We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachcomber

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nokomis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beachcomber
Save
You added The Beachcomber to your Saves list
129 Casey Key Road, Nokomis, FL 34275   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Nokomis
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was our second stay at The Beachcomber and it certainly won't be our last as we have a trip planned in July 2014, and we rebooked for next year. I echo all other reviewers comments on the cleaniness of the resort and rooms and on how professional, friendly, and helpful Tekla and Robert are. Casey Key is a wonderful place to vacation, and The Beachcomber is the only place you should consider for your stay.

Thanks, Tekla and Robert for a wonderful week. Terri and Ric

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekla D, Owner at The Beachcomber, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear lthendrix,

Thank you for your kind review. Our staff works diligently to keep our accommodations clean and appreciate your acknowledgment. Being such a small resort, we really depend on guests who choose to return...and who take the time to tell others about us! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed in #4 Old Florida end of May 2014. The apartment was perfect for a family stay -the second bedroom is not completely private but was fine for our purposes. We felt at home immediately-everything we could ask for was there, exceptionally clean and comfortable. It really felt more like a private cottage, having our own patio to dine-also great to watch the gulf sunsets and stargaze. Just steps to the beautiful beach and gulf swimming. We had been looking for a place we could return to year after year-our favorIte hotel in the Caribbean closed a few years back and we have been adrift since. So glad to have found this place. Thank you Robert and Tekla for such a lovely and relaxing week-it was just perfect in every way.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekla D, Owner at The Beachcomber, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Nina B.,

Thank you for taking time to review our accommodations. We are always thrilled when guests are pleased with their stay. Apartment #4 is a quirky 1950's cottage and we appreciate your feedback on the second bedroom. Our goal is to continually improve our guests' experience and your comments are most helpful. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This cottage exceeded our expectations in many ways. Robert and Tekla were professional, friendly and helpful in every way and helped to make our trip so special. They certainly know how to run a resort. We stayed in the south villa, which was on the waterway and we absolutely loved it. It was immaculate when we arrived and was beautiful. It was secluded, but right across the street from the beach; perfect in every way. I hesitated to write a review because I don't want to share this great find! LOL But Tekla and Robert deserve for everyone to hear what an amazing place this is :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekla D, Owner at The Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. One of the greatest rewards in our business is when new guests leave us as friends. Thank you for visiting The Beachcomber & for sharing your experience with others....

Best Wishes,
Tekla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

You could not ask for a better location or service. Tekla & Robert were the best of hosts. Tekla was under the weather but still managed to greet us when we arrived. Can't wait to go back. Sorry we didn't get a chance to set and watch the sunset and enjoy a beer our glass of wine with all the other guests. We will definitely do that next year. This turned out to be one of most enjoy vacations to the west coast of Florida. We love just walking the beach and shelling each morning. The sunsets were pretty great as well. We feel like part of the family now. The only negative and this is a small one is the Wi-Fi system. Hard to get a signal sometimes. It worked best in the kitchen. Could need another router closer to the villa areas? No big deal - didn't miss much.

Room Tip: Rooms are hard to come by. This maybe the most popular place on Nokomis Beach. We stayed in the vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tekla D, Owner at The Beachcomber, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Our recently added antenna has obviously not given our WiFi signal a big enough boost, so we are now looking at "Plan B" which will include a dedicated line to the villas along with another router.
Thanks for your patience with this inconvenience.

Tekla
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ont. cda.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed for one week Dec.31-Jan.7-14 in cottage #4. Very clean and nicely decorated .Everything you would need for your stay.Robert and Tekla had left a plate of cookies and candy in the frig for the first evening snack. Lots of towels and bedding. We had our own patio area and table and barbeque. Right on the Gulf down a short path. Nice sandy beach and lots of shells to collect. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Cottage # 4 , two bds. close to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is the second time we had the privilege of staying at The Beachcomber, and can't wait to return again & again. The hosts, Tekla and Robert run a 1st class property. Everything we could have wanted was at the apartment and convenient to restaurants and shopping. The beach is gorgeous just outside our door and the amenities top the list. Nicely decorated, very beachy and comfortable throughout.

Room Tip: We stayed in Apt. #3 which is on the second floor with a nice porch in back, and small seating area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was our first time at the Beachcomber. It was just perfect so relaxing and so friendly. We stayed in the north villa it had every thing that you could wish for including a beach bag chairs and umbrellas gas grill we even had our own private area with loungers table and chairs. We had the best of both facilities just cross the road and you are on the beach. Tekla and Robert are all ways on hand if you require them and they made us feel welcome and we felt that we had been going for years. The location is perfect in every way and our stay was so memorable that we still have not got over getting back to the UK. We can not wait to get back next November.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber

Address: 129 Casey Key Road, Nokomis, FL 34275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Nokomis
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Nokomis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachcomber consists of twelve apartments & cottages located on the beach on Casey Key We are an intimate friendly place where you can enjoy a quiet bit of "Old Florida". Our units are exceptionally clean and fully furnished. It's the kind of place where guests return year after year and bring their friends. Give us a call and we will save a sunset for you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Nokomis
Beachcomber Hotel Nokomis
Beachcomber Motel Nokomis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachcomber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.