We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual outdoor bar and restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shuckers Dockside Bar & Grill

Shuckers Dockside Bar & Grill
1819 79th Street Causeway, North Bay Village, FL 33141
305-865-7100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
82 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Casual outdoor bar and restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This place on the bay has great burgers, wings, grilled mahi mahi , raw oysters, mojitos, beer, lots of other bar foods and atmosphere. Really good bang for your buck. Worth a try! Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    139
    52
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice little place with fantastic views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was a cool little bar and grill which served good food with a fantastic view. The service was excellent and you could tell a lot of locals ate here. A good place for a nibble...

Visited April 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Just ok. Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We just returned to our hotel from Shuckers. We had two appetizers: calamari and coconut shrimp, I added a 10 oz draft beer and a bowl of clam chowder. My wife asked for another side of Thai chile sauce. It cost extra. That's minus half a star. I judge a sea food restaurant by its clam chowder. The stock was excellent but I like it a little thicker with more onions, potatoes and clams. Minus one star. The coconut shrimp was excellent. They were super colossal with a sweet flavor. The calamari left much to be desired. No star addition or subtraction. When the bill came I could only read the heaver print of the total. The light was dim and the ink on the tab was expiring. It seemed a bit much but we were on the waters edge. We returned to our hotel and read it. Both the restaurant and the waitress neglected to tell us the gratuity was included in the bill. Soooo , our waitress was double tipped. Please note, I gave her more than they did. Minus half star.

Visited April 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt ripped off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

My two daughters and I dined at Shuckers while staying at the Best Western this week. it was a rainy night, forcing us to dine indoors, where it was noisy and chaotic. The food was decent, apart from the heavily-pushed apps. 2 bucks for carrots and celery to go with our wings seemed like a deal, until they arrived: dry, shriveled sticks my hamster would turn his nose up at. My REAL problem, and the reason I felt ripped off, is this: Happy Hour price for piña colada is 5.00. My kids ordered virgin piña coladas, without alcohol. The price was 6.50! Paying more for a virgin drink is absurd, but the apologetic waitress mumbled something about the alcoholic ones being premade and therefore cheaper. This should have been explained at the time we placed the order. The 18% tip added on automatically is based on the POST-tax amount, which is actually illegal here I'm from. In the end, after our $73 bill for 3 drinks (2 nonalcoholic), some wings and three mediocre meals, I truly felt "shucked."

Visited April 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bal Harbour, FL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Location, Location and Relaxed Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Shucker's is on the waterfont at the Best Western Hotel property in North Bay Village. Just five minutes drive from AIA Collins Avenue at 71st Street or you can come by boat and tie up at the dock.
It's a great place to relax in the shade or sunshine and choose from the uncomplicated menu. We had a generous size piece of grilled mahi mahi in a sandwich accompanied by fries, and a huge Greek salad with optional grilled chicken. The food was washed down by draft beers selected from a range of domestic and international brands and the total bill was under $30.
Nothing fancy but the ambience is friendly and staff attentive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuckers Dockside Bar & Grill also viewed

North Bay Village, FL
North Bay Village, FL
 

Been to Shuckers Dockside Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shuckers Dockside Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.