey and the trimmings. Of course, my daughter likes Prime Rib and she had two giant healpings. The server was very generous and paid close attention to how you liked your meat cooked. He was great! the entire kitchen staff is always FABULOUS!!! Dan may never sleep, but he makes it look easy. Great job, guys and gals! From breakfast to lunch at the pool bar to dinner at the Crows nest, you are top notch!

We enjoyed the pool, the beach, the kayaks and all the restaurants. What a great vacation. We can't wait until next year.

PS: I like the new towels and towel cards, but can you please have a towel drop at the front desk and at the beach?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    471
    261
    87
    46
    36
See reviews for
305
365
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tega Cay, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Tween Waters is the probably the best resort i have ever stayed at. From the crab races, to the drinks and omg the sunsets!!! Probably the best burger i've ever had in a long time from the pool bar.
The staff is great, the other guests are great. the surroundings are well maintained and lush.
I can't wait to go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We just got back from our first trip to Captiva and are so happy that we choose Tween Waters! The property was clean, beautifully landscaped and had a rustic, Old Florida feel. The pool and pool bar are fantastic (I highly recommend the Pina Coladas). The free continental breakfast buffet definitely exceeded our expectations with a nice selection of fresh fruit, pastries, cereals, etc. We did not have a chance to try the Old Captiva House on this trip, but the Crows Nest was a lot of fun and the food was great. The room was comfortable and clean and the entire staff was friendly and helpful. We absolutely loved it - the only downside was that we had to leave. We have already started planning a longer trip for May and can't wait! Thanks to everyone at Tween Waters that made this a great get away. My only suggestion would be to open the coffee bar earlier than 10:00.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

There is so much praise that I can pay everyone at the resort that words cannot express how amazing the entire experience was! Kerri, you are a phenomonal event and wedding planner!  You helped me through so many questions and whenever I emailed you you wrote back with an answers within minutes! Any bride is lucky to have you help plan her day! The wait staff at the resort are all professionals. Some of the standouts, ML, Jarrett, Dan, Eric, and Maria. Chef Jason was exceptional! Everything was perfect. Tween Waters is something we want to return to and share with our friends and family. The newly renovated rooms are such a treat and the facilities are enjoyable. You made our wedding something special and a wonderful experience. You were such a pleasure to work with throughout the entire process.

Room Tip: There are many types of rooms to select from. Ask questions and ask for advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice hotel. Went to meet family who picked this hotel. I would rate it at about the level of a Best Western. The location is really unique with the beach across the street and a marina at the rear of the property. It is overpriced for the quality of the accommodations which are dated. The rooms are clean but aren’t very big. We had a refrigerator, but it would have been nice to have a microwave. Only the pool bar serves food during the day, so if you want something different you would have to leave the property and nothing is close by. Tried to get a pizza delivered but no one delivers to that remote location (tried with four different restaurants). The drive to the hotel is like being in an slow moving parade on a lengthy two lane road which seemed to take forever. Being a Floridian I would pick any of dozens of other newer, cheaper and better located beach hotels before this one.

The food at the restaurants on the property seemed processed or prepackaged.

The place was sold out so it must have its fans, but I don’t get

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager22, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Ford64,

Thank you for staying with us and we are very glad that you enjoyed our “unique” location. I do apologize if your accommodation were not as you expected. We try to manage our guest expectations prior to arrival by providing many photos and virtual property tours on both our website and Facebook. In addition, our knowledgeable onsite reservation and front desk staff are available daily to answer questions about our resort and our islands as well as recommend the appropriate accommodations from the many different types we offer. Once on property our staff is always willing to show our guests our other lodging options should your current accommodations not meet your needs. We have many larger units than the one you booked ranging from studios to 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites and stand-alone cottages. All of which have efficiency to full kitchens including microwaves. You are correct, we only serve lunch at our pool bar & grill during the afternoon. However there are 9 other restaurants about a mile up the road in Captiva Village including a takeout Pizza café. We also offer take out service including pizza from our Crow’s Nest Bar and Grill starting at 5pm. Finally, the drive to the resort is about 12 miles from the Causeway and can take 20 to 25 minutes given the 35 mile an hour speed limit. However, most of our guests will agree that the trip over the causeway bridge and the 20 minute drive to the resort is one of the highlights of their trip. The island maintains much of its natural beauty with over ½ of the land dedicated to preservation and boasts 15 miles of unspoiled beaches, 22 miles of bike paths, 250 different types of shells and 0 stop lights. It’s no wonder Frommer's Travel Guide named Sanibel Island the #1 tourist destination of 2011. I have heard many guests comment that traveling over the bridge is like a short flight to another time and country. I have stated our mission statement many times before which is: “To deliver a warm, friendly and memorable island resort experience that provides value to all our guests resulting in a desire to return.” We offer many different discounts, packages, and resort credits depending on our occupancy and your length of stay. For our over 50% return guests and our 13 thousand plus fans on Facebook we are successful in fulfilling our mission. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally about where we fell short and any suggestions as to how we can meet your expectations. In the future we do hope you will find you way back to Sanibel and Captiva Islands to experience all of their natural beauty. Thank you again for staying with us and we wish you many safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Tween Waters was indeed quaint and peaceful. We enjoyed a gulf front studio with a nice sunset view. Accommodations and service were excellent! Staff was friendly and very helpful! Both causal and fine dining available. Great pool area and nice spa! One important note if you plan a stay in late October, Tween Waters is "host" to the largest Halloween or rather HalloTween party on Sanibel/Captiva Islands with approximately 700- 1000 in attendance. Event is held the Saturday prior to Halloween. The noise quieted between 2:00 and 3:00 am. This would have been nice to know before making reservations. We might have liked to venture off site but were told parking might be unavailable upon our return... They even open the tennis courts for parking - which I found a bit odd as they couldn't light up the tennis courts for "tennis" because of the "sea turtles" - but could light it up for the party and parking? They may wish to rethink this mixed message...... Also note that cell service and internet is minimal to non-existent. So if it's vital to stay in touch with those at home or elsewhere - it could prove difficult. Would I return? Absolutely! Just wouldn't be at the end of October....

Room Tip: If you are a sunset lover, choose a beach front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Tween Waters in a quaint place nestled in between the gulf of Mexico and the Pine Island Sound Bay on Captiva Island. There are a few different types of rooms and views.......cabins....pool side view rooms.. bay side view rooms and also beach view rooms. We stayed in the beach view room where we could watch the sunset from our room and the beach was only a walk across the street. It was the typical hotel room with two double beds, with screened in balcony but it did have a small refrigerator which came in handy. Tween waters has on site a pool, tennis courts, Spa, three restaurants, a bar with live music, boats docks with rentals available, and two gift stores.... You do need a car to get around and explore the entire Captiva and Sanibel Islands...but tons of bicycles around. I was surprised how good the food was at Tween Waters in every outlet... The pool side bar/dining offered a tasty burger and their grouper sandwich proved to be above average. There is also a coffee bar pool side as well. A free continental breakfast was provided from 7 -11 am. There is a rustic bar with good food that provides live entertainment. I have no complaints about tween waters and would stay there again. It is nothing Fancy but very charming

Room Tip: There are many different types... the cabins are good for families.. also cabins don;t have much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida
Tween Waters Captiva Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.