We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't get it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I don't get it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice hotel. Went to meet family who picked this hotel. I would rate it at about the level of a Best Western. The location is really unique with the beach across the street and a marina at the rear of the property. It is overpriced for the quality of the accommodations which are dated. The rooms are clean but aren’t very big. We had a refrigerator, but it would have been nice to have a microwave. Only the pool bar serves food during the day, so if you want something different you would have to leave the property and nothing is close by. Tried to get a pizza delivered but no one delivers to that remote location (tried with four different restaurants). The drive to the hotel is like being in an slow moving parade on a lengthy two lane road which seemed to take forever. Being a Floridian I would pick any of dozens of other newer, cheaper and better located beach hotels before this one.

The food at the restaurants on the property seemed processed or prepackaged.

The place was sold out so it must have its fans, but I don’t get

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager22, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Ford64,

Thank you for staying with us and we are very glad that you enjoyed our “unique” location. I do apologize if your accommodation were not as you expected. We try to manage our guest expectations prior to arrival by providing many photos and virtual property tours on both our website and Facebook. In addition, our knowledgeable onsite reservation and front desk staff are available daily to answer questions about our resort and our islands as well as recommend the appropriate accommodations from the many different types we offer. Once on property our staff is always willing to show our guests our other lodging options should your current accommodations not meet your needs. We have many larger units than the one you booked ranging from studios to 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites and stand-alone cottages. All of which have efficiency to full kitchens including microwaves. You are correct, we only serve lunch at our pool bar & grill during the afternoon. However there are 9 other restaurants about a mile up the road in Captiva Village including a takeout Pizza café. We also offer take out service including pizza from our Crow’s Nest Bar and Grill starting at 5pm. Finally, the drive to the resort is about 12 miles from the Causeway and can take 20 to 25 minutes given the 35 mile an hour speed limit. However, most of our guests will agree that the trip over the causeway bridge and the 20 minute drive to the resort is one of the highlights of their trip. The island maintains much of its natural beauty with over ½ of the land dedicated to preservation and boasts 15 miles of unspoiled beaches, 22 miles of bike paths, 250 different types of shells and 0 stop lights. It’s no wonder Frommer's Travel Guide named Sanibel Island the #1 tourist destination of 2011. I have heard many guests comment that traveling over the bridge is like a short flight to another time and country. I have stated our mission statement many times before which is: “To deliver a warm, friendly and memorable island resort experience that provides value to all our guests resulting in a desire to return.” We offer many different discounts, packages, and resort credits depending on our occupancy and your length of stay. For our over 50% return guests and our 13 thousand plus fans on Facebook we are successful in fulfilling our mission. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally about where we fell short and any suggestions as to how we can meet your expectations. In the future we do hope you will find you way back to Sanibel and Captiva Islands to experience all of their natural beauty. Thank you again for staying with us and we wish you many safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    281
    95
    49
    37
See reviews for
328
396
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Tween Waters was indeed quaint and peaceful. We enjoyed a gulf front studio with a nice sunset view. Accommodations and service were excellent! Staff was friendly and very helpful! Both causal and fine dining available. Great pool area and nice spa! One important note if you plan a stay in late October, Tween Waters is "host" to the largest Halloween or rather HalloTween party on Sanibel/Captiva Islands with approximately 700- 1000 in attendance. Event is held the Saturday prior to Halloween. The noise quieted between 2:00 and 3:00 am. This would have been nice to know before making reservations. We might have liked to venture off site but were told parking might be unavailable upon our return... They even open the tennis courts for parking - which I found a bit odd as they couldn't light up the tennis courts for "tennis" because of the "sea turtles" - but could light it up for the party and parking? They may wish to rethink this mixed message...... Also note that cell service and internet is minimal to non-existent. So if it's vital to stay in touch with those at home or elsewhere - it could prove difficult. Would I return? Absolutely! Just wouldn't be at the end of October....

Room Tip: If you are a sunset lover, choose a beach front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Tween Waters in a quaint place nestled in between the gulf of Mexico and the Pine Island Sound Bay on Captiva Island. There are a few different types of rooms and views.......cabins....pool side view rooms.. bay side view rooms and also beach view rooms. We stayed in the beach view room where we could watch the sunset from our room and the beach was only a walk across the street. It was the typical hotel room with two double beds, with screened in balcony but it did have a small refrigerator which came in handy. Tween waters has on site a pool, tennis courts, Spa, three restaurants, a bar with live music, boats docks with rentals available, and two gift stores.... You do need a car to get around and explore the entire Captiva and Sanibel Islands...but tons of bicycles around. I was surprised how good the food was at Tween Waters in every outlet... The pool side bar/dining offered a tasty burger and their grouper sandwich proved to be above average. There is also a coffee bar pool side as well. A free continental breakfast was provided from 7 -11 am. There is a rustic bar with good food that provides live entertainment. I have no complaints about tween waters and would stay there again. It is nothing Fancy but very charming

Room Tip: There are many different types... the cabins are good for families.. also cabins don;t have much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Great place to unwind. Bakery on site delivers the goods. 2 outdoor hottubs further assist in relaxation. Quite good food inside and poolside. My only requests are for better in room coffee along with liquid creamers and that someone hadn't mistakenly made our room key not work 1 am Saturday then ask me to come to office to fix it.Ultimately a surley security person was dispatched to me with updated and functional keys.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

