We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captiva Chapel By-The-Sea

Captiva Chapel By-The-Sea
11580 Chapin Lane, Captiva Island, FL
472-1646
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Very cute!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Loved this place - very cute and they did a great job with the xmas lights! The man there was also very nice to talk to,

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    22
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fallston, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Eve service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The lights, the tree, being outside, the Christmas Carols woven into the service- all was very nice.

Definitely recommend for Christmas Eve.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We dropped by while bicycling on Captiva- very nice and peaceful. The small cemetery is also very special. We went back later after sunset to look at the wonderful Christmas light display on the chapel grounds- it was well worth the visit!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Don't miss this stop on your visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Fabulous small and historic chapel on Captiva Island. We happened upon it on a Sunday morning as people were gathering for church. Everyone was warm and friendly. Sadly we couldn't attend the service as we were headed off the island but it was just fantastic. I wouldn't miss it if you are visiting.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Wonderful cemetery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I enjoyed wandering around the cemetery on the chapel grounds. You can find the grave of the young lady who purchased the land and then died within a year when Capitva was first being settled. Look for the small tombstone with a sheep on top.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captiva Chapel By-The-Sea also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captiva Chapel By-The-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captiva Chapel By-The-Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.