We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach family vacation for all ages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added South Seas Island Resort to your Saves list
South Seas Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5400 Plantation Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Beach family vacation for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great service, clean, homie, cozy, well designed and well kept property. Caters to all ages and it's safety it's definitely priceless for 100% peace of mind. There is always something to do and you can rest as well as stay active while having fun. The gum facility is very good and the location is secluded and very charming.

Room Tip: Rooms by the Tennis Courts are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks for staying at South Seas. We're glad you enjoyed the abundant amenities available. We look forward to your return.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    575
    323
    166
    107
See reviews for
1,093
534
8
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bayt Shore NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is excellent. It has all you need.
Pools, grills, restaurants, beautiful beaches, nice people and super nice villas.
We stood in a 2 bed beach villa and it was more than what we expected.
Super clean, super big and super well located. There is a swimming pool between the villa and the beach, the pool has it's own bbq grill and It felt like a private pool.
will go back again anytime.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for visiting Sanibel & Captiva and staying at South Seas Island Resort. The villas on the south end of the resort village offer a comfortable setting with easy access to the beach and association pools. Starbucks and Chadwicks Square, with the spa and boutique shops, are nearby too. Thanks for the great review.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is our second year at South Seas. We give this a 4 with a very big BUT. Some rooms are great and some rooms are awful. Prior to our arrival, I read the tips on here and emailed the resort asking if at all possible for our Beach Villa to be newly renovated and a direct view of the beach. We got a response saying that the request was entered into our reservation. We stayed harbourside in an older room last year with a 2 year old and infant and it wasn't kid friendly. Upon arrival today, we walked into an old room with a view of a giant tree blocking our beach view and the glass on the end tables were light enough for our youngest to move the lamps and almost come crashing down on him. Thanks! My husband went back over to the front and the receptionist seemed fairly annoyed that we were unhappy with our room, however, she sent a bell boy over to show us another room- which also was not newly renovated. Our bell boy actually then showed us a third room that was slightly renovated but the ac is so loud, it's like being on an airplane. But we will deal with it. It's a better view with a bigger kitchen that enables me to keep an eye on our 2 little boys while I cook. We typically never complain about service but we rarely take vacations and wanted this one to be as enjoyable as much as possible. It's just disappointing to see pictures of really great rooms on here and then have the room you pay and stay in not up to par. Day 2 tomorrow, lets hope it's a better day!

Room Tip: Have low expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Wonderful Resort catering to families and Couples alike! Great Amenities and Service. Beautiful Condo accommodations right on the Beach! Umbrella, towel, and Chair service on the beach included with condo makes your days on the beach so enjoyable! Beautiful grounds and landscaping! Condo had been recently updated with beautiful furnishings, inside and out on the screened lanai! We have been here a few times, with children, and without, one bedrooms to three bedroom units and all were nice! We always made clear at check in that we wanted an updated beautiful unit as I understand not all condos have been updated -- and South Seas was very accommodating! It is a classic old time East Coast Resort. Captiva has beautiful beaches, is relatively quiet and quaint. A great get away! Very rejuvenating!

