We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Dining Experience Ever! Never Ever Again!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Trio On The Bay

Trio On The Bay
1601 79th Street Causeway, North Bay Village, FL 33141
3058661234
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: In between Aventure Ave & Hispanola Ave
Description: We have a lovely outdoor seating area that includes lounge bay seating, table bay view seating, bar, and semi enclosed booth seating. We also have two semi private cabanas outside, as well as two warm fire pits that burn nightly. We have lower bay inside seating thats still has a gorgeous view of or famous bay. When we have our nightlife events we have an illuminated dancefloor VIP Bottle service seating and an indoor bar as well. We look forward to seeing you at Trios On The Bay.
Bronx, New York, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Worst Dining Experience Ever! Never Ever Again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We actually chose this restaurant because a friend of mine went here and recommended it and said she had a pretty good experience eating here. Well i wished i would have read the other reviews and experiences before I came here. Last night we actually went to Trio for a friends birthday. The atmosphere look pretty decent and thought what the hell it should be pretty nice. Much to say i was really wrong about that! The Service???? They had the worst service and i have to say i have had way better service going to Dennys or Applebees! We were there about 9pm. All of our dinner guests were pretty much on time. i figured being that it was not that crazy for a Saturday night we should have a smooth night,to say i was so wrong about that. After a good while of waiting to be served, we put in our drink orders as time is passing on we realize it was already 11:50pm and we didnt even get our appetizers yet! Our dinner guests became restless and when we finally called for our waiter who didnt even give us the status of whats going on with our dinner he told us it was being plated, which wasnt true because he it took another half an hour we had asked for a manager, we were told he was tied up by then there was another party that was actually leaving because they were never served and there waitress never came with there food and they had reservations, all of a sudden when we asked for our check for the drinks the waiter said the food was being plated which he had already said that half an hour ago. Some of our dinner guests had already started to leave when 4 of us got up to leave some one all of sudden comes rushing out and says that the food is being plated and we didnt have reservations and we needed to be patient by then i got pretty upset because one he didnt introduce himself and later on we found out it was the manager i couldn,t believe it he had the worst customer service skills ive ever seen in my whole life. I do not recommend this place at all! Wost service and Bad Management!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    12
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great location with large patio area, but food just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you want to eat on the water, say no more. The large patio backs up to the bay for great views. Outdoor bar is very convenient. We had a table reserved on the water, but it was very windy the night we went and we had to move inside. The inside is more like a club, but has a small dining area. We set by the windows so we could still see the water. Our waiter was very helpful and fairly efficient. We had a TravelZoo coupon deal and when we presented it he said their menu had changes since the coupons went out so it would work a little different. We got the full value of the coupon and could choose from the entire menu and pay what we went over. Waiter said the place had exchanged ownership at least three times in the past few months. That made us wonder what the overal experience might bring. We started off with drinks that were great. The Cerviche was decent, but the wedge salad was a disappointment. A wedge should be served ice cold and fresh. This one was room temperature and the lettuce was a bit wilted. Not a good start. Our waiter suggest the pork chop and the trout. We went with his recommendation. Although I requested the pork chop medium, it was over cooked and dry. The trout must have been starved for food before it was caught. The thinnest fillet I had ever seen and the toppings overpowered the fish. We asked about dessert and the waiter said they normally had many different home made items, but not tonight (and on a Saturday). All they had was chocolate cake and ice cream. We passed. Time to go. There is valet parking only and the charge varies with the time of day. I gave the valet a $20 and they had no change! He went inside and couldn't get any there either. Not service I would expect. Overall, it was worth the discounted price, but nothing more. I won't be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dinning with spectacular view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We came over here thanks to travelzoo boucher, place it's really awesome, romantic, great music, bar outside on the terrace, food really great we order the lamb, crabcakes as appetizer, and of course a bottle of red wine malbec (not much selection of wines) but was great, we highly recommend this place for a romantic dinner. Hope you enjoy it
P/s Alex C. Was a great server

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Getting Off the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My Girlfriend Miami weekend continued with a meal here. We used a gruopon which was a deal that included 3 appetizers, 6 entrees, & 6 glasses of wine. ( there were six of us in the gripup) Very impressed for many reasons:
WAITRESS: was knowlegeable about the menu, and more inportantly about the groupon, the groupon implied that there was a dollar limit on the entree that we could choose, but they informed us that we could choose any entree. (this was fantastic, because they do have a slightly limited menu) our waitress was training another waitress at the time, so both of them were efficent, and clearly going above and beyond!
AMBIANCE: forget it! we ate al fresco right at the quasi dock...and there was nothing like watching the sun set over a beautiful Miami skyline. There were fire pits that were turned on at sunset, and provided a warm glow. very, very nice. they also had seating  at the bar and some available inside as well
LOCATION: this was the only downside. It was about a $20 cab ride one way from the 'main strip' in Miami beach (Ocean Drive area). After eating the hostess offered to call a cab, which never came. Then we resorted to going out on the main road and trying to hail a cab. All in all it took about 50minutes or so to catch a cab, and an additional 20+ minutes to get back to the hotel area.
FOOD: I thought it was worth the distance, and mostly worth it in order to get out of the hustle and bustle of the tourist trap type places along the beach.
GO HERE?: Sure. Give it a whirl!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service...food just OK”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This place is terrible! I should have also looked at the reviews before going. The view is beautiful, the place looks very nice, but the service and food were not worthy of the prices they are charging. We were a party of 11 people. When we were seated there was nothing on the table, no menus, no silverware, or napkins..the waiter comes over & takes a few drink orders, then leaves realizing that we had no menus. Then they bring us bread & butter...still no silverware, napkins, or anything! Then they bring us about 3 menus! WTF so we had to share the menus! Finally they bring silverware after about 30 min after the bread and butter are sitting on the table! About 30 minutes after we already place our food orders the waiter tells us that they "just" ran out of snapper, which 3 of us ordered. So we changed our orders. They finally, after an hour or longer, bring the food out (most of it overcooked by the way)...they didn't bring it all out at once...those of us that ordered the snapper and one other that ordered something else, had no food for about 10 min. Then they bring out the rest of the food, but bring out the wrong dish to one of us! Then the waiter takes it back to the kitchen telling us that someone "stole" the order! When he comes back with the order its what she ordered on spaghetti, when it states in the menu that it comes w/ rice...the waiter says "would you like rice with it instead" ...um yes...I mean that is what it says it comes with on the menu! At this point we are all annoyed...I mean between the terrible service hard overcooked food...its ridiculous! So we ask for the manager. It takes about an hour for the manager to finally get to our table, because he's putting out another fire from what the waiter tells us. He finally arrives at our table "Mike Sweet", the so called manager...and gives us this story about how he just got off a plane from Vegas and he's trying to fix all of the problems in the restaurant....then tells us he'll be right back...Ooook. The waiter comes back and starts putting "dirty" mind you, champagne flutes around our table...we decline the champagne...partly due to the dirty flutes (terrible). So then the waiter comes back again and wants each persons name and email address to "send" us all gift cards to come back!! Really!! We declined and explain why to the so called "manager" he said excuse me and never came back...wow! So basically they offered no immediate resolution to the terrible service and food...I mean the least they could've done was offered a percentage off the check or taken some drinks off! We traveled an hour to visit this restaurant....who the hell would want to come back after all of that!!! Don't go, you'll regret it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trio On The Bay also viewed

 
North Bay Village, FL
 

Been to Trio On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trio On The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.