We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great basic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1819 79th Street Causeway, North Bay Village, FL 33141   |  
Hotel amenities
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great basic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Wound up here after having an issue with our other arrangements. Great basic hotel- on site restraunt and bar was good, packed with locals, with good service. Room was clean, and basic. Bathroom was tight, but everything we needed- a place to get cleaned up after the beach and get some sleep.

Not all rooms have a balcony- may be a good request upon booking.

RJ at the desk was an incredible breath of fresh air at the desk. Polite, courteous, and professional.

Plan on driving pretty much everywhere from here. 5-10 minutes to get to a wide variety of food, beach, etc.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    496
    195
    38
    27
See reviews for
251
295
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable rooms. Great complimentary breakfast and wifi. The view from the pool is amazing. Helpful and friendly staff. Had to walk a long way to get any where but the bus runs outside and tours pick up from hotel. Grateful for the free shuttle to the airport. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester MA. USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed two nights prior to taking a cruise. Had made reservations in one of the big hotels on the strip in Miami Beach where we'd stayed before, but after looking at the reviews of the Best Western on the Bay Inn & Marina we switched. No regrets, great location with super views of the Bay, free parking, free wifi and a decent free breakfast. Nice staff, from the front desk to the housekeeping ladies (one remembered the next day we're from Boston), nice (warm) pool, good (casual) food at Shuckers.
Location perfect, I wanted to go to the Keys, this location, view and atmosphere came close to what I'd expect to see/feel there. Big room, clean, small bathroom, nice balcony, firm comfortable bed, big screen TV, all in all very comfortable. We highly recommend this hotel for informal relaxing.

Room Tip: take a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were very pleased with our choice as we booked blindly going by value for our money and online reviews. We got more than we expected and that is nice for a change! The staff are extremely friendly, breakfast was good, a nice pool area and the restaurant provided a decent dinner and drinks venue. The port transportation package was very reasonable and saved us from having to organize our own taxi service.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies - nice to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Hawk, South Dakota, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very nice hotel on the Bay..Rooms are dated but very clean...hostess staff in the bar/restaurant are rude and make you think twice before eating there...thank goodness the wait staff did not take lessons.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is very old and dated you enter from the outside so it should be called a motel. The elevator made horrible noises and when we came back from dinner it was out of order. We were grateful we didn't get stuck in it. The furniture is old, it was like a flash back to the 60's. I would not stay here again. I do thank the staff they were very nice.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in December. The hotel is older, well kept and is located right on Biscayne Bay. It is one of the better priced hotels for the location in North Miami Beach. The room was very clean, comfortable bed and flat screen TV. Location is about 15 - 20 minutes from South Beach, Aventura and the new Gulfstream racetrack and shopping center. Parking is free. From I-95 you have to drive through an area that is a little low rent but then you cross over the bridge into North Bay Village and everything is fine. I would definitely recommend for a short stay or a layover.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus On The Bay Inn & Marina Hotel North Bay Village
Best Western Plus On The Bay Inn And Marina
Best Western Plus On The Bay Inn & Marina Hotel
Best Western North Bay Village
North Bay Village Best Western
Address: 1819 79th Street Causeway, North Bay Village, FL 33141
Location: United States > Florida > North Bay Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in North Bay Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet bay front location on an island between Miami and Miami Beach allows quick access to South Beach, downtown Miami, Miami International Airport and the port of Miami. Rest comfortably on Simmons® Pillowtop beds, enjoy flat screen televisions with either a 32-inch or a 42-inch screen. Microwave, fridge, and coffee maker are also available in room. Enjoy the parking, wireless Internet, continental breakfast, MIA airport shuttle, all at no charge. Large pool with decks that overlook Biscayne Bay and a fitness center will make your stay enjoyable.Try our balcony rooms for some extra space with a view. Public transportation directly to South Beach stops in front of the BEST WESTERN On the Bay Inn and Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN On The Bay Inn & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.