Room Tip: We have stayed multiple times in the Beach Villas both on lower floors and upper floors -- both had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience from your visits to South Seas Island Resort. The beautiful beaches of Sanibel & Captiva perfect for a quiet retreat with or without family. We look forward to serving you on your next visit.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I recently rented two units, one two bedroom and one three bedroom, for 2 nights for a combo family vacation......was so disappointed ! Both units were really outdated and dowdy-not at all the "luxury" feel that I thought the price would provide !! The ancient carpets in the three bedroom unit, so musty and dusty, caused two family members to go into asthma and ruined their vacation. Both units were "bare minimum" in my opinion--outdated, not clean, bad smelling. Beds uncomfortable. We had not returned to South Seas for a long time and were looking forward to it--but will not return at those prices for no quality. Staff ranged from surly to bored indifference and all were not knowlegeable or helpful. Food pricey and ordinary, and resort very, very, very crowded. South Seas has had its day--it used to be really wonderful, but no more. Already shopping for some other place for next summer !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. Your feedback will allow us to identify areas in which we can improve. I understand your disappointment but I hope you will consider giving us another chance. I have sent a private message to discuss your stay further.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from yet another amazing vacation at South Seas Resort. Over the last eight years we have been vacationing at South Seas, each time opting for different accommodations depending on our requirements at the time. When we want a quieter vacation (no kids) we stay on the south end (tennis and bay view villas), for a livelier, kid friendly vacation we opt for the north end where there is a huge pool with waterslide, activity center, sailing school and the golf course is a draw whether we stay north or south. We especially appreciate the upkeep not only of the grounds, which are lush and tropical, but also of the high standard of each villa in which we have stayed. We're always surprised how reasonable the rates are considering how luxurious that resort is. This time around, we especially enjoyed Doc Ford's Bar and Grille which just opened at the beginning of August. The food was delicious and the prices reasonable. We stayed the last week of August, known as the quiet time on Captiva and it couldn't have been more delightful. Can't wait until we return in March!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your continued visits to South Seas Island Resort and sharing your experience. Doc Ford's has been a great new addition to Captiva, and has allowed us to revise our menu at Harbourside Bar & Grill, with more changes scheduled to the other dining options within the resort village. See you next year.

All the best,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have a timeshare in the South Seas Club and Cottages of South Seas where we have been going for 18 years. It is truly a paradise with all the attractions and sightseeing opportunities that Florida can offer. When we drive through the gate, we don't have to move our car again unless of course you want to venture further out to Sanibel and Ft Myers. Everything you could want is right here for you. The pools are gorgeous with a fantastic view of the Gulf and Pine Island sound. We love the boat tours, the fishing, and the views. there is golf, shelling on the beach and just plan relaxing! Doc Ford now has a restaurant on the resort which is a great addition to Captiva. their food is WONDERFUL- just make sure you try the chocolate banana bread with caramel topping and a scoop of ice cream. If that is not enough don't forget to hit up Scoops where you get your fill of candy, ice cream and pizza.
Our family meets there every year and we come away with the most wonderful memories. Our granddaughter provided us with the best memories ever this year along with the friends we have know for many years that we meet there every year. August is the slow month but that is ok by us as we have plenty of everything without having to wait in line.
Our condo sits on the golf course and we can see the sunsets every evening, but walk out to the beach to get the best views.
If you have never been to South Seas Island Resort you have not been on vacation!

Room Tip: Stay to the North end of the island as that is where most of the amenities are- large pools, slides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at South Seas Island Resort. We take great pride in offering amenities and services that are the backdrop to the creation of special memories for our visitors. We'll see you and your family next August.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Seas Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Island Resort

Address: 5400 Plantation Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Seas Island Resort is located on 330-acres on tropical Captiva Island, on the west coast of Florida, just off the beaches of Fort Myers, Fl. South Seas is an iconic resort village combining a natural wonderland with modern resort amenities and accommodations. The resort offers many styles and sizes of accommodations including guestrooms, one to three bedroom villas (condominiums), cottages and spacious private homes.Activities at the resort include tennis, golf, water sports programs including kayak tours, boating and parasailing. Kids will have a great time at the Sanibel Sea School while learning about the surrounding environment. Enjoy three lagoon style pools, complete with private cabanas located at the Pointe and H2Whoa! With two fun water slides. The resort also features some of the best shelling in the world on the miles of sugar sand beach. For relaxation, the Kay Casperson Boutique and Spa is located in the South Village, providing special pampering with a complete spa treatment menu.Dining at South Seas Island Resort is as varied as the activities, with The Harbourside Bar and Grill and The Pointe located at North Pointe. Visit Scoops & Slices, located next to The Pointe, for ice cream or coal fired pizza. In the South Village, other options include Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, Starbucks and the Captiva Provision Company, a gourmet deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your South Seas Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Island Hotel Captiva Island
South Seas Island Captiva
South Seas Island Resort Captiva Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Seas Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.