We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation To Date...Relaxing, quiet, scenic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added South Seas Island Resort to your Saves list
South Seas Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Plantation Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Vacation To Date...Relaxing, quiet, scenic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

This resort was recommended by a co-worker. And I am still thanking him. I stayed in the tennis villas and it was great. I did look at the beach cottages, and if you can splurge, I would recommend you stay in those if you are going for a couples retreat because it's right off the beach. The staff is friendly, the service is great. The food was delicious with great variety. The rooms were super clean!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    522
    293
    154
    97
See reviews for
994
467
5
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

The cheff is great, and the restaurants crew were wonderful.
Stay away from the SPA, poor facilities and poor service.
The fees for the massages on the price list do not include a 20% service charge. Which is not a gratuity but actually part of the technicians compensation for performing the service. You will end paying 40% more than the price on the list. They had no concierge to properly explain prices to us. As they recognized in written, they were "in the middle of management transition and found themselves short staffed".
The location of the beach villas is unbeatable, but the rooms are not clean. The sofa was the worst, we found hygene products that I do not want to describe in this site

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

This is my third time staying at the South Seas Island Resort. Every time it exceeds are expectation. Each time I have stayed in the harbor side rooms. The rooms are spacious, with a spectacular view. The pool area is great. It has a childrens pool area which is great for families and a another pool that has a great view overlooking the water. I have play golf at the par 3 course and it meticously maintained. This is a phenominial resort and if truly a get a way that is relaxing!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheaton Il
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

You've got to experience this first class rersort! From the moment we checked in (they upgraded us to a 2 bedroom beach villa free of charge) I knew this place was gonna exceed our expectations. We checked in during an island wide power outage and the front desk had three bags of ice to our room within 5 minutes of check in because I told them I had just done our week's grocery shopping at the Publix. If you read this forum, you probably already know to call ahead and request an updated room. I had done that and our beach villa was completely high end. We had some friends staying in a one bedroom a few buildings over and thier room was decorated in the same high end manner (granite counter tops, comfy bed, nice cabinets , furniture etc.) To look out our ocean front sliding glass doors and see the water was priceless. Maid service rocked, local pool was never crowded and beautifully landscaped. Make sure you make it down to the marina and say hi to our new friends the manatees. They are way cute but thier breath kind of smells! I could go on and on but just do yourself a favor and experience it for yourself!
Gator
P.S. We have stayed at dozens and dozens of high end resorts but this is the first time I have written a review, that's how impressed we were!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

being a boater , this resort offers more than any other resort on the west coast of fl..the beach is full of shells, there pools are great and at night you really feel you are on a island..
just a great place .
nothing like lunch from deck and looking the sea.
take a ride on lady chadwick boat and you see dolphins all the way.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

This was the best choice for a resort that I could have picked. Right from check - in, which could not have been easier, all conditions for a great time were on. The employees could not have been more helpfull, cheerfull and informative about the Resort. The grounds and surroundings were very well maintained and clean. This of course includes the pool areas and beach. All amenities were there to use. The rooms were exceptional with good taste in decor and cleanliness was once again a first class act. The way that the Resort is set up is great because it seems that every room has a great view. Restaurants provided excellent food and service was always top notch. Relaxation starts as soon as you arrive.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

All of those nasty comments are the opposite of this resort. We diced to take a year off of vacationing in the Caribbean to save some money. As soon as we found incredibly cheap (about $150 round trip pp from Chicago) to Tampa (about 1 1/2 hours away) we immediately knew we wanted to return to the Sanibel/Captiva area. We loved the area with great food, wpnderful beaches and warm climate in the Spring for our children's spring break. Previosly we rented a condo in Sanibel and had a pretty good time. But after a few years at all inclusive resorts we wanted a sort of combo of the Condo & Resort feel. BOY THIS RESORT WAS EXACTLY WHAT WE WANTED!!! Just looking at the online pictures made us want to go but we were nervous that it wouldn't be all that good after seeing some peoples reviews here. We were pleasantly surprised with the cleanness, great service, beautiful grounds and wonderful activities.

