We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shuckers Dockside Bar & Grill

Shuckers Dockside Bar & Grill
1819 79th Street Causeway, North Bay Village, FL 33141
305-865-7100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Manchester,UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Views across the water.Busy at times with short waiting times.Good choice of meals,something for everyone.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    99
    38
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It's okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The service was brutal, we had to wait so long for our drinks, then food, then the bill. The young lady did not want to be working that day. Food was good and reasonable.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley, NE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Mehhh...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We went to Shuckers after we got to the Best Western on the Bay. We had had a long day traveling and since we got our drink coupons for a free drink, we thought that would be a good idea to wind down.
We got down there, the view was gorgeous and we sat on the deck. Our waitress came over and she was pleasant. We ordered drinks and oysters on the half shell.
One thing about this place that was really awesome was that you didn't have to wait that long for your food. It seemed to come right out within 5...less than 10 minutes.
We both ordered fish sandwiches. I forget what my husband ordered, but I ordered the Mahi Mahi fish sandwich. Everything came right out and it was pretty good. The fish quality was good, but I guess I just had higher hopes for the sea food. Maybe we shouldn't have ordered a sandwich, but I guess I just had a little bit higher standards.
The one thing we did kind of find annoying was that we werent informed at the front desk (at the hotel) that the drink coupons were for specific drinks. We thought we could just use them for any drink we ordered. Once we were informed of that we both went with this Hawaiian beer...I can't remember the name of it, but the waitress kept pushing it so we thought we would try it. It ended up coming out in the smallest glass ever so we felt a little rippped off in that sense, but hey, I guess a free drink is a free drink.
We also thought it was annoying that they add a gratuity for the waitresses. I feel like they only do that in really classy, top notch places. This place just seemed like a bar and grill...granted it has a really nice view- I just didn't feel like our waitress deserved the gratuity because though she was friendly, she hardly checked on us at all and they weren't that busy.
I felt like our total bill over all was way more than it should have been for what we got- but maybe that's just the difference in cost of living in Miami.
I do have to say that even though their sea food was just okay...their "special grilled" (served dipped in buffalo sauce and then char buffed) wings were really good! We got an order of wings to go and they were delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great view, great staff, great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent a lot of time in Shuckers over a two week period, the staff are great, they are very helpful and friendly, they remember you and what you drink and make you feel most welcome.
The food is good and the menu has something for everybody.
Recommend !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Casual outdoor bar and restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This place on the bay has great burgers, wings, grilled mahi mahi , raw oysters, mojitos, beer, lots of other bar foods and atmosphere. Really good bang for your buck. Worth a try! Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuckers Dockside Bar & Grill also viewed

North Bay Village, FL
North Bay Village, FL
 
North Bay Village, FL
 

Been to Shuckers Dockside Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shuckers Dockside Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.