We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Both side of the pass have a lot to offer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captiva Pass

Captiva Pass
North Captiva Island, Captiva Island, FL
Improve this listing
Type: Other
Activities: Fishing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Porpoises will eat the fish you release at Captiva Pass.
Titusville
Top Contributor
1,112 reviews 1,112 reviews
771 attraction reviews
Reviews in 316 cities Reviews in 316 cities
846 helpful votes 846 helpful votes
“Both side of the pass have a lot to offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We took our boat from Sanibel and went to Cabbage Key and on the way back we stopped at North Captiva. We found a secluded place to beach, but it is very shallow and you have to pay attention. It is a great place for people who like to shell, but don't like crowds. The Captiva side of the pass is as far as you can go and is less crowded than other areas, Good shelling as the tide goes out. Bring wine and watch the sunset.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Need a Boat to get there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Once you are there it is one of the most pristine, quiet and relaxing beaches I have ever been to. The more remote and quieter one I have been to is Little Cayman BWI.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Isn't this more accurately Blind Pass??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great place - fished a ton here as a kid, lots of snook, reds, lots of fish in general.... And shelling?? Yeah descent place to shell too (if you are into that kind of thing- I grew up doing it so it's really not much of a thrill for me.)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“SW Surf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Good break on any deep water swell over 6 feet and can hold faces up to 7-8 feet. But, too deep on small swells, also sucks w/ strong on-shores, but what place doesn't?

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went there on our boat. Views are great. Must stay in the channel markers as very shallow waters. Great boat trip.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captiva Pass also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captiva Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captiva Pass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.