We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual outdoor bar and restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shuckers Dockside Bar & Grill

Shuckers Dockside Bar & Grill
1819 79th Street Causeway, North Bay Village, FL 33141
305-865-7100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Casual outdoor bar and restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This place on the bay has great burgers, wings, grilled mahi mahi , raw oysters, mojitos, beer, lots of other bar foods and atmosphere. Really good bang for your buck. Worth a try! Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    66
    79
    32
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice little place with fantastic views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was a cool little bar and grill which served good food with a fantastic view. The service was excellent and you could tell a lot of locals ate here. A good place for a nibble...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Just ok. Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We just returned to our hotel from Shuckers. We had two appetizers: calamari and coconut shrimp, I added a 10 oz draft beer and a bowl of clam chowder. My wife asked for another side of Thai chile sauce. It cost extra. That's minus half a star. I judge a sea food restaurant by its clam chowder. The stock was excellent but I like it a little thicker with more onions, potatoes and clams. Minus one star. The coconut shrimp was excellent. They were super colossal with a sweet flavor. The calamari left much to be desired. No star addition or subtraction. When the bill came I could only read the heaver print of the total. The light was dim and the ink on the tab was expiring. It seemed a bit much but we were on the waters edge. We returned to our hotel and read it. Both the restaurant and the waitress neglected to tell us the gratuity was included in the bill. Soooo , our waitress was double tipped. Please note, I gave her more than they did. Minus half star.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Felt ripped off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

My two daughters and I dined at Shuckers while staying at the Best Western this week. it was a rainy night, forcing us to dine indoors, where it was noisy and chaotic. The food was decent, apart from the heavily-pushed apps. 2 bucks for carrots and celery to go with our wings seemed like a deal, until they arrived: dry, shriveled sticks my hamster would turn his nose up at. My REAL problem, and the reason I felt ripped off, is this: Happy Hour price for piña colada is 5.00. My kids ordered virgin piña coladas, without alcohol. The price was 6.50! Paying more for a virgin drink is absurd, but the apologetic waitress mumbled something about the alcoholic ones being premade and therefore cheaper. This should have been explained at the time we placed the order. The 18% tip added on automatically is based on the POST-tax amount, which is actually illegal here I'm from. In the end, after our $73 bill for 3 drinks (2 nonalcoholic), some wings and three mediocre meals, I truly felt "shucked."

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bal Harbour, FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Location, Location and Relaxed Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Shucker's is on the waterfont at the Best Western Hotel property in North Bay Village. Just five minutes drive from AIA Collins Avenue at 71st Street or you can come by boat and tie up at the dock.
It's a great place to relax in the shade or sunshine and choose from the uncomplicated menu. We had a generous size piece of grilled mahi mahi in a sandwich accompanied by fries, and a huge Greek salad with optional grilled chicken. The food was washed down by draft beers selected from a range of domestic and international brands and the total bill was under $30.
Nothing fancy but the ambience is friendly and staff attentive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuckers Dockside Bar & Grill also viewed

North Bay Village, FL
North Bay Village, FL
 
North Bay Village, FL
 

Been to Shuckers Dockside Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shuckers Dockside Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;