Cleanness and the villa-
Our one bedroom beachfront villa, had a fantastic ocean view and a private pool. Only about 2-3 families were at the pool at one time and after time these families became friends. The quick walk across the boardwalk to the beach was perfect when the kids wanted to swim but we wanted to stay by the shore. Occasional times, we saw dolphins swimming close by. The beachfront villa was wonderful! Very clean. Just like the ones in the picture (granite counters new clean cabinets and new appliances) though another villa we say just a few doors down had a much different (still nice) decor. The bed in the private bedroom was comfy and the kids enjoyed the pull out couch. We also easily got a comfy cot.

Great service-
Kind service all around. The water-slide attendant was fun and let even adults ride down the fast slides. The waiter at the restaurant (the point) Was kind and helped us find a spot to take a photo. I cant say anything bad about the room service because when we asked for some more blankets they quickly brought us some.

The wonderful activities-
Countless activities kept us on the island 95% of the time. We rented jet skis, went fishing off the dock, where we caught many fish and saw over 5 dolphins and 2 manatees, sailing, golf carting, walks by the beach and of course LOTS of beach and pool time! Before we came, I spent lots of time looking at pictures of the resort. I knew that we were renting a beach-villa and from seeing the online maps, the beachfront villas were far away from the water-slides, restaurants and main pools. This was concerning to me. But don't worry! It all worked out. First of all, the villa had a private pool and beach. So the times when we wanted to take a quick dip we could easily. The beach was also nice because each villa/condo building had basically its own private beach so it is not very crowded. And chairs, towels, and umbrellas were available. When we wanted to grab something to eat we could take the nice trolley, (which was open air and had friendly drivers and was never crowded unless it was 3:30 and the beach goers were leaving) to get ice cream, pizza burgers, or any other type of food (by the way the food was great!) or we could go to the wonderful pork, ribs and steak joint just across the way. The other concern was the distance from the point. As you may know the point is the main part of the resort with features the hotel room type accommodations and some villas, 2 huge ocean front scenic pools with poolside bars and butlers who came to bring you food and drink, and for our kids, the 2 water slides into a kiddie pool. One of the water slides was twisty and a little bit slower. But the other was fast and shot you straight down. Even I had an adrenalin rush riding it! The concern was cured when we discovered that a trolley ride was only only about 5 minuets along a beautiful path with nice landscaping and nice houses. And the point was great.
No worry's this vacation will sure be great! I loved it and Im sure you will to. Please i have no idea what those nasty comments are for so try this place out im sure you will have a blast.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Seas Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Island Resort

Address: 5400 Plantation Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Seas Island Resort is located on 330-acres on tropical Captiva Island, on the west coast of Florida, just off the beaches of Fort Myers, Fl. South Seas is an iconic resort village combining a natural wonderland with modern resort amenities and accommodations. The resort offers many styles and sizes of accommodations including guestrooms, one to three bedroom villas (condominiums), cottages and spacious private homes.Activities at the resort include tennis, golf, water sports programs including kayak tours, boating and parasailing. Kids will have a great time at the Sanibel Sea School while learning about the surrounding environment. Enjoy three lagoon style pools, complete with private cabanas located at the Pointe and H2Whoa! With two fun water slides. The resort also features some of the best shelling in the world on the miles of sugar sand beach. For relaxation, the Kay Casperson Boutique and Spa is located in the South Village, providing special pampering with a complete spa treatment menu.Dining at South Seas Island Resort is as varied as the activities, with The Harbourside Bar and Grill and The Pointe located at North Pointe. Visit Scoops & Slices, located next to The Pointe, for ice cream or coal fired pizza. In the South Village, other options include Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, Starbucks and the Captiva Provision Company, a gourmet deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your South Seas Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Island Hotel Captiva Island
South Seas Island Captiva
South Seas Island Resort Captiva Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Seas Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.