We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed with the location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1819 79th Street Causeway, North Bay Village, FL 33141   |  
Hotel amenities
Norway
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Not impressed with the location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Lets start with the location. You are out in the middle of nowhere. We had no car and spent a lot on taxies. Its basically nothing out here and there is no beach. When that said the rest is positive. The hotel itself is nice but old. Its actually not a hotel in my eyes. Its a motel. Make sure to get a balcony room. We did not. But the room was ok anyway. Nice beds, fridge, ac and WiFi. No complaints. Very nice pool area and staff ok. Breakfast was very good comparing to motel standards. The shuckers restaurant was really good. Big portions, good taste, good service and ok prices. The location destroyed it for us. Next time i will get a motel in a better more central location.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    496
    194
    38
    27
See reviews for
251
294
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a nice hotel at an affordable price. It is in a nice part of Miami called North Bay Village which is a small Island that is quite close to all the action of South Beach but much more quite and affordable. The island has a number of good restaurants and shops close to the hotel. I recommend Shuckers Bar & Grill located on the water next to the hotel. They have great chicken wings, burgers, and bar drinks and are very affordable. If you go to South Beach for dinner one evening a restaurant you don't want to miss is Little Brazil it has some of the best food in Miami.
The hotel serves a complimentary hot breakfast that is decent. The hotel is clean, fairly quiet, and we found the staff friendly. The only down side was limited tight parking for our rental car. We will definitely stay here again when in Miami.

Enrights
Columbus, OH

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very comfortable and clean. Staff were helpful. We stayed a week and were able to drive anywhere easily from this location. Loved the balcony and Schuckers Restaurant. It met expectations.( We weren't looking for the Ritz). The pool and area was nice. Anyone not happy at this hotel is hard to please.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed only one night but they were great. Staff all helpful and courteous. Glad they had a heated pool, it does make a difference. "Shuckers restaurant" was nice it was great that it was on the premises. The only bad thing I can say is The Best Western breakfast eggs still continue to suck. Everything else was very nice.

Room Tip: I used my Airmiles to by Best Western dollars and by staying here with the restaurant we were able t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ga
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Let me start by saying we travel a LOT!! We have 2 children, 8 and 4, and are VERY picky about where we stay with them. We stay at hotels ranging in price up to $1,000 per night and this place was satisfying to us. We came here for a pre-cruise stay of one night and were VERY happy we didn't stay close to the airport. I knew the hotel would be a little run down (it is bayfront) but I am always most concerned with cleanliness, view, and safety for our family. Exterior appearances would imply that this is a run-down beach motel, but the staff are excellent, the views are amazing, and the beds were clean and comfortable. The pillowcases did seem to have some sort of black streaks on them, almost as if their washer or dryer left the marks or something because they smelled clean and looked clean otherwise. We did pay for a bayfront room, which was beyond worth the extra money. The restaurant downstairs had excellent seafood and awesome views, and we actually changed our original hotel to stay at this one for proximity to Shuckers restaurant and the views. The shuttle to the airport was FREE and we booked our room and cruise transportation separately because it was cheaper that way. They arranged the shuttle to pick us up at 11:30 instead of their usual shuttle at noon so we could avoid the rat race and it was only $30 for 4 people. We paid the front desk a $6 deposit, which they gave us a receipt for, and we gave the other $24 to the driver. The breakfast was free and had many options including eggs, waffles, yogurts, fresh fruit, pastries, fresh juices, milk, many teas, coffee with a variety of flavored creamers, and pork sausage (we don't eat pork, but still nice for those that do). It was very busy in the morning, so we ate out by the pool and enjoyed the view of the bay. (NOTE** Watch out for the rogue crows working together to steal your breakfast right off your plate-lol) The ladies in the breakfast area were working extra hard to keep up with all of us, and we tipped them to say thank you. We met many people from all over the world at this hotel and everyone seemed happy to be there. We were on the forth floor, and yes we heard the music from the bar below, but after about 9pm they turned it down quite a bit and it was softer music that was nice to fall asleep to. The view from our bed out over the Miami skyline was absolutely beautiful, and it is not one we will soon forget. Highly recommend.....even for 5 star aficionados like ourselves!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Best western bay inn and marina on our way to a cruise from Miami. The hotel is not new, but is still in fantastic shape! The location is on the inlet and has great views of Miami and the water is beautiful. The round lobby is "really cool" according to our 10 year old son. The rooms are kept clean and are good sized. We received a complimentary breakfast in the morning. The only reason we did not give this place 5 stars is because we had our breakfast out on the patio by the pool and were constantly harassed by crows. It should not prevent you from choosing this classic Miami hotel, just eat breakfast in the "really cool" lobby/dining area!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed for at the Best Western Plus for 5 days. We were looking for an affordable and safe place to stay since the Miami area is expensive and there are very dangerous areas.

We found Best Western Plus to be very affordable and in a great area. We loved being on the water facing a marina. It was very peaceful and sitting outside watching the boats was relaxing.

The room itself was very nice. Not super modern, but clean and quiet. The breakfast was very good.

We decided to stay an extra day and the staff gave us even a larger room. Each room has a balcony which was nice to have coffee there in the morning. There was always fresh hot coffee and tea available. The staff was excellent and very attentive and friendly.

Pool area was very clean, too.

Shuckers Grill was excellent and provided a beachy setting to have some good, well priced food. I think you can also have your meal sent to your room.

Very quick trip to the Miami beaches.

All in all, it was a great experience and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus On The Bay Inn & Marina Hotel North Bay Village
Best Western Plus On The Bay Inn And Marina
Best Western Plus On The Bay Inn & Marina Hotel
Best Western North Bay Village
North Bay Village Best Western
Address: 1819 79th Street Causeway, North Bay Village, FL 33141
Location: United States > Florida > North Bay Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in North Bay Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet bay front location on an island between Miami and Miami Beach allows quick access to South Beach, downtown Miami, Miami International Airport and the port of Miami. Rest comfortably on Simmons® Pillowtop beds, enjoy flat screen televisions with either a 32-inch or a 42-inch screen. Microwave, fridge, and coffee maker are also available in room. Enjoy the parking, wireless Internet, continental breakfast, MIA airport shuttle, all at no charge. Large pool with decks that overlook Biscayne Bay and a fitness center will make your stay enjoyable.Try our balcony rooms for some extra space with a view. Public transportation directly to South Beach stops in front of the BEST WESTERN On the Bay Inn and Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.