We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holy Smoke Heavenly Barbecue - CLOSED

Holy Smoke Heavenly Barbecue
5400 Plantation Rd, Captiva Island, FL
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had the most terrific ribs at this place. It's very informal with picnic tables for seating (although they would do themselves a tremendous favor by switching to tables) and video games and plenty of places for the kids to run around. Super informal and just the right place to land after a long day at the beach.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    35
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bones in the pulled chicken”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Barbecue place at the South Seas Island Resort where we stayed . Worst meal of week. By far. The pulled chicken sandwich had chicken skins, gristle and my wife stopped counting (and stopped eating) after 4 bones. Won't eat there again. Plus, for the brisket sandwich they throw in some brisket and a couple of slices of bread. But no sauce! Very disappointing, especially since otherwise the resort is very nice.
We got takeout so maybe if you eat in it's better ...?

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Huge portions and very good quality of the meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We liked this place a lot. The portions were very big and prices were very very good. They have a very nice kid menu, and portions for kids are big too! (and tasty as well!). They offer good deals and, thanks to a promotion they did at the resort, kids ate for free!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Dry burgers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Dry, overpriced burgers. Slow service i a restaurant that looks more like a run down arcade. No proper seating available, only picnic style tables both inside and out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great ribs & chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had carryout twice during our week on Captiva. The baby back ribs were very tender and tasty. The sauce was just right and mahogany in color. Chicken was also very well done. Three different sauces were provided. For sides we enjoyed the macaroni and cheese and coleslaw. One can eat indoors or outside on the large deck with picnic tables. The restaurant has a lively bar scene and pool table.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holy Smoke Heavenly Barbecue also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holy Smoke Heavenly Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.