We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1819 79th Street Causeway, North Bay Village, FL 33141   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We travelled as a group of 3 women, from UK. Cannot recommend this hotel enough; it was perfect for visiting everywhere - without being in the middle of crazy south beach! We travelled to south beach, Everglades, took a boat ride around the bay, walked around the city and went on a cruise; it was a great base to come back to. Right from being picked up at the airport (complimentary), by Walter who is an absolute gent, to the reception, breakfast and housekeeping staff - all friendly, a good laugh and professional. The area felt safe, and was nice to walk around. Excellent bar/restaurant next to the hotel too; beautiful views of the bay and a great atmosphere.
Plenty of breakfast choices at the hotel, lovely comfortable rooms- pay extra for a balcony, well worth it for the bay views. On my next trip to Miami, I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Book a balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    540
    249
    47
    34
See reviews for
418
469
33
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
middl village
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was very happy with how clean the hotel was. Our room was very nice,above standard. The staff was friendly and tried to accommodate us as best as they could. The location was nice because it was close enough to South Beach but you didn't have to deal with party people. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get the most out of their money and enjoy a peaceful vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Hotel is not 5 star but has reasonable facitities at a fair price breakfast is free and adequate but a bit busy, hard to find a table at times. Otherwise mainly quite, bit out of town but there is a bus stop outside, Catch the L bus going west to get to south beach. catch the L bus going east to get biscayne boulevard then a no3 bus south to downtown miami. Cost $2 every time you change bus so get plenty of $1 bills which reception were very happy to supply us with. Did get to use the pool once but the rest of our stay was cold and windy and the pool is right on the bay so in the full draught. Staff all very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

For this trip we had 2 bad experiences with hotel shuttles at two different hotels. This was one of them. Its frustrating to see other hotel shuttles pass by you every 10 minutes and your waiting over an hour for yours (although it clued me in on what hotels to choose next time).

I phoned the front desk from the airport and was told in advance that it would take 45 min to an hour for the driver to get there. I went to another Bestwestern once in FLL and they told us to take a taxi and they would pay it because of shuttle problems, so I wasn't too impressed with this hotel's shuttle/customer service, especially after waiting an hour and a half for our ride. They gave us drink coupons to compensate when we got there, but having read other reviews, they seem to give those coupons to everyone anyway (they must be used on the same day of arrival). But I enjoyed my rumrunner anyway!

The hotel is nice enough. Friendly staff. Enough space in the room (2 double beds). Nice view of the bay. There are a few convenience stores in walking distance (a Walgreens on the other side of the bridge). It was cold the day we were there, but I would've used the pool for sure had it been a hot day. Nice size with a nice lounging area. The Shuckers Bar and Grill on the premises was good with a lively atmosphere. Paid 10$ each for the shuttle to the port the next day (make sure to reserve the day before). No problems with the shuttle to the port.

I wanted a hotel with a nice atmosphere before our cruise but the wait for the shuttle just wasn't worth it. IMHO, they should have more shuttles available because of the distance of the hotel from the airport, and they are dealing with tired travellers. For our next cruise I will probably reserve a hotel closer to the airport. This isn't a bad hotel, but I wouldn't stay there for a vacation in Miami, you would need transportation to the beach and nightlife. Head to Miami beach (for those who like to relax) or South beach (for those who like a lively atmosphere and don't mind wearing earplugs to sleep).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a Best Western, so don't expect a 5 star, but it's in a great location and the staff was awesome! The price was perfect too (we paid $120). My only negative feedback is the balcony rooms did not face the water... but not a big deal since we were only staying here for one night before a cruise.

The shuttle driver from the airport to the hotel was super cool. He pointed out the hotel where parts of the first episode of Dexter was filmed (where they find the body in the empty swimming pool), which was really cool. He answered all of our questions and was very helpful.

We paid $30 for the shuttle to the cruise port and got a coupon for a free beer/wine/soda at the restaurant. We didn't realize it was only good on the night we checked in, and we had planned to use it on the second day. Once we realized our mistake, we took it to the front desk when we checked out and the lady changed the date on the coupon and told us we needed to use the coupon because it was a good deal. If the restaurant gave us any problems, she said "tell them to call Anna at the front desk!"

The restaurant was amazing! Great view of the bay, great food, and great music. The staff here was quite friendly too.

The hotel also had a breakfast which was surprisingly pretty good. They had waffles, sausage, English muffins, etc. We didn't get a chance to use the pool, but it looked nice.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone staying in Miami.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Was there beginning of December to escape from Europe´s winter wonder land. Found a good deal with this hotel which revealed some pros and cons to mention as follows: The hotel got a nice pool (not heated) and some sunchairs around the pool area, breakfast will be served in the hotel lobby, but the space is pretty limited! The connected "Shuckers" Bar&Grill is quite good, offering fresh seafood and remarkable Burgers! The rooms facing to the street are pretty noisy (also during the night) and some parts of the hotel are not secured by a perimeter fence!!! WIFI is for free but BW rewards elite members will not gain any upgrades or special amenitys when booking this hotel via hotel broker!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing to the pool area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Will never return. Gym isn't really a gym and is full of unsupervised kids treating it as a playground. Breakfast is not worth bothering with. Rooms are dated and smell and the air conditioning is so noisy it keeps you awake. Staff generally unhelpful. The free shuttles to airport are a con as you have to pay for the return!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgrentner, Manager at BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Former Guest,

We strive for excellent customer service, and make every effort to resolve any issues brought to our attention. As soon as a complaint was issued regarding the usage of the gym, we did verify one guest using the gym was over the age of 18 and she was informed that a child she was supervising was not allowed to use the equipment. Our complimentary airport shuttle is available to go from the hotel to the Miami International Airport from 7AM-11AM. We also provide this service for pick-up from 7AM - 10PM from the Miami International Airport.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bay Village
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Miami
#36 of 115 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,932 reviews
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina

Address: 1819 79th Street Causeway, North Bay Village, FL 33141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > North Bay Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bay Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet bay front location on an island between Miami and Miami Beach allows quick access to South Beach, downtown Miami, Miami International Airport and the port of Miami. Rest comfortably on Simmons® Pillowtop beds, enjoy flat screen televisions with either a 32-inch or a 42-inch screen. Microwave, fridge, and coffee maker are also available in room. Enjoy the parking, wireless Internet, continental breakfast, MIA airport shuttle, all at no charge. Large pool with decks that overlook Biscayne Bay and a fitness center will make your stay enjoyable.Try our balcony rooms for some extra space with a view. Public transportation directly to South Beach stops in front of the BEST WESTERN On the Bay Inn and Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus On The Bay Inn And Marina
Best Western Plus On The Bay Inn & Marina Hotel North Bay Village
Best Western North Bay Village
North Bay Village Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.