There is no other place I would want to stay that here at Tween Waters Inn. Old Florida classical beach elegance...is that even possible? Yes, here at Tween it is possible. Stayed in Redfish Beach Cottage, and had all the amenities that I needed...plus, absolutely the best sunset watching you could ask for. And, the service was spectacular. The room was clean and comfortable. With the amount of guests that this resort has, I would tell anyone that it is kept in excellent shape. Sure, it might be time to upgrade the television in my room to a flat screen...but, really who is watching TV? And, the weekend wedding music was a bit much...not to spoil anyone's wedding but I do think a curfew for the DJ is needed...you come to stay at the Beach to hear the soft sounds of the Gulf...not dull thumping of loud music. But, then again...it's was someone's wedding...I just suggest a compromise that music should stop at 11:00 PM. Loved the Marina...loved the Pool (and thanks Maria for great service poolside!) Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: The cottages are worth the extra price if you want to get the old feel of Florida. Especially those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager22, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear CaptivaMe,

We appreciate your review of our resort and we are glad to hear that “Tween Waters is never disappointing.” Our cottages are very popular with our guests for many of the reasons that you pointed out and our sunsets, which can viewed from the screened lanai of many of them, has been described as “America’s most romantic” by many publications. We do apologize that the TV in your cottage has not been updated to our new 32” flat panel yet. The new TV’s have been purchased and are on property but not all have been installed. I will make sure that we try and finish all the installs by the end of next week. As for the DJ, our policy states that music for functions, such as weddings, cease at 10pm. However, we do have live entertainment in our Crow’s Nest lounge on Friday and Saturday nights that plays until 1am. I will observe the volume of their music over the next several weekends and recommend they turn it down if appropriate. Thank you for letting us know. Finally, I will be sure to let Maria know you enjoyed her pool side service. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to your many return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Tween Waters for 10 days, from the beginning of October 2012. We ended up coming to Tween Waters with no reservations and luckily were able to get one of the cottages (the Orchid Cottage) for our entire stay.

We had the best time ever. The cottage was relaxing, the pool was great, and of course the beach is beautiful. The staff were great. Our cottage was always promptly taken care of, and Lisa at the pool bar and Tasha in Tween Beans were outstanding!

We've already booked 12 nights for next year in the same cottage.

Notes:

We stayed in a cottage. We looked at a room when we first arrived, but after looking at the cottage we selected that. It appeared to me that the cottage was much nicer than the room, but perhaps the room we looked at was having an off day.

The breakfasts are very, very good. On the other hand, I will admit to sneaking off to the Island Cow for their coconut french toast one morning. The pool was busier on the weekend, but not so busy that it was a problem. Lunch at the pool bar was easy and convenient.

The towels in our room were clearly new, and everything else in the rooms looked good.

A couple of not as positive notes:

The WiFi is free, and at least around our cottage, not very good. Now that wouldn't matter so much except we were using Nook eReaders that constantly nattered about the connection coming and going. There was a very good WiFi signal listed, but that was the resort's protected one. Not a big deal.

The TV in the cottage is dated. Not that we watched it more than twice, but they should be on the short list for upgrades.

There are a few spots in the pool that need some TLC. The logo in the middle has seen better days, and at the steps there are a couple of missing chunks of tile. Don't get me wrong - I loved the pool, and it was sparkling clear, warm, and fun to be in.

One more positive note - there is a laundry on site, so empty out half of that suitcase, because you won't need it.

Room Tip: Cottages - go with the cottage, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a vacation! We drove from airport to Sanibel Chamber of Commerce, having decided to wing it this year for our annual vacation to Sanibel/ Captiva. It was early in day, but not many of offered deals appealed to us. I asked about 'Tween Waters', having received a few emails from them. A call was made and off we were on a Stay 3 days/ 4th day Free. Though the Inn was booked for 2 weekend weddings, Olga, at the reception desk,invited us to preview a room on the Bay side. Preview???? This room which was a Studio suite with kitchen and gorgeous view was perfect...and we got a fabulous deal. Jefferson completed the registration, and was as accomodating as Olga. Their service, attitude and charm was beyond excellent, as was true for every employee we came in contact with from those handling beach service, poolside bar and coffee services, to Daniel at the bar of the Crow's Nest, and everyone at the Captiva House for the wonderful continental breakfasts (included). The beach and the sunsets were perfect,the pool and grounds were great and our room(342) on the 2nd floor of Palmetto ( I believe) could not have been better..pretty, quiet and well cared for. This was a stellar vacation, thanks to a perfect spot and wonderful people who truly go way out of their way to insure that you enjoy their little bit of paradise. This is an extremely well organized and well run resort;all inclusive. We plan to revisit.

Room Tip: Just tell the desk what you are looking for and they will make every effort to accomodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager22, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear her_10

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our staff to very friendly, helpful and accommodating. We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service and we have developed our mission statement (To deliver a warm, friendly and memorable island resort experience that provides value for all of our guests resulting in a desire to return) to act as a guide in how we interact with our guests. It’s nice to hear that we achieved our mission during your stay. Thanks again for staying with us and sharing your experience. We look forward to your many return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida
Tween Waters Captiva Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.